We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best in Port Douglas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Thursday Island, Australia
1 review
“The Best in Port Douglas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife, daughter, and I have stayed in Saltwater Luxury Apartments on a number of occasions now, and it seems that we enjoy our stay more and more each time.

The location, in relation to all that is happening in Port Douglas, is fantastic.
The amenities within the rooms are unsurpassed in any other accommodation offered in Port Douglas, with great bedrooms, bathrooms, laundry facilities, kitchen facilities, etc. The beds and pillows are comfortable, and every time we have stayed the rooms have been spotlessly clean.

The Managers of Saltwater Luxury Apartments are super-friendly and super-helpful, even going so far as to suggest which bars servce the best cocktails, what time happy hour is at certain bars, suggesting the best tours and trips to take whilst in Port Douglas, and even helping me to find somewhere to buy some decent cigars!

We love staying here, and will be back - Saltwater Luxury Apartments is the only place to stay when visiting Port Douglas!

Thanks, the Ferguson's!

Room Tip: We have been fortunate enough, that when we have booked to stay at Saltwater Luxury Apartment, the M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thanks for the great review. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us at Saltwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    91
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
176
113
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

we booked this apartment and found it to be really luxurious, immacetely clean and modern. The owners are lovely and very helpful with tips for the area. The location of these apartments is ideal you can just stroll around the town and see which of the restaurants to eat in and there is plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aoifed186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thanks for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Saltwater and Port Douglas. Lets hope you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labrador, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

First time visit to the Port Douglas area and for our week long stay we found Saltwater perfect for our holiday. Situated in the heart of Port, close to shops, restaurants and the marina. John and Carolyne we great hosts, offering us plenty of local knowledge on tours available in the area as well as the pick of the local restaurants and in our opinion they were spot on each time. The units themselves were spaceous, well decorated and the perfect location for our base during our stay. We will be back to Port Douglas and will definately be staying at Saltwater again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petenash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thanks for the great review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Port Douglas. Hopefully you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

After being in Sydney for a week and eating out every day, we welcomed the chance to stay in an apartment and eat home food. The apartments were very modern and immaculately clean. It has an ideal location, two minutes walk to Cole´s (and Target), a few blocks to the beach and the Marina and the great restaurants in between. Our two kids used the pool which is small but perfect. The owners are very friendly and helped us booking the tours.
We arrived very late at night, but they gave us all the instructions by email to enter the Apartments. The apartment was very spacious, Nº 1. A master bedroom with big bathroom (not very intimate, by the way) but there are two more bathrooms, another bedroom and a great living room and kitchen (with washer and dryer too), and a balcony. It was perfect!!Why stay in Cairns?? Port Douglas has everything!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thanks for you great review. Hopefully you will return to Port Douglas again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have now stayed at the Saltwater apartments twice in the last few months and have enjoyed both visits very much. The apartments are very clean and quiet and in a fantastic location. They are also great value especially given the central location on Macrossan street with restaurants and cafes all around as well as Coles directly across the road. John and Carolyne are fantastic as well. They are friendly and have great recommendations for tours and restaurants. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Port Douglas and highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmui3729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for your great review.

It's great to know that guests enjoy Saltwater so much that they make return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We recently visited Port Douglas for a second time, and as there were 5 of us in our group decided on the Saltwater Apartments.
They were in a fabulous location and very easy to locate, with parking available underneath.
On arrival we were met by John, despite us arriving quite late, to be pleasantly informed we had been upgraded to the penthouse apartment.
It was absolutley stunning with three great bedrooms and a huge balcony that went all the across and down the side of the apartment. John was an excellent host providing lots of information for our stay. The pool at the aparments was ideal and we had it to ourselves most of the time.
A fantastic holiday in Port Douglas and I cant wait to go back and stay at the Saltwater. I am a travel agent in the UK and will be recommending this to all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thanks for the great review.
Hopefully one day you will be able to return to Saltwater and enjoy a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

The old Real Estate adage holds true for Saltwater. The location on the corner of Macrossan and Grant is perfect for the tourist in Port Douglas, especially with a family of 5 and 3 little ones needing prams/strollers/bags etc. We walked everywhere, and easily. Coles is practically across the road, it really was perfect.

So if I were reading this, I'd then wonder if the big plus of the location is let down by a dump that calls itself luxury as places in Port Douglas are prone to do. Well, I don't think Saltwater does at all. The apartment we had (the 2 bedroom penthouse) was excellent. Loads of room for all 5 of us, and all the facilities we could ever want from this type of accommodation. Our balcony was massive, with a table for 4 and 2 banana lounges. But we could see the other balconies were very modest as other reviewers have noted. If you're staying a week or so, I'd highly recommend trying to cut a deal to get the penthouse as we did, as the extra outside room was perfectly shaded late in the afternoon and was the ideal place to eat (we never once ate inside).

The pool was maintained perfectly, and John, the manager, was on hand for and with everything. Nothing seemed a problem for him. The best illustration of this was the email we got a couple of weeks before we arrived. John had noticed we were there for Melbourne Cup week and gave us a list of fmaily friendly functions he could book us in too, or, alternatively, because Cup day is so busy with functions, he could book us out to the reef which would be quieter. I think that's pretty good, and it set the tone for our stay.

To try and be balanced, I have tried to think of some negatives, and I have, but they are really quite minor compared to the overall place and the location, so here goes:

- Rubbish removal was to communal bins that were housed in a room in the garage to quarantine the smell, which the room did brilliantly, but when you were in that room, sheesh!
- Lots of stairs. It was hard lugging the pram up and down them, so if you're not that fit and you have prams/strollers, you might want to think about this as it was an effort and we're relatively fit.

Pretty pathetic, but then if I were to be more critical I would be being ridiculous.

I would definately book Saltwater again, and have recommended it privately a few times as well. If you want any more information or have any specific questions, message me.

Room Tip: The Penthouses have excellent balconies if you're travelling in numbers, but for couples the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrOyvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Many thanks for the positive comments for Saltwater but as the author felt it necessary to post a couple of negatives [albeit minor in nature according to the author] our responses are as follows:

Rubbish smell: A couple of unfortunate attributes of the tropics are the heat and humidity which can cause the best wrapped food scraps to "go off" within an hour. The rubbish skips at Saltwater get emptied daily at around 7 am so if anyone puts rubbish out after that [containing things like prawn heads, fish etc], there are up to 24 hours for odours to generate. The skips and the room itself are also hosed out & disinfected regulary, but there is always the risk that potentially odorous rubbish is put out just after the cleaning has occured. Several "deodorising machines" have been trialled in the room but none were very affective. As the author stated, this was a minor negative, so hopefully, other readers will view this the same.

Stairs: As is commonplace in Queensland, buildings of fewer than 3 levels do not have to have a lift installed and Saltwater is no exception. We are very conscious of this to the extent that this fact is clearly denoted on the Saltwater website and also on the various sites on which we advertise. We are also proactive with people that telephone or email enquiries regarding them being OK with stairs. Also to offset this inconvenience, John & Carolyne usually assist in carrying guests bags up the stairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Property: Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing