We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Wanted”
Review of Le Cher Du Monde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Cher Du Monde
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just What We Wanted”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We didn't want on of those 'plastic' resorts. Just a nice, conveniently located apartment. And we got it. Perfectly located in the centre of the Macrossan Street commercial area, but quiet. The layout of the apartment was ideal, very clever with moveable shutters for privacy. And Jenny was so helpful. Clean, everything we needed. We'd definitely stay again.
Gordon & Robyn

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisvegas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    116
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
353
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent a week here after a drive up the coast from Brisbane - we were looking forward to it and weren't disappointed. Took a few passes up and down the street to find as the reception is on the main shopping street but there is free, secure, parking underground. That also helped getting into a cool car in the morning when outside was hot and sunny.

The pool area is small and we didn't use it much but others did - and you could use the hotel bbq if you wished. Close to everything without being noisy - in fact most of the time we could barely hear a thing from our room.

The room itself was lovely - we weren't intending to cook much and didn't. We hadn't travelled all that way to eat in so never tried but I imagine what we could have would have been limited as it often is.

The owners were really helpful, booking trips and giving advice. Hope to one day return.

Loved the place and Port Douglas!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The staff are very helpful and friendly but the rooms lack those little extras that make your stay a little easier; free beach towels, detergent in the kitchen, plastic cups to take by the pool. The pool is a little small and the air con is fixed at one temperature. We were given a street view room that comes complimentary with the sound of street sweepers and garbage collectors nice and early. I won't go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VerityMcD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The apartment itself was very well equipped. The kitchen area was set up to actually do some cooking, with a sensible sized fridge. There was both fans in the living area and bedroom area, along with air con., so a choice. The apartment had its own area for sitting and eating outside, which looked directly onto the lovely swimming pool. The electric bbq beside the swimming pool, was a bonus. Eating outside was a magical experience.
The manager / owner was extremely helpful, giving advice on snorkelling trips on the Barrier Reef, and then booking it for us.
The location is perfect - right in the centre of town, with eating places close by, and an excellent Coles supermarket a few metres away.
The best apartment we stayed in, during our Australia trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just spent three nights at this wonderful hotel. It is the 2nd time we have stayed there and we will definitely be back. It seems to attract an older clientele which as we are in our 50's is great for us, as it is very quiet. There is a fold out sofa bed in the lounge area but I think the room is perfect for couples and might feel crowded with more than 2 persons. Considering how clean it was, the facilities including a spa, nice bed and free wifi and the price compared to other places that close to the city this is the best kept secret in far north Queensland. Probably the only downfall is there is no lift to the 1st or 2nd floors but the other qualities more than makes up for it. The pool was great during the hot days and the bar-b-q was so clean and they have cleaning stuff there to use. Leave the hotel, turn left and its a couple of minute walk to four mile beach. Turn right and you are literally metres from the awesome array of restaurants, pubs, shops, and then only a couple of minutes walk to the marina. Opposite the hotel is an awesome little cafe that did amazing breakfasts. We are planing another stay later this year and this will be our first choice.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor overlooking Macrossan Street. They have double roller blinds on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Here for a "dirty weekend - 21st anniversary", Very nice, pleasant welcome. Pool nice for the size. The room is wonderful, king bed, spa, small kitchenette, balcony, air con, fans, tv. Perfect location for all restaurants, shops, tours and drinks etc.

Room Tip: Probable not on the main street side due to the hundreds of rainbow lorikeets chattering for hours i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psycoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 26th -30th January 2014 and very impressed! Clean self catering apartment with excellent decor. Spar bath was a nice feature! Opened patio door onto a terrace and just down 3 steps to the pool! Ideally situated half way between beach and harbour. Loads of shops including a Coles and a Target. Highly recommend this place!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#5 of 55 in Port Douglas
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cher Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cher Du Monde

Property: Le Cher Du Monde
Address: 34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cher Du Monde 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cher Du Monde is located in the very heart of Port Douglas, a short walk from trendy outdoor cafés, restaurants, the Marina Mirage and world famous Four Mile Beach.Le Cher Du Monde consists of 27 single bedroom self-contained spa apartments,with a King size bed, a balcony or patio, heated pool, gazebo and BBQ area in tropical setting. Ideal for visiting the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Cher Du Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cher Du Monde Hotel Port Douglas
Best Western Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing