We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo relaxing.”
Review of Peppers Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The pool is stunning, staff fantastic, day spa amazing. Couples treatment in day spa was superb, a must do. A very relaxing few days. Noisy children were not too bad, might be otherwise in peak season.

Room Tip: The room with the pool & private deck at your doorstep is the bomb! Otherwise the spa rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Kim D,

Just a quick note to say thank you for the great feedback and taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with us.

We would have to agree that the rooms with the private decks are the bomb!

Remember to contact our onsite reservations directly on your next visit – 07 4087 1000 or via email portdouglas@peppers.com.au so that we can look after you as a return guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Attractive, well kept facade & gorgeous tropical gardens. Fantastic central location, walk to beach, shops, restaurants, bars & marina. We had a comfortable well appointed Spa room overlooking the pool with lots of storage but he balcony furniture was very tired and the room would benefit from a thorough clean.
All rooms overlook an enormous, attractive beach style pool.The resort is "Family Friendly" creating a very noisy environment with little to no means of escaping the continual noise coming from the pool throughout the day. The resort does not have a common lounge area to relax in but it does have a fabulous Day Spa. Definately not recommended for couples wanting a quiet holiday.
The hotel has one small poolside restaurant & bar with friendly but poor service from blow in staff who lack knowledge. Food menu was very limited & lacked imagination.
Very poor standard of Housekeeping from start to finish. The room was refreshed each day but the did not have a full clean in the week we were there, even after asking on day 6. Floors occasionally swept & surfaces not wiped down at all. Previous guests makeup left on the bathroom mirror & lots of black hair left on bathroom floor & shower. Rubbish bags left on floor & dirty towels left on our bed by housekeeping on several occasions.
A wedding poolside on our first day went for 8 hours making it a very noisy start to our holiday.
Not at all what we expected from a Peppers Resort.

Room Tip: 95% of rooms overlook the huge pool so few rooms would be quite during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Mrs. H,

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with us and you kind words regarding the resort grounds and well-appointed rooms.

Cathy and her team at Exclusive spas are terrific and we are lucky to them here at the property – We are constantly receiving fantastic feedback from our guests’.

You are correct in stating that we are family friendly – I would invite people to contact the resort direct so that our onsite reservations can give you the information required with best dates to stay etc.

I was shocked to read you’re your comments regarding our housekeeping standards; this is completely not to our usual standard.

Mrs. H, my apologies for the shortfalls in service that you received during your recent visit. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns personally so that I can learn more details of your stay.

Please feel free contact the resort direct on 07 4087 1000 or my email is undersigned.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
jeremy.nordkamp@peppers .com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent a week at Peppers in October and had a fantastic stay. The resort perfectly located for easy access to the town and the beach. The staff were all friendly and made us feel welcome, especially the team on reception. The only slight negative was the room itself, we had a spa suite over looking the pool the facilities were all adequate but not luxury. The continental breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The pool is fantastic and we had no problems with noisy children.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Andre H,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback about your recent stay with us,

I was chuffed to read how friendly and welcoming our team were. I cannot wait to share your post with the entire team especially the front office team. I am very lucky to have an amazing team here at the resort.

Andre, I would welcome the chance to talk to you personally regarding your stay, in particular your comment ‘Not Luxury’ as I would like your feedback on what we can do to change this.

Please feel free to contact me on 07 4087 1000 or via email jeremy.nordkamp@peppers.com.au.
Remember to contact our onsite reservations directly on your next visit – 07 4087 1000 or via email portdouglas@peppers.com.au so that we can look after you as a return guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Warning if you check out after 11 the strict unfriendly staff charge $20 per hour extra, even when the hotel occupancy is low. Hilton does not charge like this and has much better service. My recommendation is that you Go there! :) Peppers is good for old people who don't like elevators .

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank u t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Janejanegjane,

Thank you for talking the time to share your recent experience.

As advertised our check in time is 2:00pm and our check out time is 10:00am – All of our Club.CuSoon members receive a complimentary late checkout of 1100am at most Breakfree, Mantra and Peppers hotels and resorts. Our team will take late checkout and early check in requests though we cannot always guarantee these requests.

I would also like to take this opportunity to advise that the resort has two lifts, they do not service all rooms, though guests are encouraged to contact us direct to discuss their room requests.

Janejanegjane, my apologies that we have not met your expectations; I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you personally regarding your stay – If you would like to contact me at the resort on 07 4087 1000 or my email is undersigned.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
jeremy.nordkamp@peppers .com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend with my partner. From check-in to check-out, the 5 night stay was seamless.

Hotel itself is perfectly located within walking distance to town and the beach. Other luxury hotels in the Port are a much further distance out and mean you need either a car or to catch the bus service every day. The Beach Club is in an ideal spot.

We booked a Lagoon Room with our own private deck into the swimming pool. Again, perfect. It meant you were out of you apartment and in the pool within 2 seconds....and your private deck means you don't need to worry about sun loungers being snapped up by other guests.

Breakfast was included but only Continental. Very nice....but just yogurts, cereals, fruit and toast. Would have been nice to see some cheeses and continental meats. You can pay for a hot breakfast...but we didn't. The hotel General Manager even made himself available at every breakfast time and talked to all the guests....a great gesture which you don't see much in other places.

Staff....all amazing.

Pool...amazing.


I would highly recommend to anyone...especially if you are looking for a great quality, clean, quiet break.

Room Tip: Go for the Lagoon room....it's worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickieWynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed here with my partner, we are both 25. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The room was very clean with good sized bathroom. The bedroom was a little small but most of our time was spent outside. The pool was spectacular as was having a bar next to it. You were able to order drinks from the bar, and they would be bought out to you in the pool.

Breakfast was a little basic compared to other places, but the food was a higher quality.

Other comments have complained about kids in the pool, however we thought this made the place better. Having children and families around lightens the place up so we it didnt bother us. Only problem with the pool was the lack of lounges but they wouldn't be able to fit anymore in. The spa on the balcony was excellent and the palm trees provide good privacy.

At night time the paths around the place are lighted by torches with looked awesome.

Overall this one of the best places i have stayed, however the price did match the quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room or you might end up facing the road. Pool access rooms let you have your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our first time in PD but not our last...love love love this place. Peppers is an awesome place to stay, 300m approx to the main street (maccrossan street) and about the same to the beach.

Unfortunately we leave Thursday 31/10/13 :-( but my wife and I want to share our 10 nights experience to help you book your trip.

We had 5 nights in a 1 bedroom suite (second floor) excellent room, big, self contained facilities (didn't use them much) pool view with the best balcony BBQ which we used several times for lunch.

The last half of our stay was spent in a lagoon deluxe pontoon room (direct pool access) love love loved it! Same room essentially as the first but with our own deck, banana lounges and pool access. Yes as per a previous review this deck area was often shaded (palm trees/position) but when we wanted sun (and the wife and I love sunbaking) we used common area lounges, the man made beach or the best method was to use one of the blow up lilos and float around the very large and awesome pool. The best thing was when too much sun was had we could retire to our own lounges, read, sleep and have direct access to our room for refreshments etc.

Staff excellent, Pool excellent, accomodation excellent, location excellent.

We plan to come back next October with friends to celebrate the wife's 40th so we checked out a lot of other resorts during this stay! Peppers beach club is where we will be next year without question!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim191072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,304 reviews
7.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club

Address: 20-22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £126 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks, and feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV and CD player. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. Sublime Bar & Grill is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm *Restaurant is closed on Sunday and Tuesday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing