We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best degustation menu ever!”

Rasa Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #54 of 118 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: US$16 - US$59
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Rasa Restaurant & Lounge offers a relaxing and stylish approach to contemporary dining and lounging. Set amongst lush tropical gardens and overlooking Niramaya's stunning resort pool, Rasa combines Asian inspiration, western culinary customs and hints of molecular gastronomy techniques. This combination delivers truly explosive tastes, with visually and texturally enhanced dishes focusing on regional and local produce. Combined with our unique twist on cocktails, share plates and intimate evening dining, you will find Rasa and its unique Balinese setting special enough for celebrations, yet casual and relaxed enough for everyday dining. At Rasa we do everything with love, so please come and share our unique experience with friends and loved ones.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Best degustation menu ever!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are currently staying at the Niramaya resort where Rasa is located, with a great setting overlooking bush and the lighted swimming pool and vista.
We decided to try their degustation menu for dinner- what a delight it all was! The chef and his team took us on a evening of subtle to intense flavours, beautiful presentation and a sense we had been very well looked after by both the cooking and the waiting staff.

We were given another palette cleansing course and sampled throughout the evening courses and the flavours of avocado, chilli, squid, spanish mackeral, pork belly, duck (best I have ever had) and a chocolate creme brûlée with delicious orange icecream to die for!

This chef knows his stuff, and his food was as good as- if not better, to similar menus we have eaten in Europe. At $70pp it is totally worth it. Normal a la carte is also offered and we would recommend this restaurant, its not just for Niramaya guests. Awesome evening, thanks Rasa!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deliverygirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    23
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience in port douglas”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Our family dined here on Friday night with two kids in tow. Best food and restaurant service we have experienced in port douglas. Had the pork belly for entree which was amazing and the beef cheek pad sieu for mains. It was to die for!! Chef to be commended. Wish there was a Rasa in Sydney. The staff on duty provided us with mosquito repellant but would be good to bring your own.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RowD2192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food but service needs improvement!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We fell upon this restaurant almost by accident after my friends were recommended to visit by one of the staff. It's nicely tucked away in Niramaya resort and the surroundings are again beautiful. Considering the portion sizes you get, the food is expensive but very delicious and you couldn't fault that. We did feel that the service could do with looking at though. Whilst our waitress was very friendly and chatted briefly to us as much as she could, it was clear the restaurant was understaffed for a Saturday night and we found that were waiting extended periods of times for simple things such as drinks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrSpeedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pt douglas' best kept secret”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

i had the pleasure of dining in Rasa restaurant the other night with my partner and friends, it happened to be a Thursday which entailed a5 course development degustation using local produce. It was an amazing experience as the chef not only show cased the local produce, but the skill an talent of his team to bring pieces of art to the table, i will definitely be informing all my friends about this place and hopefully be returning in the near future, thank you for a great night!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank my3rz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Soo much potential”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Dined on a quiet evening Thursday development degustation.
Food was outstanding, setting amazing, service friendly but missing some polish.
The kitchen crew must be commended the food was brilliant for the very well priced $60pp, however the service missed the basics, lovely people and will do well with a little more attention to detail

R

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank reno80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rasa Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Rasa Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing