We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Nice People”
Review of Tropical Nites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Nites
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, Nice People”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have just spent 10 days at Port Douglas staying at Tropical Nites. The units are spacious and well equipped but above all else clean and well furnished. Like other people we enjoyed the upstairs balcony and Tania and Damian were always there to help with trips and advice. Must be one of the best value places in PD. Look forward to our next visit.
Lynn And Derek

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    67
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
178
72
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Its the little things that make great hosts. We forgot to buy milk and Tania without any thought, gave us some of hers. Comfortable, clean, quiet. Apartments well serviced. Not to far from town. Everything you need in the apartments. Lovely spot. We only had 2 nights but a big thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked 7 days here, got a good rate, got a great place to stay and got REALLY great hosts. Tania and Damian made it a special stay with their friendly, relaxed way of looking after us. We booked our reef trip with them and got good local info. The town houses are well appointed and spacious, the gardens and pool well maintained and peaceful. All in all, a terrific place to stay, will recommend Tropical Nites to anyone. Thanks Tania and Damian.

Room Tip: Allow houses are the same, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Thank you Tania and Damian - your hospitality has been greatly appreciated and we look forward to coming back! We would have no hesitation in recommending Tropical Nites to our friends. The setting was lovely and the proximity to our family was most convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumofdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Thanks Tanya and Damien for a great stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I loved that there was a place to sit outside with all of the palms providing privacy. We went for a swim at night in the pool and looked up to stars and palm fronds. I like cooking and the kitchen had everything I needed. It's a short walk to the beach and a brief drive to the shops. You guys provided great info on where to go and what to do. You made time to give us the info that made our holiday extra special. If we are ever back in Port Douglas we will stay with you again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

we had 7 nights in tropical nites with the family really spacious rooms as we were 7 of us rooms were clean and facilities were great there was a pool right outside our house and had a lot of use of the bbq Tanya and damian were very helpful and made us feel welcome and we booked a trip with them and were helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gwyneth275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As a family of three (our son is seven) we wanted somewhere quiet enough for a rest but within easy reach of town. This suited us perfectly. Great accommodation for the price - very clean and tidy and friendly management - and all the amenities that are needed for a five night stay like ours. Easy 10-15 mins walk to Macrossan Street, shorter walk to Four Mile Beach and a very regular bus service to/from that drops you off right at the door.

Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#40 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
#16 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balboa Holiday Apartments
Balboa Holiday Apartments
#14 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nimrod Resort Apartments
Nimrod Resort Apartments
#25 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
#27 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Douglas Sands Resort
Port Douglas Sands Resort
#30 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Nites

Property: Tropical Nites
Address: 119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Nites offers fully self-contained Port Douglas accommodation in two-story apartments with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. Upstairs is the master bedroom retreat with bedroom opening up to a large private balcony plus a bathroom and laundry while living areas are downstairs. The Three bedroom apartments can comfortably accommodate six people with an extra two people on rollaway beds at an additional cost of $40 per person per night. All apartments have recently been refurbished and now have modern Kitchen with Microwave and Dishwasher and all have their own laundry with Washing Machine and Clothes Dryer. The deluxe have modern furnishings and a second bathroom making them a real home away from home and perfect for longer stays, small groups and families. Certificate of Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013. Tropical Nites: Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom town houses feature: Separate dining and lounge rooms, Kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge/freezer, Kitchens equipped with crockery, cutlery and utensils, Tea/Coffee and amenities on arrival, Television with Satellite TV and DVD player, Full laundry facilities, Built in wardrobes, Private balcony, Air-conditioning and ceiling fans, Weekly servicing included in all stays over 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tropical Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing