We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience-3 Bedroom Pool Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Pullman Sea Temple for 10 nights from May 5th 2014. Our overall experience staying at this hotel was great, it is indeed as other reviews say an excellent choice for families. The day spa at the resort was lovely, as were the staff performing treatments. They were very welcoming and experienced, in all I visited the day spa 4 times during our stay it was a must! Check in was speedy and help offered to get to the room. We chose the 3 bedroom beachfront pool villa as we had our 20 month old with us and thought our own plunge pool would be a nice touch. There are 2 main reasons I wrote this review(have never written a review); Upon entering our villa, the first thing we noticed was something that should have absolutely been mentioned to us before we booked considering we had booked a cot-families with young children should beware-the 3 bedroom pool villas have a water feature on the left as you enter the villa. This is NOT blocked off at all and is a 2 foot drop and 30cm deep with water. We were quite horrified that this was not fenced/glassed but we took it upon ourselves to use chairs and a lounge to block it off. We spoke to reception about the issue and they did in fact 'drain' the pond. So if you have young children you should absolutely ask for this to be drained. The other extremely dangerous thing (more so than the pond) are the upstairs Master bedroom sliding windows. Downstairs all windows have locks top and bottom, they are simple little sliding locks that you can easily flick up or down there is no resistance. In the master there are no locks on the top, to my absolute horror my son flicked the bottom lock up and slid the window open as i sat on the bed. I raced over and grabbed him as he was headed straight out the window. It is a sheer drop from the second floor to the ground, there is a ledge halfway down but obviously a toddler would not make use of this. There is a guard rail that goes across the window but is in no way blocking a child from climbing straight out. I think due to the fact we were staying 10 nights and this happened around half way through, my child probably noticed little details watching us unlocking windows etc and he may not have noticed had we only stayed 3 or 4 nights. I made a point of letting the assistant manager know on check out and he said they would look into it so i am certainly hoping they do. We would choose a 2 bedroom ground floor room next visit purely to avoid the windows upstairs not being secure for children and the water feature. The only other negative comment i have was the food. We had joined advantage plus to make full use of the 50% off dining at the restaurant but were sadly disappointed as the food was only "just". We tried breakfast/lunch/dinner on several occasions and different days and tried ordering different meals but were forced to eat 90% of our meals in town. We are not by any means fussy eaters either. On a lighter note, the overall experience was certainly great. Staff are friendly, helpful and resort is truly lovely-as is in photos. We will certainly return however will be choosing a different room next time and will eat in town unless there is an overhaul in the food department! Perfect resort for families, there is a shuttle into town which is only about 6-7 minutes away but hiring a car makes it so much easier!

Room Tip: Have water feature drained prior to your arrival if you have small children and are in 3 bedroom poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your time with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and that you were happy with the service from our dedicated team.

We appreciate the comments you have shared in regards to the safety issues you experienced. Our Villas do adhere to safety standards, however we understand that this does not cover all situations that might arise, especially with young children. We will discuss the areas that you have raised and implement appropriate solutions.

We are disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with your dining experience in AQUA Restaurant. We hope that you will continue to use your Advantage Plus membership in other Accor properties to make use of the great discounts that you receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

For what was once a 5 star resort, things have changed and gone wayside at the Sea Temple.

Unclean apartments and grounds, only allows you to rest while looking at what could be done to fix it. The place just looked messy and worn. It still has a nice design about it and could be easily improved.

The gym had very few working pieces, the rest were just too old to function.

It still is in a good location with a walking path straight to the beach, where you can wander the boulevard, eat at some great restaurants or just enjoy the views.

Good if your looking for a kid friendly hotel, (we weren't :)

Room Tip: Plan your stay, there are a good things around the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for providing a review of your time at the Resort. We are disappointed to hear that you fell the standards of the Resort have lowered.

We appreciate the feedback that you have provided and will share your comments with our dedicated team to ensure improvements are made.

We hope that you'll return to the resort to allow us to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I spent 4 days in a beautifully presented and fitted out 2 bedroom apartment overlooking th lagoon pool with my wife & 20mth old son. The best thing for us was to be able to watch our little man tar in and out of the pool by himself as the pool is creatively designed to allow access for little ones. The pool bar was great and its worth getting a burger or hotdog at the lunchtime BBQ's. We spent the best part of the day relaxing in turn while our son played himself silly. The upstairs 2 level apartment featured a rooftop spa and private BBQ area too, which we enjoyed. A great place to relax - we are already planning our next getaway

Room Tip: There are some room on the ground floor that are swim in/swim out. The penthouse two level apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig02128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are so happy to hear that you left us relaxed. It's lovely that you were able to enjoy our facilities with your young son.

We look forward to your return to the resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved the location of the Sea Temple as it was walking distance to the beach and not too far out of town. Our room had all the amenities and plenty of room including a lovely balcony with relaxing furniture. Talking of furniture I thought the arrival hall (registration desk area) furniture looked quite shabby and in need of being replaced. One of the main reasons we booked the sea temple was to utilise the pool bar. Sadly this was closed on one night at 5pm without notice and had a limited lunch menu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at the resort.

We appreciate the feedback that you have provided on the furniture in our Lobby. We are pleased to advise that by the end of the year, this will all be brand new. We hope that you will return to the resort to see the improvements.

We apologise for the inconvenience of the Pool Bar closure. We make this decision during times of inclement weather and low guest use to ensure that we are utilising our staff in the best way possible for the resort. During these times, signage advises that cocktails and snacks are still able to be ordered via the housephone and we will deliver directly to your sunlounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent a week here with spouse and adult son. Rooms are great -- more like apartments, with full kitchens and dining rooms, washer & dryer, outdoor grills and decks, multiple bathrooms -- vacation as it ought to be done!

Hotel has a shuttle into town, for a fee. Lots of activities available. Not directly on beach, although beach is adjacent. No beach facilities related to the hotel.

Would stay here again -- even though it was busy, didn't feel crowded.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms open up right to the pool -- so you can access directly from room. these would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyisreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at the resort. We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here.

We look forward to your return to the resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Pullman sea temple spa resort. It's the 3rd time I've stayed there and I would go back again. Great pool, relaxed atmosphere and plenty to do. Great place for a short rejuvenating break. Spa treatments very good - take a bike up float as the pool is a beauty!

Room Tip: Rooms 128 or 130
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irnbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We love return guests! Thank you for sharing your review. We're so glad that feel rejuvenated after staying with us.

That's a great tip about the blow up item - you could spend all day floating around the 3000m2 lagoon-style pool.

We look forward to seeing you again for a fourth visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for 5 days in April, thought it was a fabulous spot to relax. Moreover the staff were very friendly and helpful, the studio was spacious and well equipped, the pool was amazing. Had a quick look at the Sheraton Resort and thought the sea temple far superior. Would go back in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at the Resort. It's lovely to hear that you preferred our property after comparing others in Port Douglas.

We love hearing how relaxed our guests are during their stay!

We look forward to welcoming you both back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,573 reviews
1.4 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,284 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £123 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing