We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really good value place to stay for a short break in Port Douglas”
Review of Tropical Nites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Nites
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in May and found it to be friendly, relaxed clean and comfortable and very good value for money. Despite our initial misgivings on the size of the pool, it was actually bigger than it looked and ideal for a cool down in the heat of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2010

We had a brilliant holiday at Tropical Nites. Will definately be back to stay next year!
The most relaxing holiday we have ever had. Nothing was to much trouble for Alan.
The Apartments were bright, clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Great hotel, walking distance within everything in Port Douglas, Staff helped us find our way around town and activities to do. Really good atomosphere and really nice rooms paid next to nothing and got a great room

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCamperAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at A Tropical Nite - we stayed for 8 nights and felt that the apartments were great value for money. For us, the 15 minute walk to the main street was not an issue, however older guests / parents with young children would probably be better of staying a little closer to Macrossman Street.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottoloveaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Great host and a nice place to stay, Easy walk into town and a bus stop out front for those who don't want to walk. Excellent value for couples and families and a great place to chill out
This was our 2nd stay and we will be back
Greg & Sheryl
Melbourne

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiGreg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Hello,
it is always a pleasure to advise other travellers when we find an excellent place to stay.
In Port-Douglas, close enough to walk to the beach or the city center if you dare to. Located in the main incoming street in a quiet place. All available in your rented house, the kindness of our host Alan who can provide any explaination you need and make your stay so easy.
Not only adults but kids as well enjoyed it, swimming in the pool and helping me preparing meals using the barbecue.
No doubt, you may go there, it will be a pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P75013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Town House was very clean and well equipped. Much better value than anything else we found on the Web! The location was within walking distance of the town and beach.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on_holiday55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#13 of 42 in Port Douglas
952 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Resort Port Douglas
Reef Resort Port Douglas
#31 of 42 in Port Douglas
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.2 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
0.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Nites

Address: 119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £78 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Nites offers fully self-contained Port Douglas accommodation in two-story apartments with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. Upstairs is the master bedroom retreat with bedroom opening up to a large private balcony plus a bathroom and laundry while living areas are downstairs. The Three bedroom apartments can comfortably accommodate six people with an extra two people on rollaway beds at an additional cost of $40 per person per night. All apartments have recently been refurbished and now have modern Kitchen with Microwave and Dishwasher and all have their own laundry with Washing Machine and Clothes Dryer. The deluxe have modern furnishings and a second bathroom making them a real home away from home and perfect for longer stays, small groups and families. Certificate of Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013. Tropical Nites: Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom town houses feature: Separate dining and lounge rooms, Kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge/freezer, Kitchens equipped with crockery, cutlery and utensils, Tea/Coffee and amenities on arrival, Television with Satellite TV and DVD player, Full laundry facilities, Built in wardrobes, Private balcony, Air-conditioning and ceiling fans, Weekly servicing included in all stays over 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropical Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing