We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique feeling...on top of the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Port Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in this magical setting as we were returning the car and staying in Port Douglas for the following nights but it was enough to instantly relax us...I intentionally woke up early the next morning just so I could plant myself on the chairs of the viewing platform to "take it in" as much as possible! It's a cross between a B&B and a hotel...B&B with that homely and personal feeling, like you are part of their home...but hotel in the way that the rooms are self-contained and separate enough to feel private. We had ordered a self-BBQ dinner package and it was great after chowing down on fresh seafood to sit in the chairs of the platform and just listen to the sounds of the forest. Downsides might be the mass of mozzies and that you have to drive there but then you must expect that when you are going to a magical place in the middle of the forest!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetFlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

Denise, Marie and their family make this place what it is - very comfortable, welcoming and thoroughly enjoyable. Fabulous breakfasts in the tree house overlooking the rain forest and ocean. We also enjoyed a pizza night and full dinner there - well worth it if you are exhausted at the end of the day - which we were. Wonderful people who were very helpful to us. Another Australian B and B where you really feel comfortable and the family sort of takes you in and looks after you - it was great. Be prepared for a visit from the laughing kookaburra's early in the morning - what a racket!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlk919395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Rather than repeat the great comments in previous reviews which are accurate, I will explain why I give it a 4 rather than 5. * Our room #1 was nice but on the small side with no good place other than the floor to place suitcases. * There is a $5 charge for the internet which is only available on the patio. *And the B&B is not nearly as elegant as the pictures on their website shows. All that being said, Coral Seas was a nice stay, our dinner meal was excellant and the hosts could not have been more helpful

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

A magical location, where the place and its owners make you feel totally relaxed and at home from the start. The food was superb and probably the best meals of all that we enjoyed on a 5 week trip. The breakfasts are something else with fresh fruit from their garden and other delights - their library seemed to be full of cook books! The two evening meals were as good and served in the Treetops room overlooking the Pacific and listening to tropical forest sounds.

Marie, Denise, Michelle and Michael are wonderful hosts and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Lots to see and do in this area, but we liked the B&B so much we didn't want to leave. The view is spectacular and the garden, pool and open-air tree-top lounge is made in heaven. Marie is the most congenial and helpful hostess and a superb cook. (And she has no problem cooking gluten and dairy-free!) Our room was smallish, but clean and well-ventilated (important in this climate). I can't think of a better place to relax and unwind than Coral Sea Retreat B&B

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWKOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We enjoyed the lovely setting with its panoramic view of the Coral Sea, the warm hospitality of the host family, and my partner says that he is spoiled forever for breakfasts. Order anything that includes the homegrown tomatoes and fresh herbs -- the flavor is spectacular. In addition, Denise and Marie clearly love preparing food and presenting it beautifully. Breakfast is served in a delightful gazebo just outside of the rooms. One night, we sat by the pool, enchanted by reflections of the surrounding gardens.
As indicated on their website, Coral Sea Retreat is a 10-minute drive from the turnoff for Port Douglas, where most traveller amenities are located. Nearby Oak Beach, however, is beautiful and virtually private.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the coral sea. Denise, Marie and the gang were great hosts. Comfortable room and great outdoor living spaces. The breakfasts were a highlight of our day - the changing menu and great choices each day. Wonderful fresh fruit. Also great place for dinner for a quite night after a busy day. Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Blur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
212.5 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
681 reviews
212.6 mi away
Pink Flamingo
Pink Flamingo
#10 of 42 in Port Douglas
553 reviews
212.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
205.4 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
213.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,700 reviews
210.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7-11, Bruce Ave, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Douglas
Price Range: £64 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on a ridge overlooking the beautiful Coral Sea and surrounding rainforest, is one of Port Douglas' best kept secrets - Coral Sea Retreat B&B. Sit back relax and drink in the views. Holiday with a difference! The Tree House: 2 bedroom, self-contained unit with stunning views of the Coral Sea and rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing