We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When can we come back?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Newport on Macrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“When can we come back?”
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed at the Newport in a one-bedroom apartment with another couple (who had the apartment next door) and our two year old daughter and we couldn't ask for a better location and service. The apartments initially surprised us with their generous size and cleanliness. The fenced veranda out the front also proved popular with many a meal eaten there while enjoying the beautiful weather.
The apartments are right on the main street but noise from pubs is efficiently blocked out by the doors and it is actually very quiet at night. The swimming beach was a leisurely 15-20 minute stroll (and even then it's because you tend to make stops at the shops and cafes which abound the street).
The pool and barbeque area were very clean and well kept and there was even oil, salt and pepper, etc provided for all to use!
The location is ideal for families with children as it is so central that you can go out for dinner but still be back home in a flash should the kids get tired and grumpy. And the Coles supermarket and pharmacy are right across the road which is also great.
Management was very efficient and we dealt a lot with Patrick whose dedication to customer service exceeded all expectations. One example was the shuttle to the airport that we booked through hotel reception for our last day - the shuttle was 5 minutes late and Patrick was already on the phone to the company (without being asked) to make sure everything was ok.
The free wireless internet was a great plus as well, as were the free to air movie channels.
We enjoyed Port Douglas and our accommodation there immensely!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marousya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    61
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
129
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Basically Newport on Macrossan is a good deal, great service and spacious living right by the main street in Port Douglas. I found this hotel on tripadvisor and am grateful for it. But what really made the hotel was not just the free wifi access or car park but Patrick at the front desk. He really made an effort to help me though I was from the States and after some awful Aussie service I was glad to meet someone that was honest and straightforward, I did not feel like I was being scammed. He basically helped my wife and I settle into Port Douglas and booked our activities. Not only warm and welcoming but very insightful as to where to look for what and to do what.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanbsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Having read the reviews I rang the owner from GB to ask about a number of issues raised by other travellers.,following this call I booked a week 0ctober 2009.
The transfer arranged by Patrick from Cairns airport was easy and comfortable (about an hour and 10 mins)
Met Patrick on Arrival and his lovely Mum.
The apartments are small but very cosy, and very clean and comfortable in an absouloutley brilliant location. The pool is small but wonderfull to come home and flop into for half an hour before showering to go out for dinner.
We had dinner out each night in the town, but were aware all the equipment was there to cook if needed, the BBQ by the pool was great.
Following dinner each night we had a walk around the town, it is then you appreciate the location,when you see people waiting for the little busses to convey people back to thier accomodation out side of the town.
Everything you need Is close at Hand (across the road supermarket) etc and all shops bars etc are all right on your door step.
Patrick booked our trips to the reef and arranged transport ( it was so close when we returned from the reef we stayed in the harbour had a coffee and strolled home to the apt.) 10 mins enjoyable walk
Again Patrick booked our hire car at very short notice which we had for three days, (AVIS) which we picked up less then three minutes walk from the apt had a parking space in the secure basment of the apartment and again Patrick went out of his way explaining where to go and the best to see.(Hartleys crock park-- Brilliant)
The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning brilliant we experinced no noise whatsoever during the night but did hear music whilst sat on the balcony enjoying a glass of fab auzzie sav blanc, bought across the road in the bottle shop on a deal $6
for such great wine --wonderfull.
For what we paid,the apartment, its very comfortable very clean its, location, and the service was excellent.
Thanks Patrick and Mum for making our stay so enjoyable.
Two very happy travellers South Wales GB

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed at the Newport for a week in early August 2009. We had a one bedroom apartment (all the superior rooms were booked out).

Location is terrific, only 5 minutes walk to the beach and in the middle of town for access to restaurants, shops etc. Right across the road from big supermarket.

The lounge room and balcony provided plenty of room and the bedroom with King size bed (actually 2 singles pushed together) was fine. The ensuite was first class.

We overlooked the pool area and while there was never any noise at night, there could be some noise during the day, but we were rarely there at that time.

The staff were exceptionally helpful with advice on tours restaurants etc and provided a faultless booking service.

If I had any criticism (and I offer this reluctantly) it was that being near to local pubs, there was a bit of noise at night. BUT we sleep with windows open, and I'm sure this wouldn't be an issue oif you have closed windows and air con on. The noise was not overly loud, but if you are used to "silent nights" it might be a minor annoyance.

I mentioned this to the manager and he indicated that they were in the process of installing sound proof louvres to all balcony windows (already done to the rooms at the front of the hotel).

That said, we would have no hesitation in staying there again - but from other reviews it seems as if the apartments are the go rather than the studio rooms..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Whoever designed this place clearly got all his priorities wrong: the studio room is so small that it is impossible to open more than one suitcase at a time. There is no desk or chair in the room - we had breakfast on the little balcony. The bathroom, on the other hand is HUGE by comparison and completely taken over by a ridiculously large spa bath that is a waste of good space more than anything else. Reception is only manned in daytime, we were left a key in an envelope by the front door. Internet connection is free, but painfully slow. When their credit card machine was down on day of departure, we had to pay cash and pay for the exchange rates etc - a little concession and customer service would have been appreciated. On the upside: location is good, on the main street, there is off-street parking and it was clean and fairly cheap for Port Douglas.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeRomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The studio was the smallest I have ever seen. No room to move from the bed. No sunlight at any time. Always seemed damp. Noisy - live music nearby until at least midnight (even with door and windows shut).
Showerscreen was ineffective - therefore bathroom remained wet for the full stay (not serviced daily).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanberraCecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stayed at the Newport on Macrossan in June and had a great stay. Our 1 bedroom apartment was very comfortable, quiet and clean. We picked the one bedroom on the ground floor which had direct access to the pool which was definately a bonus. The staff we very helpful in assisting us in which attractions to see. Great location right in the heart of town, just a step out the front door and Port Douglas was at your feet. We really enjoyed the close proximity to the beach also, maybe a 5-10 minute walk down the street to 4 Mile beach. Great cafe at the beach to have breakfast at too!
I totally recommend Newport on Macrossan.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#31 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newport on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newport on Macrossan

Property: The Newport on Macrossan
Address: 16 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Newport on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport on Macrossan is a centrally located and family run 4 star holiday accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. With a solar heated saltwater swimming pool, 3 free in-house movie channels playing latest releases, free secure under cover parking, wireless broad band available in every room. We are genuinely committed to providing clean, contemporary, competitively priced apartments and hotel style rooms that will make you want to stay with us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Newport on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newport On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing