We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Accommodation was excellent and we cannot fault it. We were a family of 4 including 2 teenagers travelling around Australia for 5 weeks and it was the best place we stayed in. Owners, John and Carolyne were lovely and very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Our apartment overlooked the main street, Macrossan Street, which is a busy street and can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thanks for your great review. It's great to hear that you had a great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    94
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
180
113
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I booked this apartment after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and to say I and my family were disappointed is an understatement. These apartments are certainly not my idea of luxurious, having an open plan bedroom/bathroom does not come under that category as far as I am concerned. Our apartment did not get any sun and felt permanently damp, every day was bad hair day! The balcony was so narrow the two chairs only just fitted on it (sorry only two people can sit out at a time!). On the positive side very friendly managers and in the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thanks for your review. Thanks for letting us know about the apartment. It's better to be told so that we can address the problem.
Our website does have a floor plan and clearly shows the size of the balconies. Unfortunately we are unable to change these.
The Ultra and Penthouses have large balconies.
Hope you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raworth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We keep returning to Saltwater for our annual winter holiday, which really says it all. The location is perfect in the centre of Macrossan Street, within easy walking distance of all the local restaurants and other attractions such as Four Mile beach, the Sunday markets and the marina.
The managers, John and Carolyne, are always most helpful with advice and suggestions and the local knowledge such as where to get the freshest seafood or who to consider for various trips and then make the bookings for you.

Room Tip: Our favorite Unit is #9 and we never tire of the view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for another great review.

As always a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We know you had a great time at Saltwater this year and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived for our 5 night stay at 7.30pm to find that the booking agent had made an error and not booked our accommodation at Saltwater.

Port Douglas was virtually booked out including Saltwater Resort, but John & Carolyn were absolutely unbelievable!! Even though reception was closed and they were in the middle of having dinner, they stopped everything and spent several hours on the phone and internet to help us. They did not have to do this, it was amazing.

If it wasn't for John & Carolyn helping us secure suitable accomodation, we would have had to somehow get back to Cairns, where we didn't want to be and hope to find something open and available in the middle of the night.

Thank you again John & Caroline, we look forward to meeting and staying with you again very soon.

Room Tip: Amazing Location, has to be the best position in Port Douglas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for your great review. It was our pleasure to help you. We hope that you did enjoy your stay in Port Douglas. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Good location, nice pool area. Fire alarm and having management and fire dept walking through the apartment at 1am not fun. John (management) very helpful, kind and courteous...Carolyn (management), the opposite.
A holiday is what you make it and we love Port Douglas but we wouldn't book Saltwater again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TazzyCat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for your review.
Yes the fire alarm was activated through a fault in the system. I have to apologise if you thought I was not pleasant. I can't really think why you would think this.
We went out of our way to make the process as easy as possible but unfortunately the Queensland Government insists that the alarm is inspected by the Fire Service. I don't believe that I was rude at any time.
I was the one that did have to knock on your door and check that there was no fire in your apartment. This is something that has to be checked for safety reasons.
Once again my apologies.
Carolyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just spent 4 nights at Saltwater. John and Carolyne were great and the location of Saltwater was excellent. It was close to everything and the marina is a 5 minute walk away. However, we were in a 3 bedroom apartment and the layout was very poor. One of the bathrooms was the size of a small closet and the bathroom in the master bedroom was open to the room. While my wife and I have seen each other on the toilet many times, sometimes you just want some privacy. Also, the furniture was not that comfortable and the place didn't seem to be luxurious which is how it is marketed. In our opinion, the 3 bedroom was not worth the high price especially with additional costs for beach towels and internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Baron931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
What a shame you didn't enjoy your holiday at Saltwater. If you had a problem with the apartment we would have been more than happy to move you although we consider the apartments to be well appointed and spacious.
We understand the layout is not to your liking but there is a third private toilet area in the apartment for guests to use.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here as a group of friends, for a wedding. we had a large clean well appointed appartment with Kitchen and hot tub in the master bedroom, it was Ok value wise, especially as we booked it through Booking.com and got a discount. The view from the balcony was excellent, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. the place was on the whole pretty quiet, and every time we used the pool or poolside BBQ we had it mostly to ourselves. it has off street free parking and wifi at a small cost for the length of stay. The location is perfect just off the mainstreet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebekkavandenBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your great review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Saltwater.
May be you will be able to visit Port Douglas again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Property: Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Address: Pandanus Plaza 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing