We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful holiday memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful holiday memories”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I have not long arrived home from a delightful 5 night stay at freestyle. We had a one bedroom apartment, spaciously furnished in a tasteful way complete with balcony. Ceiling fans in the bedroom, loungeroom and would you believe even the balcony. Of course airconditioning also in living area. Anne was an incredible host - nothing was too much trouble. Extremely clean and plenty of kitchen utensils together with dishwasher and microwave.We hired a car in Cairns and drove to Port Douglas but would not do it that way again. We walked to most places anyway. Next time we shall have Anne book us on the bus from the airport to accommodation. There is a car rental business in Port Douglas. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: higher rooms have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    138
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
213
350
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I was guided by trip advisor when I booked this and am not sure if management have changed but I was wary when I rang the resort and was grumped at by a gentleman. I went ahead and made my booking online as he suggested because 'no he didn't want to offer a better rate than bookings.com' for a two week stay.

Upon arrival Anne the female manager was friendly, helpful and very informative about what was great and not so great in the area. She even moved us rooms when we found the downstairs to be so noisy you can here the person above you urinating CLEARLY.......

HOWEVER..... We booked an apartment purposely so that we could purchase local seafood and cook it. When you arrive the first thing you notice in the kitchen is a sign saying that when you cook you must have all doors and windows open and the fans going and they weren't kidding !! Tried to cook a peice of fish on a moderate heat, it didn't get burnt but off the smoke alarms went. They rang our room we apologised and thought that was it. The male manager then let himself into the room (I didn't have my top up) and proceeded to ABUSE US. Like really abuse us including calling us idiots etc. This was an extremely upsetting incident and the fact that we can't cook for such a long stay makes the stay expensive and unreasonable.

The hotel is okay, not particularly clean (food in microwave, mould everywhere in the bathrooms) but that could be overlooked with friendly hosts. This is not the case here.....

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank cruizer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreestyleResort, Manager at Freestyle Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Guests requested a quiet apartment on their online booking. When they arrived Cruizer25 refused to even look at the quiet apartment on the top floor and demanded a ground floor apartment beside the pool. After one night in the apartment beside the pool Cruizer25 decided she didn’t like that apartment, couldn’t stay there, and asked to move to the apartment they had previously refused to look at.

When the fire alarm was set off and the building’s evacuation alarm was activated the guests were advised by phone that the manager needed to inspect the apartment to ensure the safety of other guests. The manager is the fire warden of the building and has a legal obligation to enter an apartment where a smoke detector has been activated.

The manager knocked on the door before entering the apartment.

Cruizer25’s partner was instantly extremely aggressive and the manager left the apartment immediately after ensuring that there was not a fire in the apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Looking for a clean, comfortable hotel/apartment in a central location in Port Douglas? You don't need to look any further than Freestyle! My family (husband and 2 kids) spent a week in this wonderful apartment-styled hotel in mid July 2014 and enjoyed our experience greatly. We had a 2-bedroom apartment that overlooked the pool, and was way above expectations in terms of style and layout. Host Anne Moore said the buildings had just been refurbished and it showed! Anne couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, giving us lots of suggestions and recommendations in terms of restaurants and activities and service providers, and helping us book different activities. Freestyle is a 5 minute walk from Four Mile Beach and a few more minutes to the central street of shops and restaurants (Macrossan Street) and was a great base for us to visit Daintree and surrounds. The only suggestion I would make is to perhaps heat the pool....it was very cold and as a result, we didn't spend a lot of time poolside....given that we were so close to the beach, we spent a lot more time there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCCL0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I spent 7 nights at Freestyle and were delighted with the experience. Our apartment was extremely comfortable, clean and quiet. The location was perfect, with an easy walk to town, beach or marina. The owners, Anne and Jason couldn't have been more helpful and provided us with great advice on things to do. If we are lucky enough to return to Port Douglas, Freestyle Resort will be the first place I try to book.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walden16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were originally hoping to stay at the Pullman Sea Temple on my Accor card for this special occasion, but being school holidays, unfortunately it was all booked out. My partner had visited Freestyle a couple times before and suggested that although it was in a different class, it was probably the next best thing in Port Douglas. He wasn’t wrong. Freestyle is the perfect boutique Resort for a quiet, clean and comfortable getaway. It’s location is better too - within perfect walking distance to Macrossant Street and the Marina - just lovely to enjoy the warm evening walks at this time of year, after a big meal. You will also appreciate not having to pay $5 each-way and suffer the long waits from those other places that are a little out of town, although the bus stop is just across the road and convenient when you do need it.

Architecturally, Freestyle is charming with an authentic tropical resort-styling. Co-designed and built by owners Jason and Anne, it’s hard to explain, except to say that each space I found myself in, felt REALLY comfortable …and you will lack nothing as Anne arranges everything from airport transfers to and from Cairns, flight details, even bookings for events, attractions and restaurants. Both are very knowledgeable on the local scene thrilling us with the extra details so often needed to fully organise, understand and appreciate the services and activities in any new town.

Thank you both again for taking all the stress and guesswork out of our itinerary …
Happily, this resort is uber-clean. The rooms are really just like a home away from home. The beds are firm and the apartments well-sized with all the mod-cons; foxtel, wi-fi, air-conditioning, iron, hairdryer and a host of thoughtful little extra’s like a clothing rack on the balcony for those wet towels, bathing costumes and wet suits.

There is a free internet computer for guest use in the Island-style open-air lobby, it’s a little slow but just enough to upload a holiday snap or two and/or to check an email, but not enough to keep you there all day.

The grounds are spectacular, immaculate and lush with a very relaxed tropical atmosphere all around the resort and cared for weekly by a dedicated team … very well balanced like a spa resort. The pool design is gorgeous, inviting and again … distinctive. I must comment on the rooms … ours was designed in a way that is hard to explain with the wooden-louvered sliding-door concealing the bedroom in a way that means no light in the morning, ensuring a long sleep in. Delightful! The furniture is well appointed and modern and the two story apartments are brilliant for families or small groups.

Anne and Jason are remarkable caretakers and hosts and Freestyle resort is one of the most relaxing places we have visited. We really enjoyed our three-night stay. We would highly recommend it to anyone who prefers a quiet non-over commercialised resort (like the Mirage or Sea Temple) as the best in its class for value, comfort and laid-back atmosphere. We will be back.

Room Tip: Wi-fi may be faster than the free internet computer in reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I just spent five nights with my twelve year old twins at Freestyle and we had a wonderful stay. Anne and Jay are great, helpful hosts and the loft apartment was brilliantly appointed with two bathrooms and plenty of space. Will definitely return

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CamBurgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We took three grandchildren to Port Douglas for 6 days. Freestyle ticked all the boxes for us. Lovely well appointed apartment easy to live in for the 5 of us. Kids loved the pool. Anne was very welcoming and knowledgeable in planning the trips for us. In the end it was all about location location location. Just perfect for a stroll into town or to the beach. A very memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
576 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
793 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Property: Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Address: 47 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing