We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Newport on Macrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We absolutely loved The Newport. The location is perfect- everything within walking distance. The staff are so helpful and knowledgeable they were able to book our airport transfers and all our tours. The room is more then big enough with a beautiful outdoor seating area and full kitchen so we could cook breakfast for ourselves a few times. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights. We had booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 6 nights and a studio for the other two due to lack of availability, but the lovely owners were able to shift things around so we only had to stay in the studio for 1 night. Both the studio and 1 bedroom apartment made excellent use of space and were well equipped. The studio had the bonus of a spa in the bathroom but we had direct pool access from the 1 bedroom apartment. Free wifi was greatly appreciated too.

The location is perfect, right in the centre of Macrossan street opposite Coles and some fabulous restaurants. It's a very short leisurely stroll to 4 mile beach. Given the amount the other places closer to the beach were charging, we're glad we didn't waste our money there. This was perfectly suited to our needs and so well priced even during peak school holidays.

Patrick and Jenny are both so friendly and do what they can to assist you. They had even arranged our airport transfers so we didn't have to stress about a thing. When we come back to Port Douglas we'll definitely stay here.

Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Maybe splurge a little and get the superior apartments. They have 2 balconies catching the morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMBristow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 7 nights in February 2012 and loved every minute.
Fantastic value, clean rooms and nicely decorated. The pool was fantastic in the hot weather and we were the only 2 using it the whole time we went! Perfect!
The bed was MASSIVE! MY favourite part of the trip haha!
Central location, right opposite restaurants, cafes and Coles supermarket.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed for the third time at Newport with three friends in a two bedroom apartment. Everyone loved the place. It's so close to everything and quiet. The pool and BBQ area is great. Patrick and his mother were extremely pleasant and very helpful again. We really appreciated being able to stay in our apartment until late in the afternoon when we were leaving. Will always return to stay here in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn02954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

we stayed in newport for 4 days. the owners were kind enough to make special arrangements so we we could get our rooms earlier than then check-in timings which was really thoughful! the location was fantastic with the supermarket just across the road. the rooms and toilets were clean and the bathroom came with a jacuzzi. the owners were also kind enough to check out later on a sunday so that we could check out the sunday market! will definitely come back to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiawei t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Spent three great days at the Newport and would certainly return. Fantastically well situated in the heart of Macrossan Street. Four Mile beach one end, Marina the other and shops, galleries, cafes, bars and a supermarket all within walking distance. The staff were really helpful and friendly. We parked our car and didn't need to use it while we were there. We had a studio room which was small but had a terrace, spa bath and fridge. It was very clean and comfortable. The pool was lovely and sunny and we spent the end of the day there relaxing. There is also a BBQ nearby if you wanted to use it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed for nearly a week in Port Douglas for a family occasion. The Newport was perfect for the 4 of us. Located in the middle of Macrossan Street makes it easy to walk to everything and Coles is located across the road. The free wi fi was a great bonus. The unit itself was quite comfortable but looking tired and needs a refurb, however it was good value for money. Would definitely stay again. Thanks Patrick for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viaggio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#30 of 42 in Port Douglas
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 56 in Port Douglas
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#6 of 56 in Port Douglas
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Port Douglas - Boutique Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newport on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newport on Macrossan

Address: 16 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £59 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Newport on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport on Macrossan is a centrally located and family run 4 star holiday accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. With a solar heated saltwater swimming pool, 3 free in-house movie channels playing latest releases, free secure under cover parking, wireless broad band available in every room. We are genuinely committed to providing clean, contemporary, competitively priced apartments and hotel style rooms that will make you want to stay with us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Newport on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newport On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing