We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this Hotel !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Cher Du Monde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Cher Du Monde
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“I loved this Hotel !!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is in the heart of Port Douglas, the room was amazing, I was surprised at just how large the room was, it had everything you would need for either a short or long stay.. Beautifully kept and very clean

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    112
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
335
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My friend & I spent 3 Nights in Port Douglas and found the apartment clean, tidy & in the heart of Town. The Managers, Rae & Gordon were very friendly & accomodating. We can recommend Le Cher Du Monde Apartments to all visitors to Port Douglas and we shall return :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Macca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We will be back - loved Port Douglas and this venue for our stay.

Balcony unit over looking the street is ok - birds make a noise but only for a little while. Close to shops and lots of dining venue. Can recommend the fish n chips across the road and the Court House steaks are HUGE.

Clean tidy room

Shame their isn't a lift

We wheren't there long enough to enjoy a swim - next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broncogirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel really made our vacation in Port Douglas. We booked Le Cher du Monde for 3 nights with one night in between where we were supposed to go on an overnight diving trip. Unfortunately our diving trip was cancelled but the changes to the reservation were totally easy - we even got a cheaper daily rate because we were staying longer (the lady from reception made us aware on that! Wow! )
The rooms are clean and very nice - you feel like in a tropical paradise. I recommend you to have a room facing to the pool area. The appartment are conveniently located directly on Macrossan road so shopping and dining is close by. The marina can be reached in a 5 Minutes walk!
We will definately go back to Port Douglas and we will as well stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Each time we head to Port, we usually stay here. Reasonably priced, close to everything, quiet and well airconditioned. Also has a great pool, and it's one of the very few places you can be guaranteed of a child-free atmosphere. A definite plus for us!
We will continue to be return guests.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhitbyWimmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A small but excellent apartment complex perfectly located in Port Douglas. Situated on the main road, but very quiet and only a 5 minute walk from the beach and the marina. The apartment was a good size, important as there were 3 adults to accommodate, and we had a room that was directly next to the pool. Shops are also a few minutes walk away and if you don't want to cook there are plenty of places to eat and/or drink.
Very clean, lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath, and laundry faciliies available too.
Highly recommended - wish I had had more time there!

Room Tip: Direct access to the pool was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takapau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were self drive and this place was very easy to find. Once there we were greeted by warm and friendly staff. Our apartment was very clean and well presented. We had a lovely balcony on which to sit and watch the world go by, including the bats. Great shower and my husband loved the spa bath. Kitchen was big enough but we were only cooking breakfast in it. We were on the top floor and carrying our cases up was a killer, but it was a great room. Small pool but did the job of cooling us down. Location is absolutely perfect, right in the middle of port Douglas. That does mean it can be a bit noisy early in the morning with dustbin emptying and street cleaning. Over all will definitely look at staying here again when in port Douglas.

Room Tip: We were in room 29 with views of the side and main street and off into the distant rainforest. Desp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura5562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 56 in Port Douglas
1,269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#6 of 56 in Port Douglas
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cher Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cher Du Monde

Property: Le Cher Du Monde
Address: 34 Macrossan St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cher Du Monde 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cher Du Monde is located in the very heart of Port Douglas, a short walk from trendy outdoor cafés, restaurants, the Marina Mirage and world famous Four Mile Beach.Le Cher Du Monde consists of 27 single bedroom self-contained spa apartments,with a King size bed, a balcony or patio, heated pool, gazebo and BBQ area in tropical setting. Ideal for visiting the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cher Du Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cher Du Monde Hotel Port Douglas
Best Western Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing