We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable and close to town”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A perfect place for three friends on a three day holiday. We did not spend a ton of time at the apartment due to a missed flight but found it spacious, clean and comfortable. The upstairs can be set w two twins or a king, as a loft or closed off with sliding wooden shades. The upstairs bathroom included a bathtub/shower. All beds were comfy, especially after a long day of snorkeling! Wi-if was included, and the kitchen fully equipped, but it's also a very short walk in to the main stretch of restaurants and shops (less than 10 minutes). A truly excellent location and a great value. A great place to make a home base for snorkeling, Daintree tours, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Meremo_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    138
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
213
350
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Freestyle Resort is a wonderful little resort with everything you could need at a very reasonable price. From the moment we arrived Anne was extremely friendly and welcoming, providing us with information about the area and helping us settle into our one bedroom apartment.

The room was large, extremely clean, well maintained and modern. It has a nice lounge area with flat screen TV (with some foxtel channels), a kitchen and decent sized balcony looking over the beautiful pool area where most nights we had a friendly little green tree frog come visit. The bed was very comfortable and a great shower with toiletries provided. If you are located in the upper levels there is no lift, so you need to carry luggage up stairs which isn't a real problem.

The grounds of the resort were lovely. Unfortunately the weather wasn't fantastic so we didn't get a chance to use the pool, however we did walk around to enjoy the tropical gardens and use the communal BBQ area.

The location was also perfect for us, with a pleasant 10 minute walk (or less) to the main street or the Marina and a 5 minute walk to the beach. This means it's quieter then accommodation on Macrossan St. If you have a car there's under cover parking available.

I would highly recommend Freestyle Resort for those wanting value for money and exceptionally friendly service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stephb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Jason and Anne really enhanced our stay at the Freestyle apartments as they're so lovely and helpful. The apartment we stayed in was recently refurbed with a lovely tropical outlook, the apartments are fully self contained and have everything you need. Parking is free, and central Port Douglas isn't too far away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovereggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Anne and Jason hosted us for the third time in our recent visit to Port Douglas...The resort has been upgraded to a very high standard - although it was beautiful when we last visited in 2008! To be met with such warmth and to have this for the week we were there helps to make this feel a bit like home. The BBQ facilities on site meant we could enjoy the resort for a dining option on a couple of nights - perfect for a quiet night in. The location is superb, 2 minute walk from the beach and another short stroll to Macrossan Street. Port Douglas has retained it's charm and is such a magic location to visit. We will be back and I would recommend to others that they come and see for themselves why this resort has such a great history of reviews!!!! Thank you Anne and Jason and we look forward to seeing you again next time!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SairN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A lovely place to stay in Port Douglas: location is good with an easy walk into the shops & restaurants in town, and the owners were lovely and very helpful. The apartments were very nicely decorated and all recently renovated, so very clean and inviting. Our kids enjoyed the pool and we enjoyed lounging by it! Our only criticism was that there was very little storage space if you have a decent amount of luggage and no drawers at all (with the exception of bedside tables).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Four of us were to be in Port Douglas for the first weekend of Carnavale. We booked an apartment at Freestyle, and we've had a great weekend. This place is so well located - just a few minutes from the main street, but quiet and away from the noise and bustle. Jason and Pam have been very welcoming and helpful.It's such good value too: we had two double en-suites, and there's a sofa bed for an extra guest if needed. That added up to a really reasonably priced stay. Spacious lounge and balcony, a kitchen area as well as all of the usual things you'd expect. We'll definitely be back here when we come to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrickyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ann and Jason perfect hosts. Pool great-apt well set up-location near restaurants an town and port..

Book your tours when you get there

We enjoyed our week of time out from 2 months of exploring Australia

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiEyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
577 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
794 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Property: Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Address: 47 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing