We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had an amazing 8 night stay at the Pullman Sea Temple in Port Douglas staying in a 2 bedroom apartment right next to the pool. It was spacious, well furnished with a ridiculously comfortable bed. It feels like we're sleeping on clouds! The weather wasn't the best and so we spent a good portion of our time just chilling and watching movies. The apartment is self contained so you can cook your own meals if you choose not to eat out, however be aware that you will need to bring your own cooking supplies as only tea, coffee and sugar are provided. There is also a dishwasher and washing machine with both laundry powder and dishwashing detergent provided so that was very handy.

Wanted to try the spa but they were fully booked on the day I wanted to get treatment. We also had our own allocated garage to park our hire car which gave an additional peace of mind.

The breakfast buffet is good if you have a big appetite but there is no rotation so could get a bit boring after a few days. You can also get your eggs cooked to order at no additional cost if you opt for the full buffet. Cost of the buffet is typical of what you would find in any high end resort ($32 per adult for a full buffet). The pool bar also does weekly cocktail specials and we got a couple of mango daiquiris for $12.50 each which were very enjoyable.

The only reason I didn't give a 5/5 was because dinner at the restaurant was a bit of a letdown. I opted for the degustation menu with matching wines while my partner chose to go with the ala carte menu. The wine was substantial and of a very good quality, however the dishes themselves were a bit of a hit and miss. The beef tartare, tiger prawns (both from degustation) and lamb cutlets (from ala carte) were both delicious, however the pork belly (from the ala carte menu) had a rubbery skin. The beef fillet, part of the degustation menu, had juices and oil running all over the plate and the potato was a tad salty. It wasn't a terrible meal but not exactly worth the money either.

I would definitely return to the resort to stay and choose to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FifiCiCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us. We love hearing that our guests had an amazing holiday.

We will pass on your comments to our team including to our Executive Chef in regards to your disappointment with the degustation meal you experienced. We hope that you will give AQUA Restaurant another chance to impress you with our menu.

We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful entrance and reception area and the pool simply amazing, but no way is this resort 5 star quality. Our room was completely run down fixtures falling off walls and mouldy ceilings and not the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. Wifi non existent lucky to have got 5 minutes for a whole week. Great location not too close to town and the shuttle bus was convenient although it was never on time.
Room service was great and the quality of the food was exceptional but I really wonder when this resort was last rated as it was not 5 star quality. We enjoyed our stay but for the price and the quality of the room it was very poor.
Day spa - amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that you were impressed with some aspects of the resort, however we are disappointed that you felt letdown by other areas of the property.

Thank you for providing feedback on the cleanliness and condition of your room. We will address your comments with our dedicated team to ensure improvements are made.

We would like to advise that we received our 5 star rating from AAA last year.

It's nice to see that you enjoyed your trip overall and hope that you will return to Port Douglas again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My family of four stayed for two nights in a two bedroom penthouse suite. It was absolutely fabulous! The room looked amazing, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We loved the outdoor balcony with the view of the pool and the rooftop spa was fabulous.
We spent most of the time in the wonderful lagoon style pool. There were inflatable rings and we had a great time piling on these, exploring the waterways and enjoying the beautiful gardens.
Both days we went to happy hour by the pool; while the boys swam we were able to enjoy a cocktail. It was very pleasant sitting under the umbrellas in such a beautiful location.
We ended up eating dinner at the hotel both nights - the only time we left the hotel was to go for a quick drive through Port Douglas and get some groceries. Once we got out and saw the lookout we decided to go back to the hotel and not waste anytime shopping. It would have been nice to have a BBQ on the terrace however.
I had the most delicious seafood pasta dish at the restaurant an the second night; I am still thinking about it! It was so yummy.
We had breakfast one day which was nice; however there were only two staff on the floor and they did look very busy.
It is an advantage having a car here as the hotel is quite far from the centre of town. It depends on what you plan to do while you visit. I went for a lovely walk on the beach one morning, it is very beautiful and tropical but I would be hesitant to swim in the un-patrolled part near the hotel as I am paranoid about salt water crocodiles.
We loved our stay and can't wait to visit again. I will definitely stay for longer next time. we hope to back very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidexplorer_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We love that you wanted to stay longer!

It sounds like your family made the best possible use of all of the Resort facilities.

We would be more than happy to book a Penthouse Apartment or Plunge Pool Apartment to give you access to a BBQ next time you stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit to Port Douglas (hopefully a longer stay).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Prior to booking, my husband and I were having trouble finding an affordable, but luxury hotel near the Great Barrier Reef (this was our first visit to Australia). All the hotels I had read about where upwards of $800 a night and/or didn't look that nice and/or you had to pay an exorbitant amount of money per person per way to take a private plane or boat to the hotel since many of them were on private islands. Our travel agent helped us find this hotel, which was in our price range that had a good reputation.

This hotel claimed to be " 5 stars luxury" but was not. I would say that its the nicest in Port Douglas, but it was more of a community/time share rather than a hotel. First of all, the layout is terrible. There is a pool in the middle of the property with all other buildings built around it. Each room surrounding the pool has a deck connected to the swim out section. Therefore, there isn't a walking path around the pool to get from one end of the hotel to another. If you wanted to walk from our room (which was supposed to overlook the golf course....but didn't) to the pool and pool bar, you went one way through the parking lot. If you wanted to then walk from there to the main lobby and restaurant, you had to go back out to the parking lot to walk around. Essentially the main walking paths through and around the hotel is the parking lot. As all the reviews mention, the pool was the nicest part of the hotel, but there definitely weren't enough lounge chairs around it for everyone. In addition, though the hotel is "on the beach", the beach was very empty with no lounge chairs and no swimming area in the ocean. Perhaps this is normal for this part of the country, but for someone not familiar with it, it was a shock. There was a lot of debris on the beach as well though that could have been from the cyclone that just hit the area. You definitely don't stay here for the beach.

Breakfast wasn't included in our room and cost us an additional $20 for continental or $30 for full buffet per person per day. Unless you knew ahead of time to bring your own food for breakfast, that was your only option and the food was not very good. The worst part of breakfast was the standard coffee that came with the price of the buffet - it was horrible! The only way to get a decent cup was to pay even more money for a coffee from the coffee bar (which was not included in the buffet cost).

And finally - the room. Since we were a couple vacationing without kids, we decided to stay in the penthouse apartments instead of the rooms with the swim-out deck. I was happy with this decision as most families stayed on the swim-out rooms and it tended to be noisy, whereas our room was very quiet. The room was modern, but cold and not kept as clean as it should be. At one point, the cleaning people even asked if i wanted the floors cleaned - what?! They should be cleaned every day in a full service hotel. There were also a ton of bugs. I realize we were in a tropical location, but I've stayed in many hotels in tropical locations that did not have so many bugs. However, the room was LARGE - a full kitchen, washer/dryer, living room, master bedroom and bath with tub and shower, 2nd bedroom and full bath, porch, and rooftop with lounge chairs, a bbq, and hot tub. The rooftop was barren though with no view and nothing "nice" except for the hot tub. This hotel is definitely more appropriate for families who may be interested in saving money since you are able to cook/BBQ in your room.

Another thing to mention is that if you signed up for their loyalty club (which i did), you received free wifi, which had a value of $75 for our stay ($25 per day) - which we of course took advantage of.

I do have positive things to say about the service in the hotel - everyone was so nice and friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, this hotel is incorrectly classified as a 5 star luxury hotel and i do not feel it is. Its likely closer to a 3.5 star. I fully admit I'm a hotel snob and I do think this hotel is right for some people - it just wasnt our idea of paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TravelerNYC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. We are disappointed that you feel our property is not up to standard for Resort Accommodation.

We hope that you find a more suitable Resort for your next stay in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

There's no question that the resort itself is beautiful, and the service is certainly adequate. But for a resort of this quality, there is no reason to charge extra for internet access in your room -- the marginal cost to the hotel would be minimal, and the customer satisfaction would certainly be higher. The outside rooms don't offer much in the way of a view, but the price is a bit less, so that's a tradeoff you can make for yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eclectic80498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us. Whilst we like to hear to you were impressed with the look of the resort we are sorry that you were disappointed with some areas. We appreciate the feedback that you have provided on the internet charges.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in Port Douglas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 486TJR
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our stay in a spa studio apartment was pretty average and not worth the extra dollars. The view from our ground floor unit was a sad garden with a stream of people passing by on the way to the pool. The pool is lovely and if you are lucky enough to have a view of the pool then I'm sure you would feel differently. Our room was very dark, even the bathroom did not have enough light to apply make-up. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom so it very quickly became a sauna. The damp, musty smell this caused in the room had been unsuccessfully attempted to cover up with a candle oil burner in the bathroom, which only made the situation worse. The beach is walking distance but not a good place to swim. The resort is a long way from the main shopping & restaurant area in Port Douglas, you'd be lost without a car. The wifi internet is ridiculously expensive. We would definitely not stay here again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KochiesFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us but do hope that you were impressed with Port Douglas and Tropical North Queensland during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
715 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,623 reviews
1.4 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £121 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing