We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family heaven”
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family heaven”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which had a full kitchen, laundry, living area, balcony spa.
All amenities were clean the only remark is that the walls could use a paint due to lots of wear and tear.
The pool was lovely and the staff very helpful.
We will definetely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regional1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We very much appreciated your business and the time you have taken to submit a review of the property. In some of the rooms we do find with the paint does leave a shine where we have cleaned. We will address this when we next repaint the rooms with a better quality wash & wear paint. We look forward to having you back with us again at some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    322
    114
    42
    29
See reviews for
242
380
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My Husband and I set off on a short break adventure to Port Douglas with very high expectations. The unit we had was a 1 bedroom deluxe swim out. The unit itself was clean and tidy when we arrived. We were initially happy with our location. After 2 days of our holiday we realised we were on the no-sun side of the resort, Yes there is such a thing. We were on the right hand side of the resort looking from the front and a ground floor unit as all swim-outs are. The sun bathed the opposite side and the pool and verandahs on that side looked very inviting, unfortunately our verandah and pool never had any direct sunlight therefore, the pool was freezing and unusable. The main bedroom of our unit faced directly onto the carpark area and as such created privacy issues and the stairs that ran above to the side of our unit were lit until 5am every morning. Even with the blinds closed this was irritating!
The lounge in the Living area was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever experienced. There was no Hair-dryer, no Pay TV and no TV in the bedroom which are basic inclusions at most hotels. I have stayed at Oaks in Port Stephens and these are standard inclusions. Very poor amenities in the kitchen as well, no oven just a convection microwave??
The best thing about this resort was that the Remada was located next door and we were able to enjoy their restaurant and facilities.
Very poor experience, will not recommend or return unfortunately.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the sunny side as the shaded side definately impacts your stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinsmake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I am sorry your stay didn’t meet your expectations. I am pleased to advise since your visit we have commenced a program of heating our pools on the side that gets ‘less sun’ with the first one now heated for the coming winter period. Being in the tropics heating of pools is not something that has been mainstream, but with the long wet season this year they haven’t had as much sun as usual. Whilst we do have full blinds in the apartment bedrooms, light does filter in around the edges. The hotel rooms do have full blackout curtains in those rooms. I cannot comment on the privacy issues for your bedroom when there are blinds that close.
Also, we do have Foxtel on the TV’s and there is sticker with instructions on the TV’s explaining how to access these. Alternatively a call to reception would have resolved this quickly. Hair Dryers are also provided; if yours was missing I do apologies it must have been missed by housekeeping. The convention microwave, is a normal convention oven, but also has the ability to microwave food as well. Thank you for taking time to leave this feedback, whilst not what we like to hear, it is only through monitoring and acting on feedback that we can maintain the standards we strive to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Only stayed one night and the room was clean and comfortable. We had a studio room with a spa on the balcony. Unfortunately the free WIFI was only 30 minutes per day and quite expensive to buy.....our only hotel to do this is 3 weeks of travelling!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your review. I note your comments about the internet costs after the 30 minutes daily free access. This free access is only new for us having previously been a charge only option. Interestingly, we have had a lot more comments since we began offer the first 30 minutes free. I am pleased the room met your expectations and I see you had a lovely dinner at Nautilus. It’s a great spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkwood, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hi all, we just got home from our 5 night stay at the Oaks Lagoon Port Douglas, it was great value for money, we upgraded to a swim up room (19A). best thing we could have done. The pool was crystal clear and clean. The staff were there daily maintaining the pool and B.B.Q. area's. The room was clean and modern with all you could want for a comfortable stay, we loved that we had Foxtel for relaxing when we weren't swimming. A couple of suggestions when staying there is to buy the travel pass from the shuttle bus service into Port, and when you go to Coles to buy supplies check the back of your receipt for discounts. We had a great lunch at Hi Tide restaurant (buy one get one free voucher) and also for the Ramada next door offered the same deal.
All in all we loved the place, location and the staff at Oaks Lagoon Port Douglas.
We did read the previous reviews before we went up and now realize we had nothing to worry about. Thank you to all the staff for making our staff relaxed and enjoyable.
We'll be back soon.

James & Tyson

Room Tip: upgrade to swim out room on the south side to maximize the sun and utilize the shuttle bus passes, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks James & Tyson for your glowing review of our resort. Sounds like you had a lovely relaxing time in one of our Swim Out apartments and I hope you took advantage of our popular BBQ facilities as well. Great suggestions about the Coles discount vouchers, there are some good deals available with these. The weekly shuttle pass is a lot cheaper but note there are 2 shuttle companies that operate and as they don’t accept each others voucher, you may have to wait for the right companies bus to pick you up. We look forward to having you stay with us again at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Was given an upgrade to one bedroom apartment. So spacious and nice. Everyone in our group could come to our room as we had the kitchen and more space than studio rooms. Really enjoyed it would stay longer next time. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliftonbeachretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are pleased the space in our 1 bedroom apartments worked well for your group. We do get a number of family or friend groups taking a number of hotel rooms but with usually the organiser taking an apartment as the central gathering point. We look forward to seeing you and the clan again soon! Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Definitely a hideaway. Plenty of tropical plants and shade. 2 bedroom apartment was okay a little musty. We bought some candles to make it smell a little nicer. A little disappointing that the pool was in the shade and too cold to swim in. We used the main pool most days which defeated the purpose of a private pool.
We found it was also cheaper to taxi into town being four of us rather than taking shuttle bus. Receptionist was very helpful and always bright and cheery. No restaurant or cafe at resort but there was next door. Beware the midgies!! I was bitten alive and you couldn't even see them let alone feel them bite. It looked as if I had chicken pox! Were they itchy! OMG never have I experienced anything like it and no amount of histamine or ointments helped. I don't think I will be returning to Port Douglas.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneAdri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
I am sorry you found the pool a little cool; however I can advise we are today switching on for the first time a heater for one of our pools so we can in future offer a heated option for our guests. We generally reserve the Midges for visiting English cricket teams whom they seem to prefer. Seriously, this is not a common complaint but they are a product of any tropical environment. Some people seem more susceptible than others and for those, prevention with something like Aeroguard does the trick. Certainly something to be aware of if you are again visiting a tropical destination. Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect apartments great for family
Apartments can be connected
Best 2 nd floor rather than swim out better privacy
We had 3 rooms 2 bed rooms Heaps of room plus privacy for each couple
Loved the spa on balcony on second floor
This is not on ground floor

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Oaks Lagoons in one of our 2 bedroom deluxe apartments. A hot spa at the end of a day is a great way to really relax particularly if there is a glass of bubbles handy! We also have some 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments now which can accommodate up to 6 people. Hope you can escape to Port Douglas for another top stay some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Property: Oaks Lagoons
Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing