We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We were staying at another hotel in port douglas that was terrible and we decided to look elsewhere . When we approached the counter the assistant manager served us, he could have not been anymore helpful! You could say he saved our holiday in port douglas. The resort itself is good not excellent, but we would definitely go back. The only comment I would make us that the rooms could do with a little bit more maintenance, but it was nothing that was worth complaining about. We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa , as it was cold when we were there a spa outside would have been great !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lloydy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay in Port Douglas. We are so glad that we could save your holiday! We will take your suggestion about an outside spa in the Villas into consideration for future improvements around the resort.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay with great food and cocktails. .it has a lovely clean beach that ajoins the hotel resort. Staff are very helpful and friendly. .only issue is its school holidays and there are a lot of noisy kids around.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MarioTurcarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Congratulations on celebrating your anniversary. It's lovely that you chose our resort to help celebrate this special occasion.

We look forward to your next visit to the Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This could have been such a fantastic stay but it was such a let down instead which is a shame. I am a travel agent and have worked at 5 & 6 star properties around Australia and the rest of the world. We booked a deluxe king room with spa. It was horribly positioned and we overlooked a footpath and the gym entrance. I rang up reception on checking in and let them know we were not happy with the room. She told me that those particular rooms are usually for 1 night stays (which we were not) and although they are described as garden view rooms....they are not. Plus they were too busy to be able to move us. Our balcony got no sun at all and no privacy in the room. We had to close EVERY blind in the room just to be able to change. From there it was just downhill. They have this beautiful big spa bath in the room, but no bath salts (even the Pullman at Cairns has bath amenities). The bath towels were old and thredding. We asked if we could borrow a DVD player but they said our room type does not come with one and they didnt even try to source one for us. Housekeeping woke us up at 9am for servicing which we turned away. We we spoke to the Front desk once we were out of the room requesting service as we would be out for the next 3 hrs....we came back and hadnt been done and had to call the desk again. Messages were passed onto us in the room regarding our transfer times....by 3 different people all giving us different times (the 2nd was correct).
The facilities themselves was beautiful and the pool looks great in photos but is generally all taken up by the swim out apartments leaving only a very small area for other room types. We had to fight for a lounge chair and even then were packed like sardines.
Overall the whole experience left a sour taste in my mouth and I can safely say I will not be refering any further guests here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jgodsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are really disappointed to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will discuss this with our dedicated team.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Unfortunately we don't have "Deluxe King Rooms with Spa" or describe them with a specific views so it is difficult to ascertain which room you stayed in. However, we regret that you were unhappy with your location and the service you received whilst you stay with us.

We do hope that you you (and your clients) choose to return to Port Douglas in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed in Port Douglas at least a dozen times. We've stayed before we had kids, when our kids were babies, toddlers and now with one who is just a teenager. We've stayed at the Mirage (when it was amazing and more recently when we wished we hadn't), we've stayed at Peppers and Beaches and a whole lot of places in between. We are happy to pay high prices but expect value for money. Although I think that the Pullman is probably the best option in Port Douglas at the moment, they need to make sure they continue to invest in the property so that it doesn't go the way of the Mirage - and it happens so slowly that you don't realise it until it's too late.

We stayed in a two bedroom swim up apartment that was well located. On the downside, we only had sun for a couple of hours in the early part of the morning (which would be great if you had small children) but we probably would have preferred more sun. The apartment itself was spacious (much bigger than the equivalent at Peppers) and well appointed. It had 2 bathrooms and a very nice outdoor area that was also roomy with a big comfortable day bed. There were sun lounges on the edge of the swim up that were comfortable too.

We stayed for just over a week and didn't plan to do much cooking, other than breakfast. The kitchen was OK in terms of equipment, but I would have liked to have a non-stick fry pan and a few more larger bowls and platters for serving things. It also needed another chopping board, sharp knives and some plastic plates and bowls that could be used outside. Hotel take note!

The apartment was serviced daily but often very late in the day. The service was fine in terms of the beds being made and the apartment tidy (and the housekeeping staff were friendly and diligent), but there was a lot of dust up high and on the fly screens and light fittings that looked as though it had been there for a very long time. It's the kind of thing that you don't notice unless you look but when you do it's a sign of a slightly superficial approach (and a focus on the short term rather than long term). I suspect that the apartments get regular superficial cleaning and tidying so that they look fine at a glance but rarely get a serious scrub. The property is old enough now that it needs a serious scrub to make sure it is really clean as well as tidy on face value.

The staff at the resort are very friendly and obliging and I certainly felt welcome as a family (our children are now 10 and 13). We used the gym a couple of times and it was pretty disappointing. Given the size of the resort, we were surprised that the gym was so small. I would like to see it expanded with more equipment befitting a resort of this size. While we were there, one of the two treadmills was not working so there was only one available. The size of the gym is about the size of one small room, and it could easily be four times that size given the number of rooms and villas at the hotel).

I agree with another reviewer who commented that the room service menu was pretty disappointing and the food was just OK. I would say the same about the pool menu. We were by the pool every other day and the wait for lunch was very long. The queuing system was also flawed as there was often only one (maybe two) staff at the busy period so it took a while to get served and rarely in the order you arrived. We only had one meal in the restaurant (on the first night) and the remainder of our meals in the town as there are so many great restaurants to choose from. The food at the hotel restaurant was fine, but not a patch on some of the restaurants in town on a dollar for dollar basis.

We hired a car, which I think was a necessity given the distance the resort is from the town (about 8-10 minutes by car, depending on the time of day and the road works). If we had to wait for taxis or rely on the (slow) shuttle to town, we would have gone mad. The distance from town is one of the reasons we haven't stayed at the Pullman before. We have stuck with Peppers despite the smaller pool and less generously proportioned swim up apartments. The easy walk into town kept us there for a number of years.

We still had a great time at the Pullman and would probably still choose it over Peppers on our return to Port Douglas (which is inevitable). However, I just hope that they can use some of this feedback to ensure the resort doesn't go the way of the Mirage (which would be a real shame).

Room Tip: If you want sun for longer during the day, choose rooms numbered in the 40s (on the ground level). Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for sharing a review of your holiday with us. It's so great that you return to Port Douglas year after year and now with your family.

We appreciate the feedback that you have provided on the cleanliness and condition of the resort as well as your suggestions for equipment inclusions in the kitchen.

We will share your comments about the room service and pool menus with our Food & Beverage team to implement solutions to improve these areas.

We look forward to your return the Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently stayed (family of four) at one of the Villas. Very beautiful accommodation, excellent in-house facilities, and great breakfast buffet. Reasonably close to town, with shuttle service and all the major tours have shuttles to and from the Marina, etc. we took full advantage of the reef tour, gondola, and train through the rainforest. Gorgeous views, but a little overrun during the school break, as would be expected.
My only complaint would be the very cold main pool. We tried dipping our toes in our villa pool, but gave up immediately. Interesting to see similar complaints from other guests. Unless you're heartier than we are (and we're from Canada!), I can't recommend a swim here. Better off in the ocean. We also had a very bad experience with room service one night. Took an hour to arrive and food was of poor quality.
Aside from the pool and our one room service experience, we had a very nice stay and can still recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Smiley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at the resort. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your holiday to Port Douglas.

We appreciate your feedback on the temperature of our Pool. We are blessed with such lovely weather during our winter months however sometimes it isn't quite warm enough for a swim.

We are disappointed that you were let down with your room service experience. We apologise that this impacted on your stay with us.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pullman Hotel in Port douglass. We were accomodated in an amazing 2 bedroom swim out apartment. This was great because we had access to kitchen and living facilities. The pool at this hotel is very new and spacious with room for many people to swim. There was a bar at the pool which served delicious food. The negatives of this Resort where as follows. We thought that our swim out meant that we would have sun all day on our lounges but as it turns out we were wrong. Our particular swim out only got sun for about 30 minutes from 10-10.30. Next time- we would request one of the other swim outs in the center of the pool as they got sun the whole day. Despite the fact that the food from the pool bar was good it was very slow and took atleast 40 minutes to come which was disappointing. This resort had a gym but for the size of the grounds it was very small with only 6 pieces of equipment and a small stretching area. Obviously, this resort is not in the town and the drive to the town center is an approximately 25 minute round trip. We would normally stay at Peppers Beach Club which is just a walk to the beach + town but the pool and grounds are not as big. Overall, we thought that the Pullman was an established resort with many friendly staff and with aesthetically and functionally pleasing grounds.

Room Tip: If you are booking a swimout and have young children then request a room at the back as the pool is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at the resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and loved our friendly staff.

We have 200 rooms at the resort spread around the property so each one receives different exposure to full sun throughout the day. We will always try our very best to accommodate requests of specific rooms in specific locations int he resort. Our Swimout Apartments are very popular so we are disappointed to see that you were not impressed with your location. We apologise that this impacted on your stay at the resort.

We appreciate the feedback that you have provided on our pool bar and our gym. We will share your comments with our team to ensure improvements are made in the speed of service. Should we look into expanding our gym we will take your comments into consideration.

We look forward to seeing you at the resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Good.
Sea Temple is a beautiful property. The main building is lovely, everything is clean and well kept and our Villa was lovely although we did have a few issues with the design layout which I will point out for the benefit of those with toddlers, babies or people with a disability below. The beds were extra comfy and the master bedroom was to die for. Our huge in room spa bath was big enough for the whole family. The view of the rainforest outside was so relaxing to look at from the bath. The staff were always helpful, certainly no complaints there. There was a barbeque in our villa which we used a number of times on our stay and was cleaned regularly by the specialist bbq cleaning guy! The location was about 10 minutes drive out of town, which wasn't a problem for us, however, if you were travelling without a car and wanted to head into town regularly, expect to have long taxi wait times or catch the complimentary mini bus that does the run of all the hotels on the way into town. We found the villa, overall, really good value for money.

The Bad.
There was a lovely water feature in the entrance to our villa, however, the design of it was certainly not done by someone with young children, clearly. It is a hazard and the gaps in the flooring at the entrance being about two and half inches wide are definitely dangerous for small feet or people that do not hold their balance well. As well as this danger, the water feature itself is made up of a fountain set in a small shallow pool of water, not so deep, but nevertheless a good drop down. We had to ensure our young disabled daughter was not on this level of the house at all times. Thankfully, there is a sunken lounge area off this level from where the kitchen is also situated where I was able to keep her as she could not climb the two steps up to get to the water feature. Entering the Villa was always done with caution however and did prove to be an inconvenience for us during our stay. The water feature was also very highly chlorinated and when it automatically came on at 10am everyday, we had to promptly open the windows to let out the overpowering fumes. This did help, however, then we had to deal with the mozzies! Oh, the mozzies! Pack you mozzie coils and heavy duty deet insect repellent!
One of the reasons we chose this resort was the option to have room service as well as prepare our own food however, the room service menu was disappointing. The food was of average room service standard, certainly nothing to write home about.
I have saved my biggest gripe for last! We did not swim once whilst at the Sea Temple for 7 days with every day being between 24-27 because the pool was literally freezing!!!! The only people in the pool were Poms! Not only was the main pool not heated, but our villa pool was even colder!! Seriously, this was ridiculous. Why a pool that clearly becomes freezing cold in winter during one of their peak seasons, isn't heated a little for the pleasure of the guests is beyond me! It totally put a dampener on our entire holiday. For this reason alone, we wont be returning to the Sea Temple.

Room Tip: If choosing a villa, request one which has a pool that get sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricija_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a very thorough review of your stay with us. We appreciate the detail you have gone too.

The Good - We are delighted that you loved the look and feel of your villa!

The Bad - we regret that you were anxious about the water feature in your villa and are more than happy to drain the water out of this for future guests. We like your tip about the mozzie repellent, we also provide this in our Boutique for those that may forget to bring it with them (there is also a chemist a few minutes down the road).

We understand you being upset about not being able to use our pools during your stay and take your feedback on board for any future improvements to the resort.

We hope that you will return to Port Douglas again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,656 reviews
1.4 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,317 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £121 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing