We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Newport on Macrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top Location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Location excellent, especially for restaurants and shopping. easy walk to marina and beach. Great friendly staff and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Unit was clean, spacious and airy with 2 balconies ( we had booked one of two superior apartments) Some lower level apartments looked small and darker. Our friends were on the 3rd level with no balcony and a lot of steps, which was difficult with bags and would have been impossible for disabled or elderly. The heated pool and barbecue area was perfect and well maintained. We loved our stay here and the only negatives were the number of stairs and a fair bit of street noise at night. Would certainly recommend the newport to anyone and would stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose a superior apartment or pool facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaytpnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    61
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
129
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corlette, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We recently returned to the Newport for a 10 day holiday. As usual we found that the amenities were good (except for the lounge), the bed was excellent and the location amid all the activity (restaurants and cruises) the best. Once again Patrick you and your staff did the Newport proud. We will return.
Larry and Kim

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are the ones to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Newport for 3 nights for a wedding I was attending in Port Douglas. Due to my flights I was checking in late, and the staff were excellent in communication with leaving me a note and key in safe at the front reception. I stayed in a hotel room, which was perfect and all I needed, and in the future I will most certainly stay in a 1 bedroom for a longer period.
The only downsides is I was too busy to enjoy the pool and bbq!
Excellent location, coles, shopping, iron bar and courthouse pub within a minutes walk. Would book again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King Island, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

stayed here for 3 nights 2/3/4 august on arrival shown to my room by the lady at reception and pointed out all the features of the establishment. the Newport is located in a central location ,you are close to everything that port douglas has to offer and only a 1 minute walk to a large supermarket and restaurants and cafes. the studio room I had was small but adequate with everything that you require for your holiday .my only complaint was getting into and out of the shower which is over a huge spa bath that I found a bit difficult to manage [perhaps I am not as agile as I used to be ].the rates for the accommodation were great value for a place so central ,well worth a stay and I will definetly be returning

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyOldFella1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Recently spent 5 nights at The Newport with my wife and 5 month old daughter in a one bedroom apartment. The room was perfect for us and very comfortable. Kitchen had the essentials which was more than enough, especially considering we ate out every night. Bed was really comfortable with lots of pillows to choose from. Large balcony that overlooked the pool. WiFi reception was very good. Being at the rear of the complex was handy in case there was any noise from the main street at night although other people I knew were at the front and had no issues. Being directly opposite Coles and other shops was nice and convenient. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would happily stay there again, especially in the same room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a quaint clean well placed small hotel right in the middle of Port Douglas, has it's one underground parking nice pool w/BBQ the staff was great are room had a spa bath and a balcony in the back with tropical trees and birds :-). Because of the hotels location all of Port Douglas is just a stroll, the market is just across the street.
We had a great time there and would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My Mum and I recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at The Newport. The location truly can't be beat - smack bang in the middle of town and a short walk to anywhere you'd want to go in Port Douglas. The Coles and the bottle shop are directly across the street making life easy! The owners are super friendly people. The first room we were put in had a broken lock and once we flagged this we were moved immediately into a new room with no fuss. The rooms themselves are decent. Beds are comfortable and good shower pressure. The only small issues we found were that the furniture in the lounge room is not very comfortable, the walls are thin and we could hear when our neighbours had the TV on and there was a mouldy smell in the kitchen cupboards. This place definitely isn't 5 star but we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as it is clean, convenient and well priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinM_226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#13 of 43 in Port Douglas
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newport on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newport on Macrossan

Property: The Newport on Macrossan
Address: 16 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Newport on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport on Macrossan is a centrally located and family run 4 star holiday accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. With a solar heated saltwater swimming pool, 3 free in-house movie channels playing latest releases, free secure under cover parking, wireless broad band available in every room. We are genuinely committed to providing clean, contemporary, competitively priced apartments and hotel style rooms that will make you want to stay with us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Newport on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newport On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing