We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but not great either!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Mareeba, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great either!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel / resort is run down compared to when I stayed here previously a couple of years ago. Check in at reception was ok, rooms were ok, showing signs of ageing. BBQ area is large however BBQ's were always dirty. Pools were clean. The girl on check out was nice and friendly. Not sure if I would stay again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Sorry the BBQ;s were dirty we clean these each morning and the displayed BBQ rules advise guest are expected to leave the BBQ’s clean ready for the next guest. We are not as young as we used to be however we work hard to maintain the property. We always welcome any specific suggestions so that we rectify any issues. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    295
    102
    39
    29
See reviews for
212
352
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for 7 nights prior to it being the Tourist season & the cyclone.
Sent a request to Murray the manager about changing our original booking which was done without any problem. Spoke with Tina prior to going up who was most helpful.
When we got there Tina explained how she could organise trips etc plus eating arrangements at the Ramada next door & pushbike hire if we wanted it.
The pools were clean as was the room.
It was also easy to drive from here to Cairns , Kuranda Rail , Mossman Gorge and further if you wanted.
( Please note we have no connection with the hotel or staff )

Room Tip: If you want a swim out room choose the southern side. There is a supermarket not too far away and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks Grant pleased your enjoyed your North Queensland Holiday and all the arrangements came together for you. We often get the question, ‘do we need a car’? It is convenient, but not essential. A third option is to hire one locally for just a few days so you can do some exploring. As not all car companies have an office in Port Douglas, Avis & Budget do so you could have one for a few days and then hand it in here. A lesser known option to get back to the airport if you don’t have a car is to choose a late flight out (after 5:00pm) and you could do a tour that combines the Kuranda train & Skyrail with an airport drop off with your baggage at the end of the day. They will keep your baggage in a secure baggage trailer with the driver during the day. Hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were very friendly. Very convenient to have the kitchenette and laundry facilities. It was also great to relax in the pool. We went as a couple but it would be perfect for families as well. Would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rocky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Rocky, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Great to hear you had an enjoyable time-out in one of our apartments recently. With our 6 pools whether you’re a couple of a family with kids, there is always space where you can relax undisturbed or get a bunch of others for some water volleyball. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you come to Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our family of five including three young children recently stayed at Oaks Lagoons for 6 days. We had a ground floor 2-bedroom swim out apartment (#69).

The apartment was very clean, airy, modern and comfortable, with all essentials for a longer stay including laundry and dishwasher. There was ample room for the five of us. There was a single sofa-bed in a study area that could be closed off as a third bedroom.

We loved staying here as the kids could jump straight off our deck into the pool, and we could supervise whilst relaxing on the sun lounges or even from inside the apartment. The pools were very clean and well-presented and there were pool toys available for the children. The central barbecue facility was very well maintained and great for an impromptu gathering with friends.

Four Mile Beach is a five minute walk down the street, and there is a playground right by the entrance to the beach. Oaks Lagoons is located a fair way from Macrossan St, which is where most shops and restaurants are located, so you will need a car to get around. We loved being away from the main hustle and bustle and found it very peaceful here despite there being many families staying over the Easter long weekend.

I had an in-house massage which was very relaxing. Nearby is the QT resort, and the breakfast and dinner buffets at the QT Bazaar restaurant are not to be missed!

Overall, a great place for young families. Very good value, clean, modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toothchickyCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you and your family had an enjoyable and comfortable stay over the Easter Break. The 2 bedroom swimout apartments are very popular for families and the kids get especially excited when they discover they have a pool at their door and mum and dad can supervise from the comfort of their own sun lounge. Thank you also for your mention of our in-house massage room which is a great way to unwind and relax with having to leave the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here two weeks ago with my husband and only logged on here to look at reviews after we checked-in. How I wished I had looked before booking. I'm not sure if the 4 and 5 star reviews are people from the resort itself or just people with very low standards. Our apartment was dirty. We walked in to find dirty wine glasses on the bench. The rest of the room was well presented and tidy but it was not clean. The carpet felt grimy, the bathroom showed builds up of mould and mildew and the duvet under the sheets was stained. We had 3 cockroaches join us in the room. The bins down the end of the apartments smelt atrocious. I know rubbish doesn't smell like roses, but bins only smell that bad when they haven't been emptied or cleaned in a long time. So every time we went in and out we had that charming smell to breathe in. On a positive note, the cleaning staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I don't blame them for the rooms being as filthy as they are, they are just doing the bare minimum cleaning as they have been instructed.

You would be better off staying in a backpacker's hostel than Oaks Lagoons.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
I am sorry Kate you stay did not meet your expectations. We would have welcomed the opportunity to address any shortfalls whilst you were here to help make your stay more enjoyable. The reviews here represent feedback only from guests who have stayed at the Oaks Lagoons. I am pleased you found the rooms well presented and the housekeeping staff friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were a family group of 8 adults and 3 children. We took two 2 bedroom units ( for 4 nights)and found the accommodation adequate and comfortable, with privacy for the couples as well as space for the kids to play. The plunge pool was a great place for the kids to enjoy themselves with minimal supervision. The BBQ facilities were excellent and allowed us to eat most evening meals by the pool with a very homely atmosphere. Four Mile beach is only a short walk away and can be accessed by an interesting hidden pathway through the tropical growth.
Overall a good place to stay if you are a large group with kids. We even found undercover parking for our 12 seater bus which was used to transport the group

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor unit if you want easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thanks for staying with us Nigel; I am pleased our facilities worked out well for you. The BBQ area is a great gathering space and for those that have stayed before, we have just installed a hot water connection to the tap which makes cleaning up a lot easier. The Plunge pool rooms are a great family option where kids can enjoy themselves and parents don’t have the worry of them staying to areas where they can’t be seen. We hope you will have the opportunity to escape north again in the hot too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

After travelling around other parts of Australia on a trip from the UK it was nice to relax at Oaks Lagoons. I note comments about the poor pool quality from other reviewers but this was not our experience. We upgraded to a swim up room and pool was fine. Room was really excellent and able to have a breakfast of cereals and toast prepared ourselves which was a nice change after many hotel breakfasts on our trip. Good for seeing Barrier Reef and Karunda Rain Forest on trips from the hotel and really liked Port Douglas itself. Thought the staff were really good, always friendly and helpful and Sherie in particular was excellent. I should point out after reading one previous review that we have no connection with the hotel or its staff and this is a genuine review from a UK resident.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a swim up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you Colin for taking the time to submit a review of the Oaks Lagoons. I can imagine how our swim out rooms would have been a great way to recharge your batteries after such a hectic schedule taking in as much of Australia as you possibly could in the short time available. We do have some amazing natural wonders on our doorstep. We all love helping our guests how to best experience the region within the available time there are in Port Douglas. Sherie thanks you for singling her out for special mention. Oh, and sorry about the cricket! Hope to see you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.9 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Property: Oaks Lagoons
Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing