We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Newport on Macrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed at the Newport for a week in early August 2009. We had a one bedroom apartment (all the superior rooms were booked out).

Location is terrific, only 5 minutes walk to the beach and in the middle of town for access to restaurants, shops etc. Right across the road from big supermarket.

The lounge room and balcony provided plenty of room and the bedroom with King size bed (actually 2 singles pushed together) was fine. The ensuite was first class.

We overlooked the pool area and while there was never any noise at night, there could be some noise during the day, but we were rarely there at that time.

The staff were exceptionally helpful with advice on tours restaurants etc and provided a faultless booking service.

If I had any criticism (and I offer this reluctantly) it was that being near to local pubs, there was a bit of noise at night. BUT we sleep with windows open, and I'm sure this wouldn't be an issue oif you have closed windows and air con on. The noise was not overly loud, but if you are used to "silent nights" it might be a minor annoyance.

I mentioned this to the manager and he indicated that they were in the process of installing sound proof louvres to all balcony windows (already done to the rooms at the front of the hotel).

That said, we would have no hesitation in staying there again - but from other reviews it seems as if the apartments are the go rather than the studio rooms..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    61
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
129
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Whoever designed this place clearly got all his priorities wrong: the studio room is so small that it is impossible to open more than one suitcase at a time. There is no desk or chair in the room - we had breakfast on the little balcony. The bathroom, on the other hand is HUGE by comparison and completely taken over by a ridiculously large spa bath that is a waste of good space more than anything else. Reception is only manned in daytime, we were left a key in an envelope by the front door. Internet connection is free, but painfully slow. When their credit card machine was down on day of departure, we had to pay cash and pay for the exchange rates etc - a little concession and customer service would have been appreciated. On the upside: location is good, on the main street, there is off-street parking and it was clean and fairly cheap for Port Douglas.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeRomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The studio was the smallest I have ever seen. No room to move from the bed. No sunlight at any time. Always seemed damp. Noisy - live music nearby until at least midnight (even with door and windows shut).
Showerscreen was ineffective - therefore bathroom remained wet for the full stay (not serviced daily).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanberraCecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stayed at the Newport on Macrossan in June and had a great stay. Our 1 bedroom apartment was very comfortable, quiet and clean. We picked the one bedroom on the ground floor which had direct access to the pool which was definately a bonus. The staff we very helpful in assisting us in which attractions to see. Great location right in the heart of town, just a step out the front door and Port Douglas was at your feet. We really enjoyed the close proximity to the beach also, maybe a 5-10 minute walk down the street to 4 Mile beach. Great cafe at the beach to have breakfast at too!
I totally recommend Newport on Macrossan.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was perfect. As the other reviews say, this is very central with a pool and BBQ. Our apartment had AC and ceiling fan (my preference) and an enormous bed. It was plenty big enough - even when I took ill (nothing to do with Newport!). There aren't many places I'm happy when sick - but this was one of them. The ground floor meant we had a large patio. There is also off street secure parking - which is a blessing in this part of town.
The real advantage was the service. The owners are amazing - advising on and booking trips and being generally great. This is why we would stay again (and the very reasonable tariff). They even managed to advise on vegetarian friendly eating (a difficult task in Port).
I don't normally write reviews - but the service here was so good I felt I had to. With many places we went claiming excellent customer service but not delivering, this quiet achiever deserves recognition.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fnq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

My husband and I just returned from a week say at the Newport, we stayed in a superior one beroom an we were very imressed with the total package, The room was very spacious, very clean, the bed really comfortable and the pool and barbeque facilities were tp quality. We experienced excellent service when during our stay and the online booking prior was very promp and efficient. Chris and Patrick were very helpul with any of our enquiries. The Newport is right in the centre of town inthe main street and close to all of the excellent restaurants and pubs and the shopping hub.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We were 2 couples who stayed for a week. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 ensuite apartment that could be used as 2 units or one. We had it made into one apartment which was really great with good separation between the bedrooms. One of the ensuites had a spa bath. The kitchen/lounge area was small but with the 2 great balconies we did not neeed any more room, we had meals on the balcony every day. Our balconies overlooked the pool area and the pool was lovely, heated and very clean. Next to the pool area there is a very nice BBQ area. We had free wireless internet which was great.
The whole apartment complex is hidden from the main street with just an office and reception booth on the main street. As a result is is very quiet and a real hidden oasis.
The owners were fantastic and went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. We would certainly stay here again.
Another plus is the location with restuarants and a supermarket across the road. We were able to walk every where we needed to go.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerjnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#31 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newport on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newport on Macrossan

Property: The Newport on Macrossan
Address: 16 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Newport on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport on Macrossan is a centrally located and family run 4 star holiday accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. With a solar heated saltwater swimming pool, 3 free in-house movie channels playing latest releases, free secure under cover parking, wireless broad band available in every room. We are genuinely committed to providing clean, contemporary, competitively priced apartments and hotel style rooms that will make you want to stay with us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Newport on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newport On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing