We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort and breathtaking pool but choose rooms carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pullman Hotel in Port douglass. We were accomodated in an amazing 2 bedroom swim out apartment. This was great because we had access to kitchen and living facilities. The pool at this hotel is very new and spacious with room for many people to swim. There was a bar at the pool which served delicious food. The negatives of this Resort where as follows. We thought that our swim out meant that we would have sun all day on our lounges but as it turns out we were wrong. Our particular swim out only got sun for about 30 minutes from 10-10.30. Next time- we would request one of the other swim outs in the center of the pool as they got sun the whole day. Despite the fact that the food from the pool bar was good it was very slow and took atleast 40 minutes to come which was disappointing. This resort had a gym but for the size of the grounds it was very small with only 6 pieces of equipment and a small stretching area. Obviously, this resort is not in the town and the drive to the town center is an approximately 25 minute round trip. We would normally stay at Peppers Beach Club which is just a walk to the beach + town but the pool and grounds are not as big. Overall, we thought that the Pullman was an established resort with many friendly staff and with aesthetically and functionally pleasing grounds.

Room Tip: If you are booking a swimout and have young children then request a room at the back as the pool is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at the resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and loved our friendly staff.

We have 200 rooms at the resort spread around the property so each one receives different exposure to full sun throughout the day. We will always try our very best to accommodate requests of specific rooms in specific locations int he resort. Our Swimout Apartments are very popular so we are disappointed to see that you were not impressed with your location. We apologise that this impacted on your stay at the resort.

We appreciate the feedback that you have provided on our pool bar and our gym. We will share your comments with our team to ensure improvements are made in the speed of service. Should we look into expanding our gym we will take your comments into consideration.

We look forward to seeing you at the resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Good.
Sea Temple is a beautiful property. The main building is lovely, everything is clean and well kept and our Villa was lovely although we did have a few issues with the design layout which I will point out for the benefit of those with toddlers, babies or people with a disability below. The beds were extra comfy and the master bedroom was to die for. Our huge in room spa bath was big enough for the whole family. The view of the rainforest outside was so relaxing to look at from the bath. The staff were always helpful, certainly no complaints there. There was a barbeque in our villa which we used a number of times on our stay and was cleaned regularly by the specialist bbq cleaning guy! The location was about 10 minutes drive out of town, which wasn't a problem for us, however, if you were travelling without a car and wanted to head into town regularly, expect to have long taxi wait times or catch the complimentary mini bus that does the run of all the hotels on the way into town. We found the villa, overall, really good value for money.

The Bad.
There was a lovely water feature in the entrance to our villa, however, the design of it was certainly not done by someone with young children, clearly. It is a hazard and the gaps in the flooring at the entrance being about two and half inches wide are definitely dangerous for small feet or people that do not hold their balance well. As well as this danger, the water feature itself is made up of a fountain set in a small shallow pool of water, not so deep, but nevertheless a good drop down. We had to ensure our young disabled daughter was not on this level of the house at all times. Thankfully, there is a sunken lounge area off this level from where the kitchen is also situated where I was able to keep her as she could not climb the two steps up to get to the water feature. Entering the Villa was always done with caution however and did prove to be an inconvenience for us during our stay. The water feature was also very highly chlorinated and when it automatically came on at 10am everyday, we had to promptly open the windows to let out the overpowering fumes. This did help, however, then we had to deal with the mozzies! Oh, the mozzies! Pack you mozzie coils and heavy duty deet insect repellent!
One of the reasons we chose this resort was the option to have room service as well as prepare our own food however, the room service menu was disappointing. The food was of average room service standard, certainly nothing to write home about.
I have saved my biggest gripe for last! We did not swim once whilst at the Sea Temple for 7 days with every day being between 24-27 because the pool was literally freezing!!!! The only people in the pool were Poms! Not only was the main pool not heated, but our villa pool was even colder!! Seriously, this was ridiculous. Why a pool that clearly becomes freezing cold in winter during one of their peak seasons, isn't heated a little for the pleasure of the guests is beyond me! It totally put a dampener on our entire holiday. For this reason alone, we wont be returning to the Sea Temple.

Room Tip: If choosing a villa, request one which has a pool that get sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricija_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a very thorough review of your stay with us. We appreciate the detail you have gone too.

The Good - We are delighted that you loved the look and feel of your villa!

The Bad - we regret that you were anxious about the water feature in your villa and are more than happy to drain the water out of this for future guests. We like your tip about the mozzie repellent, we also provide this in our Boutique for those that may forget to bring it with them (there is also a chemist a few minutes down the road).

We understand you being upset about not being able to use our pools during your stay and take your feedback on board for any future improvements to the resort.

We hope that you will return to Port Douglas again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent a week at the resort and had the most relaxing time. Our room had the plunge pool which was nestled towards the back of the resort and huge bbq area. The kids loved it and would highly recommend for another stay. I like how the resort is away from the main part of Port Douglas making it more relaxing. The room was serviced daily and was well kept by the staff. They too were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melli04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We love to hear that our guests had a relaxing holiday at the Resort! Thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The resort looks great on arrival. Swimming pool is fantastic. Rooms are spacious though not new by any means. We were given accommodation towards the back of the resort. The room we booked which was a swim out to the main pool was more like a plunge pool area and we had to swim to the main pool area. Our swim out area only received minimal sun in the morning and none in the afternoon. Would recommend a room closer to the front of the resort. We were disappointed with our room location. There was a good variety of food served at the breakfast buffet and most of the staff were very helpful. Staff in general at the resort were very hot and cold. Some were nice and friendly, others made you feel like they were doing you a favour by being there! Our room was always done late afternoon so by the time we got back from being out for most of the day and wanted to relax, our room was still not done.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank RowD2192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay at the resort. We are disappointed that not all of your stay met with your expectations and we are very sorry for this. We are delighted, however that you were impressed with the pool.

We appreciate the feedback that you have provided on the customer service that you encountered and the housekeeping of your room. You comments will be shared with our teams to ensure improvements are made in these areas.

We look forward to your return to the resort to check out our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We visited for a weekend to attend a family wedding and celebrate my birthday. A fantastic location tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip and a short walk to the beach. The entrance was decorated for a wedding with luxurious flowing silk from the ceiling to floor as if it was a Arabian palace.
We had the penthouse apartment and my sisters family had the swim out pool room on the lower floor. We didn't get to use the full potential of roof top area but the swim out pool area was perfect for the children.
The service and staff were fantastic and it was the perfect luxury treat.

Room Tip: Select a room on the ground floor with swim out access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiegal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Congratulations on your friend's wedding and also Happy Birthday! Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us.

We hope that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended and will chose to come back to Port Douglas again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just stayed for 5 nights in a spa room in June and really loved the place. Here is a breakdown on what we saw and experienced;

Location: it is about 6kms to the main street of Port Douglas so this place is best enjoyed with your own transport (we had hired a car so it worked for us). There is a regular shuttle but we always drove into "town" to get our supplies, have a wander or go for dinner.

Overall ambience of the grounds: Amazing, just our tastes and true to the pictures we saw. Really nice landscaping, with a big pool that weaves its way around the complex. Nice colour scheme, very tropical looking. Yes the reception is at one end and if you want to go there you need to walk around the outside of the place but we never went. We simply phoned if we wanted to know something and they were really helpful.

Check-in - took about 20 mins as there was a queue at peak hour check in (3pm at this hotel with a later check out of 11am). But they also took lots of time with us and helped us with all our queries. Checkout was quick and easy as we left at 9am and there was no one else checking out then.

The room: This is a great sized hotel room, plenty of space and a very big bathroom and double spa bath. We requested a room that overlooked the pool and got one (265)...perfect location near the main pool area and pool bar but still very private. The bed was very nice, linens great and the fridge was a decent half sized fridge with only half of it used for the mini bar which gave us plenty of space for all our fruit, nibbles and drinks as well. The aircon was good and it had a fan. There was a big bench area and a couple of spare cupboards which we kept other supplies in and our picnic set that we bought with us. This enable us to do a semi self catering without any cooking facilities. Things like dips, prawns, salad and fruit for dinner one night on our balcony so we could have a few drinks and not worry about price or driving. The rooms are in blocks and we were Lagoon block F. I am not sure we would have enjoyed it if our room was in the outer blocks that overlooked the golf course(across a road). I have attached a map of the resort in the pictures so you can see what I mean about the layout.

Room Service: we ordered breakfast 3 of the 5 mornings and it was very good value and a large meal. A full English breakfast with the works was $25 inc gst and delivery and an omelette and hash browns was $19. One meal plus some tropical fruit salad from our fridge did us both.
I have also attached a pic of the room service menu. We got our food within 20-30mins each time and enjoyed breakfast on our balcony overlooking the pool.

The pool - slightly chilly at first but refreshing once you got into it. A great pool, deep in places and shallow in others. We loved swimming around the whole thing and chatting to people out on their balconies as we went past. There were bits of garden debris floating in it from time to time but it is surrounded by tropical gardens so that will happen and I simply picked them up and threw them back on the gardens.

Pool bar - seemed to be open from about 10am to 6pm. A bit expensive with a Heineken at $9 and a cocktail $18-$20. They also served pizzas and burgers etc which were a good price for lunch (pizza $20). We usually went back to our room a few steps away and had a drink on our balcony for a fraction of the price.

Overall we loved our visit to the Sea Temple and the spa room worked well for us (late 40s couple, no kids). I didn't miss having a kitchen, in fact it was great!

We would certainly look to return to this hotel and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pool - it has great ambiance. We liked 265.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HughesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Wow what a comprehensive review! We are impressed with your detail and also delighted that you loved your stay at the resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Also, thank you for your recommendation, we very much appreciate your support.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you know it's going to be a great experience. The lobby/entrance is spectacular and the view straight out to the pool which looks more like an oasis is devine.

The staff are friendly, efficient and happy to help.

I stayed in a one bedroom penthouse apartment which included a rooftop area with BBQ and Jacuzzi/Spa. The room was well maintained and the interior decoration spot on.

The Day Spa was very professional and the second massage I had was one of the best I have ever experienced around the world.

Restaurant was lovely, the menu slightly limited but I can understand that from a perspective of them wanting to nail every dish instead of offering a huge selection. Every meal I had was spot on.

All in all I would absolutely recommend this resort to anyone.

I had one challenge on the first evening with some bed sheets being a little damp, but the staff were around to fix it literally in minutes with a smile and offered me some vouchers for the bar as an apology.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank brendon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the understanding given to resolving your bedding issue and are delighted you enjoyed your stay overall.

We will share your comments with our dedicated team and especially with our Vie Spa!

We look forward to your next stay at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,052 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,703 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £116 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing