We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pool EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Yeppoon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Pool EVER!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The pool is great. Lots of little private spaces to sit and avoid children who are squealing in absolute delight! and it has a little cave, and waterfalls! The restaurant made the best seafood Laksa I have ever had, and has nice cocktail specials too. Breakfast was nice, however the same every day (the kids would have loved hash browns or pancakes but I don't want to sound too fussy!). The Deluxe Villa, was great. great kitchen, 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms. Good air con, comfortable bed and very clean. We had one at the back with our own grassed area and little creek, nice for afternoon drinks! Very pleasant permanent residents. Great all rounder for a great price. If the budget ever allows, a nice repaint of the roof would give the whole place such a lift, however I realise it would be a very big job! Nice gardens around too, well staffed, we saw groundskeepers etc lots! oh, and David (the Frenchman) in the restaurant is to be highly recommended for his hard work, friendly smile and wonderful service, each and every day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    257
    147
    66
    43
See reviews for
362
154
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Rendezvous Reef Resort is a great place for a family. It would be a good place to visit if you have a car. As a couple with no car, this 'resort' was more than we needed. We had a 2- storey villa ( which is lovely) but far too much for 2 people. We didn't have a car and we were a 30 minute walk from Port Douglas. The 'shuttle' service costs per person to go into PD, so either you pay, walk, or you stay on the 'resort'. We didn't get to experience Port Douglas and felt very disappointed on the 'resort'.
The Rendezvous should offer a shuttle service to port Douglas for its guests; many hotels that are on the outskirts of town offer free shuttles into town.
The beach is about a 10- minute walk from the hotel, across the street.
Wifi is available in the hotel lobby and is spotty. Broadband is available in the villa and is painfully slow.
It was ok..
If you're looking to stay in Port Douglas (without a car) this is not the place.

Room Tip: A good place for families. Need a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acadia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

What a great stay! I was very concerned following a few "not so great" reviews. This place was reasonably priced and great for a family of four i) Very neat and clean and spacious ii) Well equipped iii) Great facilities (Pool, Gym, Lap pool, Tennis court, outdoor theatre etc.) iv) Great restaurant v) Reasonable distance from 4 mile beach (easy 8 minute walk). It is a few minutes drive from the city centre, but their is a frequent shuttle which worked very well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool is very convenient, The pool closes at 7pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB88BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I booked a holiday at this resort then read some really concerning reviews. Rang the resort, a lovely lady spent time reassuring me which was appreciated., exceptional service !

I think the reviews that are not so positive have been written by people who should try the QT next door, which will cost them $5000 more. One must remember the price and when you are getting such a great deal, you have to compromise. The breakfast was absolutely fine, especially as it was included in our $1200 week long stay. If you are looking for absolute perfection and if you can afford to pay for it, go elsewhere. If you are looking for a comfortable base to explore the area, Rendezvous is perfect, especially if you have children.

It took about 2 hours of being at this resort for me to realize that I had absolutely nothing to worry about. Our spacious two bedroom villa opened out onto a beautiful lagoon pool. The 13 year old took one look at it and declared that this was 'the best holiday ever' the 2 year old eyes nearly popped out of her head. Our downtime at this resort was going to be spent in a shaded, beautifully landscaped oasis. Thank you rendezvous. Mind you there was kids jumping around and the 'brandy brothers' (not liquor, the ball game) but that just added to the entertainment. We couldn't of wanted a better place to relax.

And then Port Douglas .... The low Isles, amazing ! Great staff, awesome lunch on the boat, the tropical island and a beautiful snorkel over the reef. Mossman's Gorge the most incredible place to experience, especially if you get in the water. Kuranda sky rail, scary undertaking, turned into something I will never forget. Outdoor theatre, Ballyhooley Railway (Irish for Party Town ?) and the Sunday Market with the very inspirational local businesses. Port Douglas is just beautiful.

But back to the resort. I read reviews about critters all over the wall well they were just innocent little sugar ant (insect spray provided) but they really weren't a problem. No flyscreen, sure, but ceiling fans and air conditioners everywhere you needed them. Yes, the townhouses were older, some are renovated which has been done to a reasonable standard, they are simple and not displeasing. The musky smell was there, I could of burnt incense but after a little while, it just didn't bother me, with cooking smells taking over soon enough. The carpet is older, but not disgusting. The couch is like an outdoor setting, being cane, but the cushions are comfortable and it was fine for the amount of time we sat on it and watched TV. We took our own computer and internet, the kids would watch a DVD in bed, for some peace and quiet.

The shower downstairs had a high base and with the plug in made an awesome after pool bath for the toddler. The 13 year old took the main bedroom because once the twin beds in the second bedroom had been put together it made a massive king bed, perfect for us with the little one and her night time visits, The beds were comfortable with fresh linen, the bathroom was modern with a big walk in shower. I felt we were able to relax because it was comfortable enough to do so and it provided everything we needed.

We had only one set of towels but we had a washing machine and dryer if needed. Mostly clothes and towels dried easily overnight on the clothes horse or over the indoor balcony. The room not being serviced didn't bother me. Obviously that would increase the tariff, The breakfast is great, serve yourself, good choice, you are dining with lots of others, but as it is being served for a few hours so there is no wait really. If something does run out it is replenished quickly, you may have to wait a few minutes, it only happened to me once. It was a relaxing environment, definitely clean with polite and helpful staff.

I would definitely go back to Rendezvous. I think if you did encounter a problem there, they would be quite happy to sort it out anyway. Remember some are renovated and some aren't, that will be reflected in the price difference. The gardens as far as I can say, were beautiful, not pristine, but gorgeous regardless and of course all wrapped up in Port Douglas's beautiful weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KelliRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My family stayed 4 nights. In fairness, it was good value for money for a family with young children. The bathrooms in our "deluxe" unit were newly done and location was okay (if you had a car). The aircon units in all rooms worked well.
But.....do not plan on spending much time in your unit. The pools were old and unattractive (only the kids were keen for a dip), the master bedroom was too small for even 1 bag but the worst part was the terribly uncomfortable furniture. There was no where at all to sit comfortably in the evenings. The cane furniture inside was abysmal. The outdoor areas were messy, dirty and unpleasant. I think the word "resort" is a massive stretch. These are very cheap, family friendly units. I only ate 1 of our included buffet breakfasts (say no more).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie666Byron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We arrived late at night , check-in was completed quickly and efficiently and the hotel restaurant was able to take us at short notice.
The pathways to the individual unit are not well lit. This was an inconvenience on the first night but we soon got used to this.
Food in the restaurant was good value and of a good standard. Menu did not change from day to day though.
Accommodation was spacious and comfortable. Showing some signs of its age. It reminded me of using a hired caravan in a caravan park.There was a musty smell throughout the property as if it hadn't been lived in for a while.The insect spray under the sink was useful to kill the small colony of ants living on the kitchen wall.
The seating in the lounge - cane furniture was not comfortable to lounge in.
There was no safe in the property, despite the information file declaring that ALL villa had a safe. However, reception staff took our valuables from us and put them in the main safe.
On the whole, the resort staff were excellent , especially when recommending activities and trips.

Port Douglas is a quieter alternative to Cairns and is closer to Daintree and the Reef.
There is a cheap, regular shuttle bus to Port Douglas -- it's not within walking distance by road.
If I were to visit Port Douglas again I would prefer somewhere a bit more modern.

Note: This is not a hotel. Rooms are not serviced daily. Additional charges will be incurred if extra towels, etc are required.

Room Tip: ensure there is a safe in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We just spent 5 nights at RR. It's an older property and by no means as flash as some of the gin palaces further down the road to town but it is great value for money and a very adequate place to base yourself for a family holiday. The hidden gems are the smaller pool by the children's play centre and the gym/lap pool complex. You get what you pay for. I'd say we did far better than that!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
485 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Property: Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing