We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff, especially Hannah who said "yes" to every request we made, and with a smile. The cast of staff (again staring Hannah) helped us escape to Cairns airport and Brisbane ahead of cyclone Ita - a day earlier than planned, A highly recommended holiday destination,

John, Whitley Bay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi John B,

Thankyou for your lovely comments, we have a great team who take pride in their work. We really appreciate your kind words.

With thanks,

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed in a 3 bed apartment, very clean and comfortable which was well equipped with plenty facilities including washing machine and dryer, which was great when staying with kids. Swimming pools were great fun along with playground and BBQ facilities. Breakfast was included. It is a little outside the town, I'm glad we had a car but, there is a shuttle bus that runs into the town fairly often. There is so much to see and do in this area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FancyPants1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Fancypants1978,

Thanks for posting a great review and glad you and your family enjoyed your stay!

With thanks,

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed recently in a 2 bedroom coral villa for 5 nights. Breakfast was great, though the same every day. Restaurant served very nice meals, but service on a busy night was a little slow. The pool areas were really well designed, and very clean. The gardens and grounds were well maintained and tidy, even though the cyclone had been through a few days before.

Most of the staff were great - pleasant to deal with, and prompt at cleaning tables etc, especially around the pool area (where you could have food and snacks from the restaurant and cafe during the day).

The villa itself could do with a really good clean though. There was mould on the curtains, and the stair rails and door jams all needed a good thorough clean. The downstairs shower was in desperate need of both a dose of bleach and a shower curtain - this modern idea of an open shower just means a wet floor and sopping wet bathmat. I also wouldn't recommend getting the rollaway bed if there is a 3rd child - the bedroom is really not big enough for it. The other big improvement would be a curtain or blind on the big window - while it is not needed for privacy, it allows the morning sun to stream in which stops all thoughts of a holiday sleep in, when the kids get woken at dawn......

All in all, I would probably give it 3.5 stars, but seeing as Tripadvisor only works in whole numbers, I will round it up to a 4 :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carlifam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Carlifam5,

Our housekeeping team have a copy of this review and we will improve these cleanliness areas for future guests. We generally deter guests from booking a rollaway bed due to the limited space in the bedrooms however instead of upgrading to a three bedroom apartment, some guests do choose this extra bed.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us for your holiday.

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Came here with by boyfriend. Beautiful resort. The various pools scattered around the resort are nice. Be sure to go inside the "caves", as there you will find the spa (there is a button to actually turn the spa on - Look for a white button on the walls". BBQ facilities are available, as well as a childrens' playground, so this is a great place for families. The Straits Cafe serves delicious meals. I highly recommend the full-cooked breakfast buffet. The resort also allows you to get takeaway food delivered to your villa. The villa was very clean, but you should check for bugs in the morning, as we found a cockroach under a cushion on the sofa and a spider in the bathroom. Also, the pool near the restaurant can get busy, so it is recommended to go to the other ones if you want peace and quiet. The tennis court is also very nice. The shuttle bus comes and goes every half an hour. If you are travelling a lot, get the day pass.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pools and restaurant tend to be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Isabella M,

Thanks for your review of our resort. The pools are a big hit with the kids, especially the caves and spa areas. Hope to see you next time when staying in Port Douglas.

Kind regards,

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at this resort in April 2014 with our children. While we agree with other reviews that the resort is a bit old and out of town, it is fantastic and exactly what we were looking for. The facilities are very well maintained, the rooms have been renovated and the swimming pools are great fun for kids. The restaurant is also very good value, reasonably priced and good quality food. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The only thing we missed were fly screens so we could enjoy the port douglas weather more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomDon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi TomDon2014,

We've had comments regarding fly screens a couple of times now so we are currently looking at implementing this. We're glad to hear that we met your expectations and you had a great stay!

With regards,

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for six nights for our honeymoon and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a delux one bedroom apartment. The apartment was nice, with two bathrooms, a good kitchen and nice living area. The hotel has good facilities, with a range of nice pools. It's a fair way out of Port Douglas, but not far from Four Mile Beach.. My only gripe is that the "king sized bed" was two single beds pushed together. This was pretty annoying on our honeymoon. Otherwise, the resort was great.

The staff deserve a special mention. We were there for Cyclone Ita and they went out of their way to make sure people felt safe and were well prepared. They were friendly andhelpful in answering all our cyclone and non-cyclone related questions. They also left us a bottle of sparkling wine to congratulate us on our wedding. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and would definitely consider saying there again in future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Cara J,

Thanks for your great review! The king bed setup is very common in hotels, it's called a king zip which allows a hotel to offer more flexibility in room types as it can be made into a twin (two single beds) or one king bed. It was a bit touch and go for a while with Cyclone Ita however we came through it unscathed and operating as normal. Congratulations on your recent wedding!

Kind regards,

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for a week and can thoroughly recommend it. Despite being close to the main road, our villa was very quiet and only a ten minute bike ride to the main street (Macrossan). There are enough pools that you can get away from the crowds although I must say that I found it slightly tiresome that the lap pool and fitness centre close at 2pm on Saturday and Sunday. The villas are well-appointed without being luxurious - but importantly, the beds are very comfortable. We loved the daily happy hour by the pool - the in-house restaurant is a perfectly good option and the buffet breakfast is also good, but not exciting. Staff were as helpful and responsive as they could be, although perhaps not quite as well-informed about the activities in the area as might be hoped for. However, these are minor quibbles - overall I think it's really good value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure to check that your room/villa is not one of those closest to the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi Kirsten L,

We appreciate your great review of our resort and glad to hear you and your family had a great stay!

With regards,

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £95 - £588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing