We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort. Beautiful pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We recently spent a week at the Pullman and loved it! The weather wasn't great but we still managed to spend a lot of time in the pool with our toddler. The resort grounds are beautifully maintained and staff very helpful. We had a 2 bedroom penthouse which was ideal for us.

A couple of minor negatives....the pool bar didn't seem to have consistent opening hours. We never knew when they would choose to open/close. Also the front doors of the apartments are so loud when they close! We were woken up on several occasions by neighbours doors slamming. Soft close doors would be much better.

Overall a great resort and would definitely recommend, especially for families with young children.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Melbmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are delighted that you loved your week at the Resort.

We appreciate the feedback that you have provided on the opening hours of the Pool Bar and the noise from the closing doors. We will discuss these items with our Food & Beverage Team and Maintenance Team respectively.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Port Douglas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had stayed at the Sea Temple previously, this time we booked a 2 bedroom penthouse suite for five nights with Golf Views. The reason we requested golf views was the result of our last stay where we booked a beach villa based on the promoted beach aspect, but there was no beach views at all - you were just a bit closer to the beach than other locations in the resort, you walk a track to get to the beach. The same result was the case with golf views. You can not see the golf course from the accommodation and you can not see the beach from any of the accommodation. So don't expect views! However, the resort central area itself is beautiful with the pool as a central feature.

Rooms are a bit too dark and brown and in need of an update, they are however clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the two major areas that let down the resort apart from the lack of "views" was housekeeping and maintenance. We had to request our sheets changed on the beds on arrival and although the staff are incredibly helpful and race to resolve issues, you get a feeling that is what they do most of the time. There are so many "little things" that should just happen in five star, not requested - the BBQ igniter didn't work we had to ask someone to come and light it, toilet paper and tissues had to be requested after running out and the bed making also had to be requested on one room cleaning occasion. The daily cleaning was fast and minimal each day.

I think the most annoying was at breakfast the staff pushing the membership program, when they should pay more attention to customer orders. This was further compounded by the fact they failed to recognise we had platinum (top) membership already as we signed in each morning, this should have been already noted.

The Sea Temple is right next to the golf course and with rooms promoted as "golf views" you would think that there would be golf packages or some kind of relationship, there was not and it was cheaper to book and pay at the golf course than for the hotel staff to book and charge.

We booked two rooms through the Accor group and paid in advance, on settling the account we found the calculations were not correct for either room, the inclusions were not considered and the rate substantially different, inflating the account substantially, so check your account before handing over your credit card on check out.

Overall, we had a good experience and the staff were great, especially the male front desk staff, but there were a number of things missing that make this five star accommodation, a little less than five star.

Room Tip: Rooms don't have views of the beach or golf course, they have balcony's or outdoor area surr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put together your review of your stay here.

You are correct in that our Beachfront Apartments do not have a view of the beach as they are separated from the edge of the beach by mangroves. The apartments on the south side of the Resort are labelled as Golf View as they run alongside the golf course. The view from each apartment changes due to vegetation growth and the layout of the closest hole and each individual apartment. We apologise that you were not impressed with the view from your room.

We appreciate your feedback that you have provided on our Maintenance and Housekeeping Departments. We will share this with our team. Whilst we are happy to hear that your issues were resolved promptly, we will strive to eliminate the issues in the first place.

It is disappointing to read that you felt annoyed with the service from the breakfast staff in relation to our loyalty program. Indeed, you membership status does follow you through the Resort and we will endeavour to make this clearer in future.

We do have a great relationship with the Palmer Sea Reef Golf Course that is adjacent to the Resort and offer discounted rates and complimentary transfers to and from the clubhouse. We apologise that you weren't made aware of this and so you were unable to take advantage of this perk. Unfortunately we can't offer golf in an accommodation package as we don't own the golf course.

We are sincerely sorry for the mix up you encountered when settling your bill on departure. This is unacceptable and we will highlight this area for additional staff training in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention at the time and also in your follow up feedback.

We hope that you will return to the resort in the future to check out the improvement made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 49CarB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very nice room with individual garage too for the car. The room has comfortable spa and his and hers vanity in the bathroom. The pool area is very large and all around the resort, even with sandy beach area too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetsyPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

One of the nicest lagoon pools I've ever had the pleasure of swimming in. We stayed in a penthouse with a roof top terrace that was incredibly large... Fit a party of 30!! Which leads me to the hotel service... Second to none! The lovely restaurant chefs even cooked all the fish we caught in a charter earlier that day. The staff brought the food up with all the cutlery and even collected it afterwards... Incredible and rarely ever experienced in Australia!
The whole hotel experience made us never wanting to leave. Highly recommend anyone looking to stay and book in Port Douglas to choose The Sea Temple. Will most certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Choose a penthouse with a roof and spa... I promise you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Resort. We are happy to read that you enjoyed every bit of it.

We will pass on your lovely comments to our team especially to our Kitchen crew. What a great experience for you!

We look forward to seeing you back at the resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very impressed with our two bedroom apartment style room. Spa and BBQ on the rooftop and great decor, layout etc inside. That was really the only part of the Pullman we enjoyed.... Firstly, there is a children's pool with NO children in it because they were all running and screaming through the main pool. Not exactly relaxing and for the amount of money spent to stay here a little R&R would have been nice.... Secondly, at most 5 star resorts, the pool lunch/snacks/drinks menu is admirable... not the case here. One very bored looking girl manning a canteen in the middle of the pool who can "re-heat you a sandwich if you want" and pour you a slushy margarita out of one of those tacky cocktail machines you see in cheap pubs. No staff around the pool offering food or drinks or anything as usually experienced in other resorts. The gym was poor. One afternoon we endured hours of concrete cutting outside our room which smothered our room with fumes of petrol. Our neighbours constantly ordered room service and dumped their tray outside our door, attracting flies, and the trays were left sitting there for hours - one day I rang reception three times in the space of 6 hours to come and get it collected and it was finally collected at 8.30pm after I first called at 2.30. The real let down for us was the service and staff at the restaurant. The girls working there seemed inexperienced, uninterested and rather unprofessional. My husband ordered a Mai Tai and 15 mins later the waitress told us she couldn't make one because she didn't have any Amaretto (there is no amaretto in a Mai Tai) - we also ordered a brandy one night and not one of the staff knew what Brandy was. Every time we had a drink or a snack at the restaurant we felt unwelcome and would much rather spend our money at one of the fine dining restaurants in town. On a positive note, Anthony (the Assistant Manager) was an absolute professional and is a credit to this hotel. As much as we loved our room, I am not sure if we would stay here again mainly due to the hoards of screaming children around the pool and the ghastly service at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a comprehensive review of your time at the Resort. We are disappointed to read that you were not overly impressed with your stay.

We appreciate the feedback that you have provided on the poolside service and menu, the collection of room service trays and the bar service in AQUA Restaurant. We will share your comments with our Food & Beverage Team to ensure improvements are made. We agree that the items that you list are not acceptable for a relaxing holiday at any level.

We hope that you will choose to return to the resort in the future to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,062 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £120 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing