We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience, service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We booked in at the Sea Temple after turning up at our first choice and being disappointed. We booked at the 11th hour on Booking.com and were pleasantly surprised at the quote of $199 AUD for that night. The wow factor started as soon as we arrived - a beautiful open-air lobby, huge exotic pool and gardens and really friendly front desk staff. Sometimes when we've booked last-minute special-rate rooms there seems to be a slight change in attitude of the staff at some hotels. Not so here. The room we were provided was a gorgeous studio with a huge spa bath, extremely clean and with very contemporary furnishings. We chose to stay an additional night and were graciously told by the lovely woman at reception that she'd call me right back regarding availability. In fact what she said was 'unfortunately we may have to move you to another room but I'll call you back with a solution.' What a great response: for someone to actually let you know that they're going to find a solution! She called back within 5 minutes and apologized that they would indeed have to move us...but as compensation she wanted to offer us an upgrade to a luxury 2-bed, 2-bath penthouse suite with private roof terrace that had its own jacuzzi, etc. at no extra charge. I can't tell you how blown away we were when we walked into this 'room' which was literally a luxury condo. Pristine, beautifully decorated with a fully equipped designer kitchen and not one but TWO beautiful terraces (a spiral staircase led up to the private upper deck with full jacuzzi, bbq, teak loungers and table for 6). All for $199. They even offered to move us from one room to another. Luxury accomodation are wonderful but what really makes a difference is service. These folks have it completely sussed and we'll look forward to returning - even at a much higher rate. Thank you to Laura Flanagan at reception for taking such good care of us. She made the experience exemplary.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms although those that had 'swim-up' a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelEspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We've stayed at the Sea Temple twice now, and love it, but I would be careful about staying there in the dry season (winter), as the pool is not heated and it was actually surprisingly cold in June, although the days were warm. Had a similar problem in Broome, although it wasn't quite so cold by midday there.

The rooms are lovely, well-equipped, and I would agree that a pool access room is best.

Maybe just heating the pool from June-August would be enough? A lot of places do that. Not needed for the other 9 months of the year up there! Maybe the locals enjoy the brief spell of cold water? But if you've come north for a few days of swimming and relaxing, the last thing you want to do is really "brace" yourself for a cold swim.

In all, a fabulous resort. Great day spa, too. Will stay again - just not in winter.

Room Tip: Pool access is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topssuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This review is little late coming as we stayed 4 nights in April 2011. Had a 2brm apartment with roof top spa - upgraded from a 1brm. It was very nicely furnished with everything you could need for an extended stay. Bathrooms & kitchen were very modern & large. Also had a big balcony with a great outdoor setting - as it rained a lot during our stay this was perfect.
The roof top spa area is huge with BBQ as well but the space is almost too big - ok for a large group but for couples I wouldn't place too much value on having this extra feature.
The pool is huge & we never found it to be too busy although we weren't staying during peak time. The beach is very close however it isn't great but this doesn't matter with the beautiful resort pool anyway.
It is a little out of town - having a hire car (which we did) is definitely a bonus & all the apartments have their own garage.
Ate at the resort once which was for dinner - this was really nice & the service good even though they had a big function on we didn't miss out. It's worth going into town for a big supermarket shop at the start & cooking for yourself in the apartments - especially breakfasts.
Visited the on site day spa once for a facial & massage which was expensive but really good. Also used the on-site gym a couple of times - quite small but everything you need.
All in all a great place to stay - we had a couple of small issues (phone stopped working, condensation on the tiled floor from the air-con) but both times we called staff & the problem was resolved within a hour.
I would definitely return & can also highly recommend a trip to Hartley's Croc Farm which is an easy drive from the resort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieGypsy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 for 6 nights.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment facing the golf course with a roof top spa.
The apartment was lovely, spotlessly clean and spacious. The balcony was a great size & the view over the golf course very relaxing. We were probably as far away from the pool as you can get (not so great) but a beautiful pool area although not enough chairs or area to lay or sit with people "reserving them with towels & then going away" we did wait 30 minutes each time and if people didn't return we removed their towels and took over the loungers (most people did this). A good bar at the pool if a little pricey.
We had breakfast in the restaraunt each day & the selection & quality of the food was great.
We only ate dinner at the resort once & while the service & food were good we found it pricey.
If you stay here you need a car to get around as nothing is within walking distance, but there is plenty to see and do in the area along with plenty of great restaraunts, cafes and pubs.
This was our 1st visit to the area and we found the resort beautiful and relaxing but just a little out of the way.

Room Tip: I would ask for a pool access room so that you don't have problems getting a lounger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My sister and i stayed at the Sea Temple, Port Douglas during a 2 night stay and it was one of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in!
The pool, the staff, the room, the cocktails were all fabulous!
We stayed in a room rather than an apartment however i would love to stay in an apartment when i go back (which i definately will) as they looked amazing and i love that you can swim out from your room straight into the pool!
Definately the place to go if you want a relaxing, chilled out break!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katharine_franks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at the Sea Temple over Christmas, the idea being to have a wonderful get away from it all holiday. We were not disappointed.

We stayed in a studio Spa room and were impressed with its size and the lovely spa bath, the room was also spotless and very modern in design.Our room was only a second from the wonderfully large swimming pool and pool bar and nothing was to much trouble for the member of staff who served us on Christmas eve ,bringing cocktails and iced water to us on our sunloungers, we did not have to move a muscle!.

The resturant was also lovely and the service just right. Overall we were very impressed. The hotel is out of town, which should be taken into consideration but we found the shuttle bus at $8 return very economical and regular, although if you are in a larger group you may want to consider hiring a vehicle. We will certainly be returning to The Sea Temple over the Christmas period again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzy1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at Sea Temple Port Douglas for 7 nights in early January. Our apartment (2 bdm Swimout Apartment) was privately owned and the booking was made through "Boutique Collection". Our apartment was lovely and had everything you needed including all cooking utensils and lots of extra things provided for you to use that are not normally supplied in resorts - we gather this is because of the unit being privately owned and through Boutique Collection. The pool is the best we have ever seen and is definitely a top rated pool. Lovely resort and the location of the resort wasnt a problem for us as we had a hire car. We were very impressed with the service Boutique Collection gave and especially Carolyn. We will definitely be returning to the resort and booking through Boutique Collection again. We would also recommend East Coast Car Rentals in Cairns for car hire as they give the best price and very good service.

Room Tip: Swimout Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear151005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,052 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,703 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £116 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing