We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife,daughter and I stayed at the rendezvous reef resort in July, the villa was perfect. Very clean (and we have high standards!) the staff were welcoming and very helpful. The resort was amazing !!! this truly is paradise. Thank you rendezvous staff. Kev, Andrea and Alice

Room Tip: ask for a poolside villa
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Kevin & Andrea

Thanks for your positive review this time. See you again next time you are up in Port Douglas.

With thanks

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Expected more from the Rendevous brand. Staff were lovely and graciously took on board complaints but owners need to smarten their act up to get this "resort" up to scratch. No fly screens! No shower screens so the bathroom becomes a bath! I am sure people have commented on these issues before. Either fix up these units or drop the prices and change the name from "Resort" to Budget accommodation. Sad because the pools are nice and the staff are lovely.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mike349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Mike349

It's disappointing to hear we did not meet your expectations during your vacation. We appreciate your comments regarding our great team which correlates with other reviews on this site. Fly screens have also been mentioned before from other posts on Trip Advisor and I know our owners are considering the idea. The weather is fabulous at this time of year so no need for any air-conditioning!

Many thanks

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Prior to our holiday inwas a little worried after reading some reviews. Our family really did enjoy this resort. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a two bedroom apartment - great size for the four of us - perfect laundry for washing our towels kitchen good - stovetop but no oven - convention microwave - we had breakfast included in our package and not sure why ppl complain about the variety - we found that although the same every day - lots to choose from. Grounds looked well maintained. Happy hour was great -but I'm not a big drinker so I'm not sure if prices are good or not. We only had dinner once at the resort which was fine, no complaints.
Tips - may not be all year round but bring repellant - I got a lot if bites the first day. (June)
If you have children - Ironbar bistro has kids eat free offers. Beach is a short walk - cross the road and follow the signs through backstreets. We did hire a car from Eastcoast - worth having for outings. Train that goes by on Sundays - unless your kids are little and would find this enjoyable personally I wouldn't bother - we went out morning through to Marina and the train then cancelled the rest of the day services and we paid for a return trip. We had to get the town shuttle back to hotel. Not a big deal but we then heard this happens often or it doesn't run. It is run by volunteers so pls keep in mind. Hotel is not far from the main port Douglas shops/restaurants but too far to walk with kids. So overall we had a great time at the resort and this was a very affordable holiday option for us.

Room Tip: Our room was next to entrance and can't complain - we were close to reception and main pool - ea...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadamT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi MadamT9

Thanks for your favourable review. Our resort is well placed for families and our villa style accommodation reflects this. We have multiple pools and are within walking distance to the beach. A public shuttle bus comes around every 15 or so minutes and can drop guests in the main street. Our team also keep a few bottles of mosquito repellent handy all year round just in case!

We appreciate your review.

With regards

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A great budget resort with pools & decent food for all. Apartments are clean and serviced to a good standard. Staff are happy too. Recommend car hire. For 4 people its $20 to Port Douglas each way in hotel shuttle bus. Local chippy and pizza joint are both good. I rate this resort and my young children thoroughly enjoyed the stay as there were things to keep them happy with all the water activity on offer.

Room Tip: Get rooms that overlook the bush and parkland as many overlooked each other. Appt's are large en...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank griff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousTeam2014, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hi griff67

Many thanks for your review. The kiddies love our resort and we agree that the villas are spacious and well-equipped. See you again next time you travel to Port Douglas.

With regards

The Team @ Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We received great customer service from reception and restaurant staff. Good to have a selection of pools, however we found them to be a bit cold. Nice large clean villa. Would be nice to have more selection for breakfast e.g danish pastries. Overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 24Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi 24Jude,

Thanks for your review! We have a dedicated team here at the resort and providing great customer service is something we work very hard on, thanks for your possitive feedback!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks from all the Rendezvous Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas for 7 days in early July. On arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe villa which had a great view overlooking the pool area . Although the resort is located out of the main town area this was not a problem to us as we enjoyed the walk or bike ride into the main centre of town and harbour by the beach front or the plentiful walking/bike paths provided. The villa was clean, spacious with all the facilities required for a self contained stay. The breakfast whilst being a bit repetitious was plentiful and the restaurant provided top quality evening meals with poolside dining. Yes the resort may be getting a bit dated but the pool area's and grounds were well maintained and in good condition as was our villa. The only minor complaint would be the Wi-Fi speed. Overall we had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pandl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Pandl55,

Thanks for your review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks from all the Rendezvous Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I recently went to this resort with ny boyfriend. We stayed in a one bedroom deluze villa, and it was beautiful. The Straits Cafe was a beautiful place for lunch and the breakfast buffet (the breakfast buffet consisted of sausages, bacon, baked beans, eggs and mushrooms - excellent value!). The villa was very clean with the exception of a few bugs in the morning (to be expected in a tropical region). The three pools were beautiful. The pool near the restaurant was noisier, so I recommend going to the other two for peace and quiet. The hidden cave spas were a lovely touch. There are two shuttle buses that take you in and out of town, going every half an hour. I recommend getting a day pass if you are travelling in and out of town frequently, as it ends up cheaper. The gym and tennis court were also lovely. Overall I very much enjoyed this hotel. It is very family friendly, and honestly recommend it to anyone going to Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Villas near the pool may be noisier - Try to get one further away
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scarlett V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

We love having 4 pools for our guests to choose from and the caves are great fun!

Thanks for your comments regarding our breakfast - we do have a very busy restaurant in the mornings and our staff all work very hard to ensure guests are looked after.

I look to see you back at Rendezvous Reef Resort soon!

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £100 - £580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing