We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great apartments with everything you need for a holiday in Port Douglas. Close to shops, restaurants and beach. We have stayed there before and will definitely stay again. Secure car parking. Wifi internet for very cheap rate. Friendly, on site managers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kscatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to put a review in for Saltwater. It is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again at Saltwater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Saltwater Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently spent a week at the saltwater apartments and would highly recommend these to everyone. The location is situated perfectly on the main street and only a short stroll to the beach and marina.
John and Carolyn are very friendly and helpful, from booking a day trip out to the reef, sites to see and great restaurants.
very clean and modern rooms with great views along the main street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle_geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thanks for the great review and your recommendation of Saltwater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed here for just over a week in a 2 bedroom apartment. Saltwater apartments are in an excellent location on the main street of Port Douglas with very close proximity to stores, the beach, marina and fantastic restaurants. We found the facilities to be very good, it was a very clean apartment and the appliances were all modern and clean, also quite spacious too. The managers John and Carolyne were very pleasant and friendly to deal with and were very accommodating. A couple of things we found to be drawbacks - no curtains in the master bedroom so it would get very bright very early! Plus the windows were very high up next to the high ceiling so its not like you could buy some foil and black out the windows yourself. We also stayed in an apartment with an open bedroom and bathroom, but there is a separate bathroom and toilet as well. I also found that we could easily hear the comings and goings of next door, I think the walls must be quite thin as at the beginning I kept asking my husband to check that the door was locked as I thought someone else was in our apartment! And yes there is the matter of those stairs. We thought we would be able to manage them as we are reasonably young and fit, however we have a 7 month old baby requiring a pram and it got pretty tiresome having to lug the pram up 2 flights of stairs every day usually a couple of times a day at least as we tried to coordinate our activities with our baby's nap times. This also restricted our flexiblity a bit, if my husband was out I couldn't just take the baby for a walk as the stairs are impossible to manage with a pram and a baby if you are on your own. This would also make it quite difficult for people who have a walking impairment. Perhaps you may be able to request a lower apartment, though they did know we were coming with a baby as we had indicated this previously and asked for a high chair. I also noticed some mould on the ceiling fans and ceilings, not a huge deal but it did deter me from switching the fans on as I didn't want to spread mould spores, particularly with a young baby. Having said all this, I would still recommend this as a great place to stay, we would certainly stay here again in the future if the facilities continue to be maintained to a high standard, however will probably wait for when we have young children that can walk and manage stairs on their own.

Room Tip: If you have trouble managing stairs, see if you can request a room on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel_In_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thanks for your detailed review of Saltwater. Hopefully we will see you return in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently in a 2 bedroom apartment. Very clean, modern unit with high ceilings. Only negative for us from a design point was the "open concept" master bedroom bathroom area. Location was great and the on site owners/caretakers were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiandocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review for Saltwater. It is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had another 5 weeks of great R&R in this ideally located accommodation looked after by John & Carolyne. While we were here some new furniture arrived, which is very comfortable and has brightened the unit up to enhance the holiday atmosphere. The view from our balcony is forever changing and we enjoy our daily walks.

We plan to be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thanks for your great review.
It was great having you as a guest at Saltwater again and we look forward to your return next year.
We also consider the view from the top level apartments worth the stair climb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We found the apartment very nice and loved the location. Yes the stairs are a huge issue and very steep and a bit narrow on the tread, wheelchair access to top floor would have solved the problem or take a lower level with one flight instead of 3 plus the one up from the street. More concerned for the elderly to access with our ageing population we need to cater for all us baby boomers wanting to holiday in the beautiful Port. A lift and a garbage shoot would be a great investment!

We thought it very good value for money compared to $400 for some other rooms. Peppers is expensive so not sure where previous person was coming from! I would not be bothered doing the rounds of several rooms, too much packing. If you want to stay in a place like Port Douglas you must book ahead not expect to get a room at short notice.

We are in our 60s so would probably go for somewhere with a lift next time but a lot of places don't have them. If you are young and don't have kids under 3 this is a good option.

Room Tip: Top floors have views but 3 flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mittagong4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thanks for your review.
We are pleased you did enjoy your holiday despite the stairs being difficult for you.
Hopefully it hasn't deterred you from returning to Port Douglas in the future.
We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The low point of our trip. We stayed at 2 other places that were vastly better. The worst feature was lugging our pram up the 30 or 40 stairs every time we went back to the apartment. Nowhere downstairs to leave it. No lift. What a joke.

Otherwise this place is adequate but way below what you would expect for $300+ per night (for a 2 bed apartment). When I checked in I asked John the manager how long they had been open and he told me about 10 years "but we maintain the property to a very high standard and great news we just put new furniture in". Well that would have been great if the furniture didn't look like it had been bought from Fantastic Furniture or Super Amart. Very tacky. The 'luxury' tag is completely misleading and was a major disappointment.

And sure the location is great but most places in PD are only 5 mins from Macrossan st main strip.

The host John is a helpful nice guy but when that is the best thing to say about a place the conclusion is pretty obvious.

We stayed at Peppers (excellent) and Mai Tai (good). Our family stayed at Mandalay and for similar money had a far better room / experience.

No idea why they got so many good reviews. Most of our observations should be apparent to anyone that stays for 1 night.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thanks very much for your feedback.
The first thing we would like to point out is that when we received the reservation is was for 2 adults only. If we had been made aware that there was also children we would have endeavoured to place you in an apartment on the first floor.
We do have a number of guests staying at Saltwater that have children and prams. We are happy for the prams to be left in our reception area as we realise that some people are unable to manage the stairs easily.
We do have very positive feedback from guests so we are surprised that you were not happy with Saltwater but we understand that some peoples perceptions are different than others and we have to accept that.
It is a shame you didn't mention there was a problem when you were staying with us so that we could have helped in some way.
Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,556 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £149 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing