We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Rendezvous for a week in June. The two bedroom villa was great value for money and as we had a hire car it was easy to get some shopping in Port Douglas and cook for ourselves. My only criticism of the resort would be that the pools were ICY cold. Some brave kids and a couple of adults were in the pool but it was too, too cold for me to go in much further than the top of my legs! Having said that the resort was terrific value for money and we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMB159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi RMB159,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for your review.

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    257
    147
    68
    43
See reviews for
363
155
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Heading back to the Rendezvous again in August. The staff are very helpful, the grounds are set on quite a number of acres, but plenty of room , lovely BBQ area, very clean. cant wait .We were near the kiddies pool, hardly any noise, grounds were kept clean and the breakfasts were the best we have ever had.

Room Tip: The Deluxe villas are roomy and very comfortable for all ages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nola123132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Nola123132,

Thanks for your positive review! See you again in August.

With thanks,

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a very large resort with lots of pools for the kids. Most of the villas are well maintained but the ones further away from reception have very untidy grounds. The rooms were pretty good with updated kitchens and bathrooms. The pool was very cool with a spa built into the pools tunnels.

Room Tip: The best villas are near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Jed T

Thanks for your review. Some parts of our resort have been professionally landscaped and others have not. In saying this, we have a proactive grounds team who maintain all 15 acres which can be a challenge in our tropical climate! Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

With regards

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

When arrived at the Rendevous we were taken to our Villa which over looked a car park! When I at receptionI Itold them that I was dissappointed . No problem, they moved us to apool side villa. Great! The villas are lovely, clean and very spacious. However the courtyard was very unkempt and untididy. One person could have weeded and swept. Not a pleasant area.
The breakfasts were the same every morning, I would suggest that there be more fruit, nicer breads and perhaps some pastries and muffins. The bacon was awful!
However we visited for dinner 1 night and wow stunning, one of the best meals we had in Port Douglas.
The Staff were obviously overseas back packers and were great.
A little out of town but the city shhuttle drops is every 20 minutes.
Not a glamerous place but perfect if you have children.

Room Tip: Pool side villa a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadabout52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Gadabout52,

Our resort is situated on 15 acres so our rooms have a variety of outlooks. Our breakfast area is very small therefore our selection of foods represent a standard breakfast choice. Your feedback has been passed to our restaurant manager and head chef.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langwarrin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have stayed at the resort 4 times since 1994. We are also going back in September this year. The resort was amazing. My children loved the pool that had a cave tunnel enabling them to emerge on the other side of the pool. You can easily cross over the road to the beach from the resort as well. The bedrooms were a good size and loads of wardrobe space. We rented a car as its quite far from shops etc on macrossen street. There is a lovely restaurant on site too and kids play area. Overall very happy and has become an annual destination for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Joanne G

Thanks for your review. We will see you up here again in July.

Kind regards

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are staying in a townhouse close to the reception then you can be pretty confident that the grounds around your townhouse will be well maintained. Unfortunately we were placed in one of the outer townhouses. It was very grubby, you couldn't sit in your outside chairs because they were covered in dirt and spiders. The gardens were either dead or overgrown with brush and the cement was dirty black in most places but there were spots which had a heals hearted clean. The pools were lovely and the units inside were not too bad. Breakfast each day was well catered for and the staff polite and accommodating. Good set up for kids with the number of pools and play equipment

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellsie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Bellsie17

We're just coming out fo the wet season now (in fact it's still raining at the moment!) and this is the time where we start to gurney all the footpaths, entrances and carports ready for the dry season. We do have a maintenance plan in place for the upkeep of the grounds and we start at villa one and continue all the way through to villa 182 at the end of the resort. The front area near reception has been professionally landscaped however the rest of the grounds as you mention are not yet landscaped. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again.

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

great stay and great to see so many families enjoying this family friendly resort. Fully self contained villas with lots to do for the kids (and mums and dads) 3 great pools, great value restaurant,gym and lap pool

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulsa m J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi redbark17,

We appreciate your positive review! See you again soon.

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
488 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Property: Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing