We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place for families”
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We stayed here with our two teenagers in a 2 bed swim out apartment. Our friends visiting from the UK also stayed in an identical apartment. We were very impressed by the size of the apartments, their cleanliness, comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms (2). The pools were lovely (although the side that got the sun all day was much warmer than the one on our side of the building but you can just go over to that one) and the private patios were very nice. Overall this was an ideal base for exploring the area and we were very happy with our choice.

A couple of minor complaints: although we had booked together, the other family was put on the other side of the complex which was a little inconvenient for sharing food items etc; we had specifically asked for twin beds in one room but this was not done (for either apartment) and as we arrived after reception closed due to a flight delay our different sex teenagers had to share a bed for a night: when we asked for it to be put right, this was done but the wrong room so we had to swap all our belongings between rooms; we were there for six nights but there was no change of towels, which would have been nice (just once). Having said all that, we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Tips for activities: we had a wonderful time jungle surfing (zip wires through the rainforest), going out to the reef with Quicksilver, travelling on the scenic railway/skyrail and doing a guided rainforest walk, but the surprise hit of the week was Cape Tribulation Exotic Fruit Farm. Very reasonably priced afternoon tasting exotic fruits with knowledgeable and entertaining host.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Lagoons
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2009

We were out of season and had total privacy and yes it lacks restaurant and bar, but apartment equipped sufficiently well to self cater. Private plunge pool a great asset, especially after a few days in the heat of Uluru.. Access to Port Douglas, Cape Tribulation and Barrier Reef all easy. Staff on reception very helpful though not manned late evening.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed here based on other reviews we had read. We didn't need a poolside room because we came to snorkel, see the rain forest, and spend time on the beach. This was the perfect location for all three. We were surpised at the size of the apartment. It was huge. More space than we needed. We had a balcony that we used for meals, when we were at the apartment for a meal, that overlooked one of the pools. It was a pleasant place to sit and relax before we went to our next adventure.
The Oaks Lagoon is situated far enough from town to enable a person to get on the bus into town before most others, ensuring a seat everytime. It is close enough to the beach for a short walk to and from and does not require crossing the highway. You could get accomodations on the beach at three or four times the price and be just a few kilometers closer to town, but for the price this is a very good place to stay.
By the way, if you are staying three or more days, be sure to ask the bus driver for a 3-day pass. It will also save you money. You can go and come as much as you want without paying extra.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanoTexans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The rooms are spacious and offer great value for money. Our 1 bedroom swimout apartment had a well equiped kitchen, which we didn't use much as the resturants in Port Douglas were excellant.
It felt so good to come home after a day on the reef or Daintree and relax on our own patio by the pool with a cold drink.
The apartment could of been a bit cleaner, but considering it wasn't expensive we couldn't complain.
The Oaks is located out of town a bit, but it was a nice ride in and we had a car so it wasn't a problem for us.
If you want great value in a fairly new apartment with a nice pool, this place is for you!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B00f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was really well equipped and spotlessly clean. The air conditioning was great and essential as the weather was very very hot and humid. We had a swim out apartment which meant that we could step out of our apartment straight into the pool which the kids and myself loved. Great moment at 4am when the jetlag kicked in when I went outside (which was warmer than inside the airconditioned apartment) and swam in the pool in perfect silence!

The pool is securely behind locked gates from the apartments which spoils the feel of the place a bit but keeps everyone safe so a really positive thing for those travelling with children.

Loved it - perfect for the more independent traveller but you definately need a car.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

A group of around 12 friends stayed at the Oaks Lagoons in early November 2008 as a base to explore this region prior to a wedding in Port Douglas. We chose this property because it is one of the newer ones in Port Douglas and had many beautiful lagoon pools throughout the complex. We got a great deal by ringing the property direct and it was the beginning of the low (rainy) season but the weather was fantastic. The property is outside of town so we recommend a car but its a great base and has BBQ amenities, internet access in reception for a charge and you can book activities out on the reef etc with reception. My husband and I stayed in a ground level 1 bedroom plunge pool apartment. It had a separate bedroom and ensuite, lounge/kitchen area and another room with a chair and desk that we used to store luggage. The plunge pool area was in its own courtyard with a shade sail and deck chairs. The only drawback to this area was that the 1st floor apartment above us had a balcony that had a view into our courtyard but at the time no-one was staying there. All amenities were brand new and the kitchen was well equipped for self catering. Our friends stayed in 1 bedroom swimout apartments with their own deck area and deck chairs straight out to the lagoon pools. There was ample parking and the BBQ area is great - it can cater for large groups. Overall a great property to stay at; staff were very helpful and friendly and the accommodation is great for the price. We would definitely stay here again. There are first floor apartments with spa on the balcony but once you get here, you will want to have a swimout!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Mintus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

The location is somewhat remote being over 3 Kms from Port Douglas, but there is a good bus service. There is little else in the area.
Our stay was out of season when occupation was very low and hence very quiet.
There are no facilities except the 4 swimming pools, no restaurant, no bar no housekeeping service, or anything else. Just 4 pools and numerous cramped units.
Our Spar Suite was very small and uncomfortable due to lack of furniture and kitchen equipment which would normally be expected in accommodation at the price charged.
The kitchenette, was useless, not a toaster or microwave, and the cutlery and other items were the absolute minimum. We have stayed in better motels.
There are something close to 200 units, crammed close up to the 4 rectangular pools.
Lack of privacy is a problem and each unit is very overlooked, the noise from children in the pool is constant during the day and evenings. What it would be like during peak season does not bear thinking about !!! Very poor value. If this place is what is commonly called a "RESORT" then in future we will avoid them. There seem to be a
lot of Resorts in Port Douglas, hopefully they will not all be like The Oaks Lagoons Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0min0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
623 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Address: 2 Langley Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £57 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing