We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were impressed by the BBQ facilities with everything provided that you could need. Loved the privacy of the end swim out unit. The downer being the zip together beds don't agree with my back, but luckily found the fold out!

Room Tip: The end swim out apartment is the most private. Try to make use of the excellent bbq facilities
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kymushorelinecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you Kym for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the BBQ facilities here and theswim out rooms. We notice guests find it not only a great place to prepare some stay at home meals, but a great place to meet other guests and share ideas about the region. I do love the bird life in the Melaleuca trees near the end rooms. On sunset the activity and chirping can be mesmerising. I am however sorry the bed did not suit you but I am pleased that you found a solution. It is always worth contacting reception as we may be able to resolve such a problem whilst guests are in house. We hope to see you here again on your next trip to the tropical north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Lagoons
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked 5 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment through Groupon and were not disappointed.
The room was huge with good facilities for self-catering: large fridge, freezer, dishwasher, hotplate & plenty of cubpoard space with additional shared BBQ area that was well equiped and stocked with leftover sauses/oils/salt/pepper etc from previous guests.
We had free half day bike hire included in our deal which we used to cycle up to the main strip in Port Douglas (approx 20 mins) and brought the shopping back in the baskets on the bikes. To walk it took between 40-50minutes depending on the heat and if we stopped for gelato!
As mentioned by others, there are buses running from the Ramada next door into town and back approx every 15-20 minutes which are great after dinner (you have to eat at Salsa whilst you're there!) in the evening (the walk back can be quite dark at night with few streetlights) or when its just too hot; and if you don't fancy heading into town, walk out of Oaks Lagoons in the opposite direction and down the main road from approx 7-10minutes and there is a fish and chip shop there which is excellent quality and great value for money, and a bottleshop if you need to stock up on drinks and don't have a car.
Check out tours whilst you are up there - we went out onto the reef diving with Calypso and used Viator to book a day trip to Mossman, Cape Tribulation and the Daintree Rainforest, both of which were very good.
Great staff, lovely apartments and very peaceful - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Vicki, Fantastic you hear you enjoyed your stay at Oaks Lagoons. We’re very happy you found us a comfortable and peaceful base while you were busy having a great time exploring Port Douglas on foot, bike, bus and boat and discover many of the great things our town has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Fully equipped kitchen, common bbq area and swim out apartments! No cafes or restaurants at the resort itself but plenty close by. Great for families and groups wanting to cook for themselves. Quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkyMama1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Great to hear that you and your family had a great time at Oaks Lagoons.

We get a lot of positive feedback from families and large groups and the kitchen and BBQs are great if you don’t want to eat out every night but still having the option of being close to a number of other restaurants and cafes.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Spent 5 nights in a 2 bed apartment. We have a 2 year old and she loved the pool. Our apartment was a swim out and would recommend booking one of these apartments. Staff were fantastic and helpful. We were lucky enough to get upgraded which was great. The bathrooms could do with make overs but the rest of the apartment was good. Good value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Boyley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

It was great to hear that you had a really enjoyable stay at Oaks Lagoons and the staff were really helpful during your stay.

Our swim out rooms are really popular with families and it is something the kids always enjoy and would recommend them to any guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week during early December in a one bedroom apartment with a private plunge pool. The room and private pool were absolutely fantastic. The apartment was really spacious with a good size bedroom, kitchen/lounge area and separate study (which would be great for a portacot or extra guest. Every room had its own air conditioner which was much appreciated with the North Queensland climate. We loved the convenience and privacy of our own pool that allowed us to take a dip any time of the day or night. Murray and Sherie were so helpful and obliging in helping us plan our holiday and provided much needed advice on booking tour activities. We came to Port Douglas for a friend's wedding and had a fabulous holiday in the process. We highly recommend the Oaks Lagoons and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. We were very happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay, I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff as we work very hard to make sure that each guests stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you head to Port Douglas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Just checked out had a great relaxing time the staff were fantastic the atmosphere was great my room was great highly recommended to people who are coming to port Douglas to getaway and to relaxI would like to wish every one a great new year for 2014 as we get older hopeful your dreames can be for filled

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Bruno N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Bruno, Thank you for your review of your stay at Oaks Lagoons. I was very happy to hear that you had a very relaxing stay and that the staff were able to make that possible for you.

We wish you a happy & safe 2014 and we look forward to welcoming you back when you need another relaxing getaway to the tropical north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Oaks Lagoons for 3 nights whilst on honeymoon in Australia. We booked a Hotel Spa room. The website referred to it as a Hotel but the first thing to point out is that the rooms are not serviced. This was ok for 3 nights but is not great if you stay longer as they only change the linen and clean the rooms once a week, if you run out of toilet roll etc then you have to go to reception (bit of a walk) to get more. The room was small and nothing special. The resort itself has no restaurant so we ended up walking to the hotel next door to eat everyday as there is nothing else within walking distance that we discovered. The pool area is nice and I think this is the only redeeming feature. There is plenty of parking but it is first come, first served, and is not allocated to rooms so we found we would go out and then come back to find all the parking spaces were full. The staff on reception desk were friendly and helpful but the reception desk closed in the evening so you could not get access to the reception area. Overall, I did not find this good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBride2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

I am sorry you were not made aware that our rooms are only weekly serviced as we have advised all our agents and this information is in the terms and conditions section of all booking websites. Note we can arrange daily cleaning for guests for an additional fee. Our low rates are only achievable with weekly cleaning but we do offer that option. We have a great relationship with the Ramada where our prepaid vouchers are at a better price than available at the door. Also Oaks Lagoons guests do receive a complimentary bottle of wine when 2 guests dine at the Tree Bar and Grill next door. With so many restaurant choices in Port Douglas, this is a nice close option for our guests. Thank you for staying with us, and I am sorry it was not what you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
623 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £57 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing