We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just home from a ten day stay (with our family of four), in a 2 bedroom 'ultra' (larger) apartment at Saltwater. We all loved it. The location is perfect, our balcony overlooked the main street. The complex is right in the middle of Macrossan (main st) St of Port Douglas therefore close to everything you'd need. Great restaurants, supermarket, shops, park, marina etc. And, it wasn't noisy. We awoke to sounds of birds in the trees just outside our balcony so it had a very relaxed feel. The apartment was spacious, modern and lovely, the pool relaxing. John and Carolyn have extensive knowledge of the area so are very helpful. We also looked at a 3 bedroom for when the kids are older and this was amazing also. I doubt we'd ever stay anywhere else now.

Room Tip: Choice is either two or three bedroom. The two bedroom Ultra apartments are even more spacious than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks for the great review and all the details about Saltwater.
Lets hope you can return to Saltwater soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I have just come back from an amazing 8 days in Port Douglas. As we had been there before and had done all the touristy things decided to keep busy doing nothing. The location of Salt Water was perfect as everything was on our doorstep. We didn't require a car as everything you need is in walking distance. The icing on the cake was the Cairns Iron Man (cycling section) which passed by our door. The apartment was perfect overlooking the pool, plenty of space, facilities and amenities were excellent and John and Carolyne couldn't have been more helpful prior to us going and while we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MareeHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks for the great review. We know you enjoyed the Cains Ironman and everything else in Port Douglas.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We returned home last night after 10 days at Saltwater Apartments. There are no criticisms that I have.
Management is very good, and helpful. The apartments are right in amongst the restaurants, and Carolyne and John are very happy to suggest a suitable venue that will match your taste.
While we go to Port regularly, this is the first time at Saltwater, and wont be the last!

One important thing is that they are in Port Douglas not somewhere 10-12 Kms away that requires a car, and claims rather rudely to be in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over Macrossan St are in my opinion the better ones, as others may be over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks for your great review.
We appreciate your comments regarding location and hope this is helpful to others
It was a pleasure having you as a guest at Saltwater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed in Port Douglas for 4 nights in mid May 2013.
The apartments are ideally situated in Macrossan St which is mid way between the Four Miles Beach and the Marina from which all cruises depart. It is also surrounded by restaurants and right across the supermarket. Extremely convenient.
The apartments are modern and comfortable. The kitchen is a bit small...so best is to go for BBQ or to the restaurant ! The bedding / mattress is "soft" and the pillows are too bulky for those who are sensitive in this area.
John and Carolyn, the two Managers, have been both very helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leromdivad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thanks for your review. It is appreciated. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have just returned from a week in Port Douglas, staying at Saltwater Luxury Apartments. Our room and the whole complex was particularly clean and well appointed. Our two bedroom apartment had everything we needed and was very well appointed. Twice we made use of the BBQ ,which also was very clean and well maintained. The managers John and Carolyne were extremely informative, friendly and helpful and the restaurant below, Bel Cibo was excellent. We will certainly stay at Saltwater when we return to Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level two if you would like a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LambsofSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thanks for your great review. Hope to see you again soon at Saltwater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Another lovely holiday in FNQ, and second time to Saltwater. These apartments have everything you need for a pleasant stay. Very clean and well maintained. John and Carolyn are extremely helpful. Took elderly mother with me this time, she found the stairs from the side street entrance an easier alternative than from the Main Street. Secure car parking is also a bonus. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We travelled in May 2013 and chose this place based on tripadvisor recommendation. It certainly wasn't a disappointment. The place is very nice, clean with great, friendly service.
Very helpful staff when arriving, parking not an issue. Close to the shops and restaurants (just walk out the door).

Only negative was the people next door checking out at 6AM and being very loud. Walls are thin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thankls for the great review. Unfortunately people need to leave at all sorts of hours for the airport and some are not as considerate as others.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,629 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £147 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing