We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Australian Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After our great escape from Cairns we drove to Port Douglas.This looked better. We had no idea about how long we would stay untill we came across Macrossan House.Trev and Pip showed us room 9. We were sold. Our own little piece of paradise in the middle of the main street.We stayed. Car safely stored under cover. We never saw it again for 3 days. Quiet, safe, clean with a balcony over looking the cleanest swimming pool you will ever find.We did everything on our list and a couple more thanks to the helpful booking service provided by Trev. We would recommend this accomodation to those looking for a relaxing way to enjoy the area.The reef trip booked by Trev was just the ticket.Thanks very much for everthing. Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: It is great to be within easy reach of shopping dining and entertainment. No car required from here.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed 7 nights at Macrossan House. It was spotlessly clean, good size apartment and bathroom.
Great location right in the centre of town, with easy walk to everything we needed. The pool is heated and a good size for apartments.
Very helpful managers, always smiling.
We stayed on the top floor and although there is no view other than the pool area, it was pleasant sitting on the balcony for meals, and watching the birds and sky at dusk.
We will go back again. Judy White

Room Tip: I thin k the top floor is the best
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 731judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The best things about this place is the management and the location. It is on the main street but set back for quiet next to coles, a bottle store and a pharmacy. The managers are friendly and go the extra mile to help, suggesting tours and restaurants etc. the unit has no view but has everything you need and is clean and modern. The bathroom is small but ok and has a good shower, we hate the trickling kind! All in all very comfortable. Great air con , a necessity here!

Room Tip: Has stairs up and down to most rooms and amenities, if you are elderly or disabled ask for ground fl...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

It's in the middle of town on the main shopping & restaurant strip, yet set back from the road, so quiet for a good night's sleep. The supermarket is a few doors up so you can put the kitchenette to good use and the room was ample for space. There's not much of a view, if that matters to you and the pool is in an internal courtyard and not so sunny. Management were extremely helpful and the undercroft parking was handy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably best.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was our third visit to Port Douglas and as with the other two we wanted accommodation in a central location.
Macrossan House fitted that requirement perfectly - located in Macrossan st close to the Supermarket Restaurants and other places of interest.
The apartment we had was light, airy, very comfortable, a lovely balcony overlooking the Pool, well maintained and with all the amenties necessary for a pleasant stay.

Nothing was too much trouble for Trevor and Pip, the Managers, whether it was arranging trips, shuttle buses etc. A very well run and friendly environment.

We'll be back, and have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Port Douglas as a great place to holiday and Macrossan House as the ideal place to stay.

Pat and Bev

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatnBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Trevor and Pip are excellent hosts (managers) and we have become almost locals because we have visited so many times. It's central location with plenty of activities within walking distance make for easy access to the beaches,restaurants and shops.
A big plus for the new bathroom especially the one long slimline drawer!
You can park the car undercover right next to the unit and feel secure about it.The unit itself is extra easy living...meals on the deck and BBQ next door....See you again next winter!

Room Tip: we like the ones straight off the car park - more accessible, private and no stairs....
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

It's been three years since we stayed at Mac House. At first glance, the place is the same, spotless and comfortable. But on closer examination, you see subtle improvements. Gone are the colored bed covers, replaced with a crisp white top sheet and a swash of color with matching small pillows. The look is smarter, more modern. The bathroom has had a makeover. A new vanity with large bottom drawer (very handy for long stays), new tiling and a soft-close toilet seat. And still the large heavenly showers. The pool is now heated. Obviously all these changes helped Macrossan House win Best Boutique Hotel 2012, and well deserved. Hosts Trev and Pip stay on the ball, advising us what restaurants had changed, which ones had gone down hill and most importantly, where the best coffee is (Origin Expresso). Their attention to detail in maintaining the property and means that Mac House doesn't look old, tired or faded as one might expect for a property that is more than 20 years old. We'll be back, time and time again, as it suits our needs perfectly. 10/10.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skydivergirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 56 in Port Douglas
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#4 of 56 in Port Douglas
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments

Address: 19 Macrossan St | Queenslanld, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £62 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday Apartments Recipient of Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE of EXCELLENCE award 2012,13, 14, 15 ,16 and inducted into Trip Advisor Hall of Fame 2015.Winner Best Boutique Accommodation Port Douglas 2012, 13, 14 and Finalist 2015. Stylish boutique style holiday apartment accommodation in the centre of the village of Port Douglas. 16 Fully self-contained 1 & 2 bedroom self contained apartments set back from the main street Macrossan Street for peace and quiet to ensure a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Each super clean apartment is individually Air conditioned with Ceiling fans, Ensuite, Kitchen, Microwave, Hot plates, Fridge Freezer, Digital LCD TV, DVD & Foxtel, Private Balcony and Car park. Free Wireless Internet access from all apartments. HEATED Pool with In pool Spa area & BBQ area on site laundry.With a full onsite tour and information desk use our extensive local knowledge to get the very best from your stay in Port Douglas the Jewel of the Pacific Ring. Only a short stroll away: famous Port Douglas 4 Mile Beach, fabulous Marina Mirage, great award winning restaurants & cafes, boutique stores and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing