We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect All Round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Nelson Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect All Round”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a 2 bedroom Apartment ( even though there was just the 2 of us ) purchased it on Getaway Website Deal..we were made to feel at home from the moment we walked in the front door till the moment we checked out.great variety of pools to choose from.great bbq area..table service around the pool area for drinks and food was awesome..perhaps a little too far from the centre of town to walk all the time but a very good service of shuttle buses to and from the resort.

Room Tip: wwe were in room 45 short walk to both pool areas and out of noise distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    253
    144
    61
    43
See reviews for
352
151
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Having booked 5 nights through a discount coupon website, paying a pretty reasonable price, and after reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried about what we might encounter. However on arrival we were pleasantly and efficiently checked in and quickly got into our villa out of the heat. The villa was a 2 bedroom delux villa - fully self contained. It was clean, modern and had everything needed for a enjoyable, hassle free stay. It had a full laundry with washer and dryer, 2 bathrooms - one upstairs and one downstairs forming part of the laundry. There was plenty of linen for more than 4 people (we had only 3 adults so enough to easily cover our needs). Starter packs of teabags, washing powder, washing liquid, toiletries etc were all provided. While additional/fresh linen and extra cleaning services were charged for if required, it is not really needed for short stays, and there is the laundry and cleaning gear if you want to do it yourself. Bed was comfy. The grounds are large and clean. Plenty of pools for children and you can easily escape the action by going to the lap pool area which is shared with the resort next door. The gym looked well set up also. It is a few kms out of the main shopping area and a car is handy otherwise you rely on the public shuttle bus/taxi. The beach is a short walk across the road. The breakfast buffet provided everything we wanted. Meal prices in the restaurant were reasonable and cheaper than most of the main street restaurants. Wifi is free but only in the reception - restaurant - main pool deck area. Our villa was very quiet even though it was only one row back from the main road. No neighbour noise and little traffic noise. Staff were always helpful and friendly. Two small gripes: 1.that the airconditioning was not very efficient down stairs and in the second bedroom upstairs. It took the edge off the heat and humidity and with the fans it was OK but sometimes it would have been nice to get cool quickly after a hot day out and about. 2.The 2nd storey large window (on all villas) has no blind/privacy screen and anyone out in the grounds, particularly at night had a direct view to the upstairs bedrooms and bathroom doors. Don't walk around upstairs without any clothes on!
We were quite pleased with the resort and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: A villa a little way back from the main road and maybe not immediately next to a pool would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Following the previous 5 night stay at Bay Villas Resort (stay away from that place !), we arrived at Rendez vous. A gentleman greeted us at the very small reception counter (i felt sorry for them as i am customer service officer and couldn't work in such a small corner next to the bar). He happily placed our cases in a room as we waited for our villa to be ready, we were in no hurry, the we think 'head' of the food services area, got us some lunch even though lunch time was over, we were very grateful. We did find the young female staff in the office very aloof, I was waiting for a smile yet never saw one. The french guy in the meals area was delightful, also the girls too, you could see they enjoy their work ! A fight in the kitchen when a chef threw dishes around was pretty disturbing, very bad look - the young female staff handled the situation with such maturity, they were to be commended.
Our breakfasts for tasty, the toaster was an interesting device lol !! but would have preferred a mug for my coffee not the small cups. The meals were lovely, limited wine selection.
very comfortable bed - we booked a 1 bedroom villa but ended up with 2 bedroom. There were a few ants but that's not the resort's fault, that's nature !

Room Tip: They are quaint villas, has their own letterbox and rubbish bin at the door. Be early for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We are a family of 5 and stayed for a week. The rooms were acceptable. There definitely is room for improvement with the cleaning side of things, i.e. bugs on the windowsills, vac under & around bed heads, under couches etc. We also found a plastic bag behind our bedroom door, sounds minor but it was the lack of attention to detail. The breakfast was ok, canned fruit, cereal, eggs, bacon. The exterior was taken care of exceptionally well, the grounds were very nice and the 3 pools were beautiful. We had to change rooms due to a plumbing issue next door that required vacating our room, but when we checked out there was no apology or even 'hope you enjoyed your stay' 'thanks for staying with us'...we just paid the bill, handed of the keys and left! a little disappointing. Overall, an ok experience but wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed here for a week. Like others, I had booked accommodation a few months earlier and later read the negative reviews so was sceptical and didn't expect much. How wrong was I.. We were upgraded to a two bedroom villa. At the time of arrival it was approx 30 degrees and when we checked in to our villa, each room had the air cons and fans turned on which was a nice touch. Space was ample and very clean. Services including pools and gym was great and very modern. Breakfast was included and was always topped up with plentiful of bacon, eggs, sausages. A highlight too was the Bircher muesli. Reception staff were very helpful and answered all our queries. There is also happy hour for drinks and food specials at a discount. We had dinner a couple of times at the restaurant and they had generous servings provided within 15-20 minutes from ordering. We also found it cheaper to have dinner and drinks here in comparison to going into town. Some reviews recommended we shouldn't have to pay for a shuttle bus and that this be complimentary but it should be kept in mind that this would obviously increase the rates for staying at the resort. Overall a great place to stay. While this is family friendly with little children playing around, it only adds more charm to the place. There are several pools around and so many rock pools that even if you don't have children, you tend to find a place to hideout. Great place to stay overall and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARUJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The resort was lovely and the pool and villa was great. Breakfast was great and the family had a wonderful time.

Huge downfall is the restaurant for evening meals. We waited 50mins for our starters and then another 40mins for mains. By the time we had finished it was so late the children were falling asleep at the table. Chief was very rude when asked why we had to wait so long. They werent even very busy. When we complained to management nothing was done! Never eat their for the rest of our holiday!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our months honeymoon in Australia. On arrival given a bottle of bubble which was nice. Staff at reception friendly and helpful. There was only 2 of us but we were staying in a 2 bedroom villa by the main pool. The view over the pool and bar area was nice especially at night.

The villa had a living area, fully fitted kitchen, utility room complete with washing machine and dryer, downstairs toilet and shower, upstairs bathroom, storage area, master bedroom with balcony and second bedroom with balcony. Both bedrooms and the downstairs area all had air con which was great as well as ceiling fans.

Bed was comfy and linen and towels were nice. Villas don't have maid service albeit on the 3rd someone did come and replace our towels and give it a quick clean which was nice.
Travelling for a month the use of a washing machine and dryer was great and it was almost like living back at home for 5 days and was nice and relaxing. The bedrooms were good, plenty of storage space and offered a safe but at a cost of $4.50 per day which use expensive and not really needed. The living area was also nice but the sofa was a bit hard and had mucky marks on it. The rooms on a whole were good but could have done with a lick of paint and a good spring clean. They weren't dirty but any means but had just in the corners and the cushions were a bit mucky but not bad.

Ate at the restaurant which was good value and good food. Although the menu didn't change they did do bar snacks if you fancied a day around the pool, which again, weren't badly priced and happy hour between 4-6 where beers wee $5 and cocktails $10. We had breakfast which like the dinner menu didn't change but cons titled of hot and cold with hot and cold drinks. It was a good start to the day and started at 7 which was good as some of the tours for snorkelling at the reef or the Karunda departed at 07:45-08:15 ish most days so there was time for breakfast before leaving for the day.

It has 3 pools and a gym. The gardens and grounds were nice and being maintained by a few gardens which I saw nearly everyday. Staff I encounter were nice and helpful when I needed them so no complaints in that department.


Negatives:

To call it a resort is pushing it really, it offers the same amenities as a regular hotel.
Location isn't central and is 3.5 km from the town centre. It is however, across the road and only 5 min walk to 4 mile beach. We walked across one day and then the full length to the town centre and got the shuttle bus back.

Other negative is that the shuttle is $5 per person one way so a return trip to town for a couple is $20, if you do that once or twice a day it soon adds up. The hotel should really offer a free shuttle into town as I am aware other hotels at the bottom end of the area do offer this service. The shuttle is regular about every 15-20 mins.

Overall a good value resorts. We don't have kids but there were many families and many kids all looked like they were having a good time and it did cater for them which we really didn't mind, added to a bit of atmosphere. I would recommend staying here, good rooms/villas and restaurant. Only negative is the location and the distance to either walk which isn't ideal in the heat or pay for the shuttle to go into town.

Port Douglas is more ideal than Cairns as most trips depart from Port Douglas harbour for the reef or are near Port Douglas and people I spoke to in trips who were staying in Cairns regretted it saying the long drive to attractions which were nearer Port Douglas. Port Douglas it's self is alo very nice

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#27 of 43 in Port Douglas
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#20 of 43 in Port Douglas
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Property: Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing