We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Newport on Macrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay in a perfect location”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed for nearly a week in Port Douglas for a family occasion. The Newport was perfect for the 4 of us. Located in the middle of Macrossan Street makes it easy to walk to everything and Coles is located across the road. The free wi fi was a great bonus. The unit itself was quite comfortable but looking tired and needs a refurb, however it was good value for money. Would definitely stay again. Thanks Patrick for a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viaggio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    63
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
30
131
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

After our positive experience last year we didn't bother looking anywhere else. Patrick remembered us from last time and gave us a good rate. We found the beds and pillows the most comfortable of any place we have ever stayed, the kitchen well equipped, the pool clean and of course the location is close to everything. Parking is included if like us you have a hire car. A really nice friendly environment to stay in. Port Douglas is pretty competitive when it comes to accommodation, but we would always try this place first based on the 2 very comfortable stays we have enjoyed here..

Room Tip: Make sure you mention if stairs are a problem so that you can be accommodated on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelinspector08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed for almost a week at the Newport on Macrossan and it was a brilliant find. The unit had a well-equipped kitchen, dining area and living room with TV. The bedroom was on the small side but the beds were excellent. It was low key and relaxing in a great location, making a car unnecessary. Grocery store across the street had lots of quick fix meal options and it was perfect after a long day snorkelling to be able to have an inexpensive and relaxing meal "at home". Guest laundry was useful and the manager very personable and helpful. Pleasant pool in courtyard and barbecue available for guests.Highly recommend this for travellers who appreciate value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Wow. What a lovely cared for place. we were supposed to stay at a place near by rated very highly about 15 minutes away but found it not near as cheerful. So forth without naming names this price is so negligible. In my opinion they should charge double. I paid next to nothing compared to anywhere else in Australia and the feeling was like a lovely spa. You will see the beautiful town, owners, and a lovely mountain mist. If you can afford to get here please go. The managers (owners??) are amazing. So embarrassed at the age of 32 when my mum locked us out while using the BBQ at 9 pm Australian I thought we had had it. But here comes the night manager looking gorgeous in her sarong at this hour. So helpful. So peaceful. Was such a lovely place I almost wish our whole short visit would have been here. We had 6 days- spent two nights here loved them both. It's a place to be reckoned with with the facilities, cleanliness and staff. Check it out. It's amazing. We have short vacations or holidays but 36 priceless hours were spent here and I would have spent more. Loved these folks. Big hello and thank you to the night manager, party melt (they made me sorry mate) and to S & A -- love from the US - doubt we will ever make it back. But if we do we will book with you hands down. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okthislovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

What a lovely place, clean bright modern with a lovely pool.
We even had a jacuzzi bath which was fab.
The two managers were just lovely, so friendly and helpful.
We were surrounded by lovely shops and restaurants with the supermarket just accross the road.
The marina was 5 minutes walk with lovely boat trips.
Oh wish i was back there now!

Room Tip: the room we had was 217 overlooking the pool with views over the mountains, just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livvys4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed here in one bedroom. Absolutely loved it. Clean as a whistle and the staff are the friendliest and most helpful you will ever find!
Nice heated pool, lilos to relax on and the cleanest barbeque you will ever find. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrightBea22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at the Newport and will most defiantly stay there again!! It is located in the main street of port douglas right across the road from a supermarket and fantastic qld pubs and restaurants. The complex does have a few units but not more than about 20 so it is very private and secluded. We felt like we could have been anywhere in the world yet when we walked outside we were where all the action was in town. Walking distance to most things. The staff especially Patrick were so friendly and accomidating. We really couldnt fault anything apart from not being able to stay there longer! cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicci_shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 43 in Port Douglas
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#36 of 43 in Port Douglas
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#18 of 55 in Port Douglas
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#4 of 55 in Port Douglas
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#5 of 55 in Port Douglas
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newport on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newport on Macrossan

Property: The Newport on Macrossan
Address: 16 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Newport on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport on Macrossan is a centrally located and family run 4 star holiday accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. With a solar heated saltwater swimming pool, 3 free in-house movie channels playing latest releases, free secure under cover parking, wireless broad band available in every room. We are genuinely committed to providing clean, contemporary, competitively priced apartments and hotel style rooms that will make you want to stay with us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Newport on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newport On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing