We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Le Cher Du Monde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Cher Du Monde
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I booked Le Cher Du Monde one day prior to arrival. This accommodation is right in the middle of town and very well priced. The apartment was a good size and was very clean. My apartment had a balcony overlooking the main street which I liked as I could people watch. I had no issues with noise. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    116
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
353
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a great hotel if you're looking for something in the midst of the "downtown" area near shops and restaurants. The room was very spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable. There is a laundry machine available for $4 per load and a dryer for $4 per load. I stayed in a room facing the street. They offered me a room facing another location but suggested that perhaps if I was traveling alone, I would enjoy being able to look out and see people from the beautiful balcony. I decided to give it a try -- and I think it was a great choice! There are two double-paned sliding doors to get to the balcony. When you close those doors, there is no noise from the street. I really enjoyed my stay and would stay there again if traveling in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great Value, Great Location, Great Accommodation. This was our final destination after a brief tour of the eastern coast of Aus. Having stayed mostly in five star big brand hotels, we thought that we'd rather be in the town centre rather than in one of the bigger resort hotels out of town.

This small apartments (Units) are ideal for what we wanted, they are Clean, modern and fantastically located at an affordable price.

Gordon and his wife have been excellent hosts and look after their properties with pride.

The pool area is clean and well furnished. We have loved our time here, and have no trouble recommending it to anyone. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a pool View room which was great, there is no lift, so lower floor is advisable if stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We didn't want on of those 'plastic' resorts. Just a nice, conveniently located apartment. And we got it. Perfectly located in the centre of the Macrossan Street commercial area, but quiet. The layout of the apartment was ideal, very clever with moveable shutters for privacy. And Jenny was so helpful. Clean, everything we needed. We'd definitely stay again.
Gordon & Robyn

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisvegas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent a week here after a drive up the coast from Brisbane - we were looking forward to it and weren't disappointed. Took a few passes up and down the street to find as the reception is on the main shopping street but there is free, secure, parking underground. That also helped getting into a cool car in the morning when outside was hot and sunny.

The pool area is small and we didn't use it much but others did - and you could use the hotel bbq if you wished. Close to everything without being noisy - in fact most of the time we could barely hear a thing from our room.

The room itself was lovely - we weren't intending to cook much and didn't. We hadn't travelled all that way to eat in so never tried but I imagine what we could have would have been limited as it often is.

The owners were really helpful, booking trips and giving advice. Hope to one day return.

Loved the place and Port Douglas!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The staff are very helpful and friendly but the rooms lack those little extras that make your stay a little easier; free beach towels, detergent in the kitchen, plastic cups to take by the pool. The pool is a little small and the air con is fixed at one temperature. We were given a street view room that comes complimentary with the sound of street sweepers and garbage collectors nice and early. I won't go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VerityMcD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The apartment itself was very well equipped. The kitchen area was set up to actually do some cooking, with a sensible sized fridge. There was both fans in the living area and bedroom area, along with air con., so a choice. The apartment had its own area for sitting and eating outside, which looked directly onto the lovely swimming pool. The electric bbq beside the swimming pool, was a bonus. Eating outside was a magical experience.
The manager / owner was extremely helpful, giving advice on snorkelling trips on the Barrier Reef, and then booking it for us.
The location is perfect - right in the centre of town, with eating places close by, and an excellent Coles supermarket a few metres away.
The best apartment we stayed in, during our Australia trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#5 of 55 in Port Douglas
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cher Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cher Du Monde

Property: Le Cher Du Monde
Address: 34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cher Du Monde 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cher Du Monde is located in the very heart of Port Douglas, a short walk from trendy outdoor cafés, restaurants, the Marina Mirage and world famous Four Mile Beach.Le Cher Du Monde consists of 27 single bedroom self-contained spa apartments,with a King size bed, a balcony or patio, heated pool, gazebo and BBQ area in tropical setting. Ideal for visiting the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cher Du Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cher Du Monde Hotel Port Douglas
Best Western Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing