We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location to restaurants A+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Certificate of Excellence
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location to restaurants A+”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Management were very obliging and helpful organising airport transfers and day trips.

The apartment is central to Port Douglas with Coles next door for supplies and any number of tourist priced restaurants. Cooking was easy for 2 people with items supplied and a small hot plate. The apartment was exceptionally clean and quite. Airconds and fans. No free wifi. I took my own but optus wifi kept dropping out.

My only problem was with the pool, access & exit was via a ladder with only 2 rungs and then a drop into the water. This proved to be extremely difficult with mobility knee and back issues. Both my husband and myself had a problem with the pool entry & exit. If it was easier I would have gone to the pool for a swim more often.

If you want an affordable priced holiday in a clean apartment with restaurants,shopping marina and beach, and day trip pick ups in a central area, book here as you dont have to waste your holiday sitting in a shuttle bus and more $ going back and fowards to a resort.

If you are wanting a lazy holiday sitting around a nice pool area or easy pool access this may not suit.

We stayed for a week, and all up happy to have stayed at Macrossan House Boutique Apartments.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesliesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    68
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
213
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amerongen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

After a few holidays in Port Douglas in several places this time Macrossan House.
Ideal in the centre for shopping, going out snorkling and swimming. Everything under your hand.
And.... very quiet, the place to be

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene_Alfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Macrossan House. We have stayed here many times before and still rate "Mac House" as our favourite Port Douglas accommodation. Very centrally located, clean, quiet and very well run by Trev and Pip. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fijifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After our great escape from Cairns we drove to Port Douglas.This looked better. We had no idea about how long we would stay untill we came across Macrossan House.Trev and Pip showed us room 9. We were sold. Our own little piece of paradise in the middle of the main street.We stayed. Car safely stored under cover. We never saw it again for 3 days. Quiet, safe, clean with a balcony over looking the cleanest swimming pool you will ever find.We did everything on our list and a couple more thanks to the helpful booking service provided by Trev. We would recommend this accomodation to those looking for a relaxing way to enjoy the area.The reef trip booked by Trev was just the ticket.Thanks very much for everthing. Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: It is great to be within easy reach of shopping dining and entertainment. No car required from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed 7 nights at Macrossan House. It was spotlessly clean, good size apartment and bathroom.
Great location right in the centre of town, with easy walk to everything we needed. The pool is heated and a good size for apartments.
Very helpful managers, always smiling.
We stayed on the top floor and although there is no view other than the pool area, it was pleasant sitting on the balcony for meals, and watching the birds and sky at dusk.
We will go back again. Judy White

Room Tip: I thin k the top floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 731judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
268 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The best things about this place is the management and the location. It is on the main street but set back for quiet next to coles, a bottle store and a pharmacy. The managers are friendly and go the extra mile to help, suggesting tours and restaurants etc. the unit has no view but has everything you need and is clean and modern. The bathroom is small but ok and has a good shower, we hate the trickling kind! All in all very comfortable. Great air con , a necessity here!

Room Tip: Has stairs up and down to most rooms and amenities, if you are elderly or disabled ask for ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

It's in the middle of town on the main shopping & restaurant strip, yet set back from the road, so quiet for a good night's sleep. The supermarket is a few doors up so you can put the kitchenette to good use and the room was ample for space. There's not much of a view, if that matters to you and the pool is in an internal courtyard and not so sunny. Management were extremely helpful and the undercroft parking was handy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 56 in Port Douglas
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#6 of 56 in Port Douglas
604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments

Property: Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Address: 19 Macrossan St | Queenslanld, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday Apartments Recipient of Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE of EXCELLENCE award 2012,13, 14, 15 ,16 and inducted into Trip Advisor Hall of Fame 2015.Winner Best Boutique Accommodation Port Douglas 2012, 13, 14 and Finalist 2015. Stylish boutique style holiday apartment accommodation in the centre of the village of Port Douglas. 16 Fully self-contained 1 & 2 bedroom self contained apartments set back from the main street Macrossan Street for peace and quiet to ensure a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Each super clean apartment is individually Air conditioned with Ceiling fans, Ensuite, Kitchen, Microwave, Hot plates, Fridge Freezer, Digital LCD TV, DVD & Foxtel, Private Balcony and Car park. Free Wireless Internet access from all apartments. HEATED Pool with In pool Spa area & BBQ area on site laundry.With a full onsite tour and information desk use our extensive local knowledge to get the very best from your stay in Port Douglas the Jewel of the Pacific Ring. Only a short stroll away: famous Port Douglas 4 Mile Beach, fabulous Marina Mirage, great award winning restaurants & cafes, boutique stores and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing