We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Bugs in room (Note: Windows and doors shut at all times...no idea where bugs came from). Dusty everything. Suspicious substance on headboard. Previous guests soap left in shower. Spa on balcony had layer of filmy scum on the bottom and the rims. Housekeeping awoke us an hour before check out by invading our room with their own set of keys: unannounced and uninvited.
With a bit of attention to detail and less hastey staff could be worth another try however I would not stay there again. (Please note the staff were lovely people and the redeeming feature of the Oaks Lagoons)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your comments on our Oaks Lagoons Apartments. We sincerely apologise that you were interrupted while sleeping and that the cleanliness of the room was not up to standard. Please be assured that your review has been passed onto the Hotel Manager and Housekeeping department for serious investigation.

We are happy to hear that our staff could provide with professional service, and hope that you will return again soon to enable us to demonstrate the quality to which we have become known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    295
    102
    39
    29
See reviews for
212
352
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We arrived in Port Douglas not having booked accommodation. Oaks Lagoon was one of two places recommended to us in our price bracket of $140/night.
Oaks Lagoon was chosen as we have a 10yr old son who loves the water.

Greeted by the manager, Murray, who could not have been more friendly and helpful. We upgraded to a 'swim out' apartment.
He told us the apartment had not been used for a week and would smell musty as it was the damp tropics, however, Bruce went and freshened up the apartment while we booked in.

Upon getting to our apartment and opening up, we were shocked........very pleasantly!

The 'study' had a massive pull out sofa bed that Bruce had made up for our son, the master bedroom was large and presented nicely.
Bathroom/shower was clean, spacious with a very powerful shower.
Kitchen was equipped with everything including a dishwasher.
Lounge area had a large modern flat screen tv, however the sofa was very uncomfortable!
Through the double sliding doors and on to the pool area with furniture.
Pool area was very clean and well presented.

All in all a very pleasant relaxing experience and at good value for us as a small family who don't particularly like a hotel experience.

So thanks to Murray and his team.
ps. buy a more comfortable sofa ;-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamessalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a positive review for Oaks Lagoons. We are delighted to read that Murray and his team could provide you and your family with an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Your comments have been passed directly onto the resort, which will be very well received.

Oaks Hotels & Resorts hopes to welcome you back to one of our properties again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Poor security sliding doors do not lock. Toilet has major plumbing issues does not seem to flush.

No toaster in rooms, to make toast you need to head outside via the BBQ area.

They do not provide clean towels at all during your stay unless you pay.

No Pool towels supplied either, upon arrival found empty jug without any water.

All in all the staff are friendly but will not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. It is disappointing to hear that there were elements of your stay that you found unsatisfactory. We do sincerely apologise for this.

We do hope that you will consider staying with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again in the future and allow us to prove to you the quality to which we have become known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in early Dec 11, and enjoyed a 1 bedroom swimout. Whilst the photos, descriptions and net show/describe what the place is like, we were pleasently surprised to find how good the place really is. The check in was easy, and the staff very friendly and helpful with a bit of local advice. Parking right outside the apartment, and the swimout room was a treat. Heaps of room for the two of us, clean modern furnishings (tv, cd, dvd, fans, air con, iron, washer and dryer, dishwasher, etc) and being able to enter the pool right from your own patio really made the experience. Heaps of room around the pools for lazing if you don't have a swimout or just want a change of scenery, and a great outdoor BBQ/dining area as well. We cooked in room (so convenient), and hot cooked breakfast on the patio by the pool each morning was the perfect start to the day.
All the facilities looked clean and working well, so I'm surprised by the few negative reviews of this place. We were there in the low season, so there were not as many people staying as would be at peak times, but we were well looked after, the room was great, and we really enjoyed our stay there. It's only walking distance for takeaway food or booze and 7/11, and the town is about 4 mins drive (local shuttles about every 20 mins if your drinking!)
I definitely recommend getting a swimout room, and after comparing notes with people who stayed elswhere (we were there for a wedding), I think our accomm was the best option.
Thankyou to the staff there, we would definitely stay again if heading back to Pt. Douglass

Room Tip: Go for a swimout room, we were there in summer and there was no issue with sun or pool temp like is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dolphins18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
We very much appreciate your positive review, and are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments have been passed on to the team at Oaks Lagoons.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My fiance and I, along with my parents travelled to Far North Queensland to scout potential wedding destinations.

We found the Oaks to fit within our budget whilst adhering to our needs.

We loved the 2 bedroom apartment, with the swim out pool. This was the best part of the resort.

The downstairs car park was handy as we could park the car literally right outside the door.

As we travelled during the off peak season, we encountered a few issues and room faults. These were reported to the front of house staff. However, all issues had to be chased up to be resolved.

This is a very comfortable hotel and I would highly recommend for families who appreciate room to move.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxcochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

My 10year old daughter and i stayed in the 1 bedroom swim out room, the female staff were brilliant and very accomadating. This was our first holiday to Port Douglas and we rate it as being one of the most relaxing holidays we have experienced. The resort is a little out of town but buses come by every 15-20 minutes to take you into town. We hired bikes from the resort and would ride to the IGA supermarket which was about a 10 minute ride away. A Bottle o, fish and chip shop and restaurant called the Beach Shack is only a block away. Barbque facilities at the resort were spotless and very handy for those nights when you didnt want to cook in your apartment. there are 6 lagoon pools at the resort and we spent everyday lazying by the pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed overnight in a hotel spa room. The check-in process was very slow as there was only 1 girl on reception and the phone line was down due to a thunderstorm. She was pleasant though. The room smelt musty as most rooms do in the tropics if you don't have any air movement in them. The room was clean and quite spacious. We went for a swim but as the air temperature was so hot, the pools were like bath water and not refreshing at all. As the rooms are so close together, there was a young crowd blaring out music so not very restful by the pool.

Room Tip: As there is no lift you may want a swim up room if you have lots of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubagbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.9 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Property: Oaks Lagoons
Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing