We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Freestyle from 1 to 8 November in a one bedroom downstairs apartment. Anne was very obliging and knowledgeable and I confirm all the great things others have written about her. The complex is clean and tidy and our apartment was very comfortable. The pool was great. We would happily stay here again.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby2gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    138
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
209
346
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

This joint is fine, an above average, unpretentious family holiday apartment. It is conveniently located, but then so is everything in this tiny town. The staff are certainly attentive (is a polite way of putting it - "shutup and let us unpack, we don't need you to enumerate every single cafe in town" is an impolite way of putting it) and will arrange tours and airport transfers and all sorts of stuff for you.

The rooms are a little small to be honest, the kitchen unworkably so. But it is spotlessly clean and all the other facilities are A-grade.

  • Liked — Easygoing staff, everything worked.
  • Disliked — Small kitchen.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby-Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We choose this accommodation based on previous reports in tripadvisor, price and location in Port Douglas. We had a great holiday and were happy with our choice of accommodation. Port Douglas is a great location for a tropical holiday.

Freestyle Resort is kept very clean and has a 'fresh' feel about it. Anne and Jason are great hosts and provide good information about tours, restaurants, etc. Our self-contained apartment was fully equiped and looked as if it was fairly new (building is at least 8 years old). The only complaint is that with 2 adults and a child, the one bed apartment was a bit small. The balcony was a fairly good size though. We paid approx. A$170 a night for a week in school holidays and comparing it to other accommodation close by got a great rate.

A rental car from Cairns is the way to go and help get set up for the week but is not required while there. Just over 5 min walk cutting through the parks get you to the beach. 10 min walk to the Macrossin St, or the Marina. Sunday Markets, Habitat, Great Barrier Reef and Daintree tours where the main activities that we would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Millet-Fanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

A great place to stay in Port Douglas - great location, just minutes walk to town and the beach. We felt so at home in the comfy apartments. It was great to have cooking facilities on hand as eating out in Port Douglas can get a bit expensive over a long stay.
The highlight of our stay was definitely the staff - Anne in particular, who was a lovely host, and extremely helpful in all facets of our holiday.

  • Liked — Staff, Convenience
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sheryls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Fantastic location, fantastic owner (Ann), lovely accomodation, superb price through [--]. Will return, suggest you visit too.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

Our stay at Freestyle was lovely, Anne was really helpful in advising us of trips, places to eat etc.. the appartment was spotlessly clean & comfortble. Location is great 10 mins from everything. It's a small quiet resort which was really relaxing. Would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Pool was a bit cold
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2008

I am an American living in Melbourne. My family and I have been traveling around Australia over the past two years. Researching a place to stay at the reef was a bit overwhelming due to a lack of information on the net. I decided to go with reviews I saw on TripAdvisor and it wasnt wrong.

There is no way you can go wrong by staying at the Freestyle Port Douglas. Every amenity was cared for, you are just a few blocks from Macrossan Street and two blocks from the beach. It is a perfect location. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with three adults and two kids.

If I had to come up with one suggestion... offer WiFi. In room broadband is available (quite a fast connection!). Other than that I would say this is a spectacular place for anyone to stay, especially families.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank byork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Property: Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Address: 47 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing