We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Newport on Macrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome location”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

we stayed in newport for 4 days. the owners were kind enough to make special arrangements so we we could get our rooms earlier than then check-in timings which was really thoughful! the location was fantastic with the supermarket just across the road. the rooms and toilets were clean and the bathroom came with a jacuzzi. the owners were also kind enough to check out later on a sunday so that we could check out the sunday market! will definitely come back to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiawei t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    61
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
129
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Spent three great days at the Newport and would certainly return. Fantastically well situated in the heart of Macrossan Street. Four Mile beach one end, Marina the other and shops, galleries, cafes, bars and a supermarket all within walking distance. The staff were really helpful and friendly. We parked our car and didn't need to use it while we were there. We had a studio room which was small but had a terrace, spa bath and fridge. It was very clean and comfortable. The pool was lovely and sunny and we spent the end of the day there relaxing. There is also a BBQ nearby if you wanted to use it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed for nearly a week in Port Douglas for a family occasion. The Newport was perfect for the 4 of us. Located in the middle of Macrossan Street makes it easy to walk to everything and Coles is located across the road. The free wi fi was a great bonus. The unit itself was quite comfortable but looking tired and needs a refurb, however it was good value for money. Would definitely stay again. Thanks Patrick for a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viaggio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

After our positive experience last year we didn't bother looking anywhere else. Patrick remembered us from last time and gave us a good rate. We found the beds and pillows the most comfortable of any place we have ever stayed, the kitchen well equipped, the pool clean and of course the location is close to everything. Parking is included if like us you have a hire car. A really nice friendly environment to stay in. Port Douglas is pretty competitive when it comes to accommodation, but we would always try this place first based on the 2 very comfortable stays we have enjoyed here..

Room Tip: Make sure you mention if stairs are a problem so that you can be accommodated on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelinspector08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed for almost a week at the Newport on Macrossan and it was a brilliant find. The unit had a well-equipped kitchen, dining area and living room with TV. The bedroom was on the small side but the beds were excellent. It was low key and relaxing in a great location, making a car unnecessary. Grocery store across the street had lots of quick fix meal options and it was perfect after a long day snorkelling to be able to have an inexpensive and relaxing meal "at home". Guest laundry was useful and the manager very personable and helpful. Pleasant pool in courtyard and barbecue available for guests.Highly recommend this for travellers who appreciate value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Wow. What a lovely cared for place. we were supposed to stay at a place near by rated very highly about 15 minutes away but found it not near as cheerful. So forth without naming names this price is so negligible. In my opinion they should charge double. I paid next to nothing compared to anywhere else in Australia and the feeling was like a lovely spa. You will see the beautiful town, owners, and a lovely mountain mist. If you can afford to get here please go. The managers (owners??) are amazing. So embarrassed at the age of 32 when my mum locked us out while using the BBQ at 9 pm Australian I thought we had had it. But here comes the night manager looking gorgeous in her sarong at this hour. So helpful. So peaceful. Was such a lovely place I almost wish our whole short visit would have been here. We had 6 days- spent two nights here loved them both. It's a place to be reckoned with with the facilities, cleanliness and staff. Check it out. It's amazing. We have short vacations or holidays but 36 priceless hours were spent here and I would have spent more. Loved these folks. Big hello and thank you to the night manager, party melt (they made me sorry mate) and to S & A -- love from the US - doubt we will ever make it back. But if we do we will book with you hands down. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okthislovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

What a lovely place, clean bright modern with a lovely pool.
We even had a jacuzzi bath which was fab.
The two managers were just lovely, so friendly and helpful.
We were surrounded by lovely shops and restaurants with the supermarket just accross the road.
The marina was 5 minutes walk with lovely boat trips.
Oh wish i was back there now!

Room Tip: the room we had was 217 overlooking the pool with views over the mountains, just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livvys4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#31 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newport on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newport on Macrossan

Property: The Newport on Macrossan
Address: 16 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Newport on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport on Macrossan is a centrally located and family run 4 star holiday accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. With a solar heated saltwater swimming pool, 3 free in-house movie channels playing latest releases, free secure under cover parking, wireless broad band available in every room. We are genuinely committed to providing clean, contemporary, competitively priced apartments and hotel style rooms that will make you want to stay with us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Newport on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newport On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing