We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Peppers Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was the second time we stayed at Peppers Port Douglas. We stayed here previously for our honeymoon and loved it so much we returned in November 2010. It was however disappointing. We paid for the best room, which was nice, spacious and well-equipped, however the disappointing things were:
- the restaurant was closed three nights out of the six we stayed there. Once was for a wedding, which we were advised of in advance. The restaurant, however, stayed closed for another two nights with no explanation and no advance notice. So we miscalculated our dining options and missed out on eating at our favourite restaurant. Very disappointing.
- Service was average. Peppers has some excellent staff, but also some pretty ordinary ones. There was also no concierge at all.
If I had paid less for an average room, I wouldn't be so disappointed, but I expected more for the price we paid. Needless to say, we cannot justify the increased cost for the same mediochre experience this year and will be going elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Shannon,
I am upset to hear that you did not receive the service you expected at our resort last November. It is hard to get good staff in a remote location but we have implemented a lot of changes with our staff and made sure we have kept the great team members (which you mentioned) and always provide them with customer service training. We are sorry that you did not feel you got what you paid for and we would like the opportunity to make it up to you the next time you are coming to Port Douglas so please contact me directly on 07 4087 1000 as we would like to show you the true spirit of Peppers hospitality.
Kind Regards,
Jennifer Isaac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,410 - 1,416 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid-June, which concluded our 8 week trip to both New Zealand & Australia. During our trip we stayed at a few different Peppers hotels, as we seemed to really enjoy them. However, I was a little bit disappointed in this Peppers hotel because for the amount that we paid for our room, we didn't really get much. We stayed in one of the Spa Suites that overlooked the pool and the room was TINY! It only contained a bed, and a small washroom, squeezed into a very small space. The spa out on the balcony was fabulous though. We were also given the Eco Rate, which meant that our room wasn't cleaned once during our stay. It would have been nice to at least get clean towels one day, but upon speaking to reception we would have had to have paid for them. Our rate included breakfast every morning which was just ok, again, I thought it was a bit expensive for what was offered. For the same price that we paid for this room, at the other Peppers hotels that we stayed at we were given full-sized apartments with everyday maid service, so perhaps we came here expecting a bit more.

Don't get me wrong though, the hotel property is gorgeous and the staff very friendly. The pool is beautiful and very nice to relax around. In June while we were visiting, the sun only shone on a few spots around the pool most of the day, so if you wanted to lie in the sun, it was best to get up early and secure a spot.

We had a rental car and the hotel has underground parking, however, to drive down there you have to drive down a very steep ramp. This wan't a problem driving in as you can go in very slowly, but when you're leaving you have to get enough speed to get your car up the steep driveway, which almost always results in you bottoming out the car! Quite frustrating.

The hotel is within walking distance of the main shops and restaurants in town, which is great. We loved Port Douglas and spent most of our time there on 4 mile beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgarianTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our resort on Trip Advisor and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Port Douglas.
Our Spa Suites are a good room for those staying for a short getaway whereas our One Bedroom Suites are whole apartments perfect for longer holidays. We have introduced an Eco rate which provides our guests a reduction on the cost of their room as we do not provide a daily service but give one complimentary mid-stay service if staying for 7 or more days. This is a great option for guests that care about the environment and don’t see the need for a daily service of their room and they are rewarded with a cheaper rate. We of course offer a full service rate that includes a daily service and replacement of linens and amenities for those that would like our special Peppers touches. I am glad you loved our staff, spa bath, pool and location (we are so close to town that a car isn’t really required). The next time you are holidaying in Port Douglas, we would love to have you stay with us again and you might prefer to upgrade to a spacious One Bedroom Suite so call us directly on 07 4087 1000 for a great deal.
Kind Regards,
Jennifer Isaac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I just wanted to say a huge thanks to everyone (especially Tamzin, Anthony, Dylan and Hannah) at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas for making my recent stay so enjoyable! I had a great time and could not fault anything about the resort, location or service. I wish I could still be there enjoying the beautiful weather but unfortunately I had to return to chilly Melbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frangipani013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Guest, We really appreciate the great comments you have provided us and I will make sure the Peppers Beach Club team receives this praise. The weather is stunning at the moment and I am glad you could take a little memory of the sunshine back home with you to Melbourne. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future so please contact us directly so we can look after you again.
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Isaac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I just came back from 4 nights at Peppers Beach Club, as a short break from the Sydney winter. This was our 4th trip to FNQ and I had some concerns about the resort due to other reviews (room size, noise etc), however we really enjoyed it.
We had a 3rd floor spa room overlooking the pool (ECO rate - no service), which was well presented and had enough room for us. I booked very last minute on wotif, so was suprised that we got such a great room at a very reasonable rate.
Service from all staff (reception, porter, restaurant, spa) was excellent. Location was perfect. Pool was lovely, and we thought the continental breakfast was great (especially the honey straight from the honeycomb!). There was a bit of noise from the pool (and the stairwells), but we were happy to see young families having fun (we are a couple in our 30's).
The ladies at the spa were very professional, and we really enjoyed our treatments - our first "vichy experience" (the "sapphire sea wrap" and "especially for him").
We ate at Zinc and Bistro3, and the food at both was fabulous (we were told by a local that Salsa's is also very good). The Sunday markets were a highlight.
We had a late flight on our last day and we weren't able to have a late checkout (which I was told was an additional $20/hr) - however, we were able to use the pool and showers at Peppers. We arranged transfers through Krystal Transport ($60pp return - straight from the aiport to PD).
We would definitely consider staying at Peppers again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving such great comments about your stay at Peppers Beach Club. I am glad that the odd negative reviews did not discourage you from staying with us and that you did have a wonderful holiday in Port Douglas. As we know, not everything can be perfect but I am pleased to hear when people take these negative comments with a grain of salt as the team at the property do our best to rectify any issues that may arise if we are informed there is a problem. You have provided some great information about Port Douglas on your post and we are so pleased that our resort and service stood out as being the best in Port Douglas. We look forward to welcoming you back to Port Douglas in the future as this great town has obviously found a special place in your heart.
Yours Sincerely,
Jennifer Isaac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Make sure you request a pool view. First room I was given had an awful view of a timber fence and the caravan park next door. Luckily I was moved to a beautiful room on the third floor over looking the pool (same room type and price) without a fuss. The resort has roads on three sides and caravan park on the other. The location is great for beach and restaurants/ shopping area.
Continental breakfast was included in my rate but it was very ordinary and I don't think it is worth the $18 they charge. I did not eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speckles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Speckles,
Thank you for leaving your comments about your stay at Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas.
Not all of our rooms face the pool and some people prefer these rooms for the extra privacy they provide but I am glad that we were able to find a room that suited your requirements without any fuss. It is a shame that you did not enjoy your breakfasts at the resort as many other guests leave comment that they love our breakfasts and the other meals served in the restaurant. If you do come to stay with us again, please let us know if we could offer something in particular at the restaurant for you so you get the chance to indulge in the true Peppers experience.
Kind Regards,
Jennifer Isaac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel in May during unseasonably bad weather however it was still lovely. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, though there was only the two of us, on the top floor. Suites/Apartments are really great and perfect for a family stay as there is a kitchen and laundry. This hotel is within walking distance of the restaurants in Port Douglas whilst not being so close that any noise would bother you. My only warning would be to couples as this is definitely set up for families and the noise of the little ones playing around the beach pool is clearly audible in all rooms I think from quite early in the morning. There is an amazing lady on reception, Maura I think, who was not only entertaining but extremely informative.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stockers52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us even if there was a little bad weather outside.
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas had everything you would need for a great stay and our close location to town and to the beach makes us ideal. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and I am glad to hear that our receptionist Tamzin was not only informative but also entertaining.
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Isaac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed a week here and enjoyed the establishment. Facilities ae first class, geat gardens and teh pool is large and a greqt spot to read a book.
About 200 met from teh main street which is full of good restuarants.
Wether travelling with teh family or as a couple this is agood place to stay.

You do need to be aware that in this tropical paradise the trees gow fast and some trees would apear to be rther dark.

Recomended place

Room Tip: be careful not to get the south facing units which look over an unsightly caravan park. Request poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuatara007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifergm, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such great comments about our resort.
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas recently won Resort of the Year out of the entire Mantra Group properties in Australia and New Zealand.
This was awarded to us due to the many great features and service provided at the resort and some of which you have mentioned in your comments.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us these comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jennifer Isaac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,285 reviews
7.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club

Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £146 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks, and feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV and CD player. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. Sublime Bar & Grill is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm *Restaurant is closed on Sunday and Tuesday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing