We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some not so good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaches Port Douglas
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Excellent location, right across from Four Mile Beach, and across from the Surf Lifesaving Club, where there is excellent food. We booked two suites.

The receptionist seemed to know little about the place, and was quite lacking in initiative. We had booked one of the room as being a room for a disabled person, but while it was possible to use a wheelchair there for the most part, it was not a proper disabled room. The shower was not designed for disabled access, so we asked for a plastic chair to put in the shower, and received a lecture about the lack of safety of using a plastic chair. Only because we insisted, did we got one put in the shower . The toilet was inaccessible and with no handrails, so was difficult for the person in the wheelchair.

The second suite was actually on two levels, which I didn't like because you had to be careful going up and down the two stairs which were between the dining area and the living room. Beds were lovely. The pool was heated (it was midwinter so that was appreciated) and was beautiful. The units did not seem to be well maintained, marked walls needed a paint.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    43
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
76
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed here recently with little girl. We looked at Terraces first but decided for the two of us it was too small and a little depressing really! So we chose to upgrade and stay in a two bedroom apartment at Beaches. The location is fantastic as other reviewers have stated. Pity it was so very windy when we were there as the beach is amazing and right across the road. The pool offered a welcome respite from the wind though, however the water in the pool is not heated so it was too cold for us to swim in. The beach water is warmer!

We found the apartment was a great size and offered almost everything you need to self cater. The furniture is fine (although one of the beds in the second bdroom was so soft I fell off the edge when I sat on it to read my daughter a story!) except for in the dining room. The chairs in the apartment we stayed in were awful. The leather-look fabric on the chairs was completely peeling off. I've attached a picture. We didn't actually use the dining table so we weren't too fussed about the chairs but if you planned on entertaining, it's really awful.

I found that the room wasn't that clean. There were a few dead bugs squashed on the wall and curtains that no one had ever bothered wiping off. Really not that hard ... The room is only cleaned once a week and we were there for five nights so it wasn't cleaned whilst we were there. This meant there was lots of sand pooling in the shower and everywhere else. There are brooms and some cleaning items provided. But I don't go on holidays for 5 days to clean!

The shower screens also need replacing - they look really old and mouldy. Same for the spa bath in the adults bathroom. Time to upgrade it. The hot water that came out of the taps was brown. I had a brown spa bath. Not very enticing! Time for a new hot water system perhaps. This may not be the case for all apartments, I did overhear reception talking about renovations for some of them. I think they're all privately owned.

The room was good value as I booked it last minute and during off peak. I wouldn't be happy about paying the full rack rates at peak time given the room needs a bit of work. Service was excellent though, Lesley was very helpful. I loved that there were buckets, spades and beach chairs available in a shared cupboard for guests' use.Great cafe (albeit expensive as is everything in Port Douglas) at the front of the apartments as well.

We had a great time and enjoyed where we stayed. We would probably stay there again but only in off peak season when rates are more affordable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenGuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Had first stayed at Beaches about 7 years ago as a childless (younger!) couple, but this time with two young kids, after searching for something different, we decided we'd return. So glad we did. With kids this time, it confirmed to us that Beaches has the best all-round location in Port Douglas, bar none. Across the road from the ocean swimming enclosure (and patrolled beach). Across the road from the laid-back licenced surf living club and bistro (with playground for the kids), a flat 5 min walk into the centre of town, and off any main roads as well, so its nice and quiet in the evenings.

Apartments were spacious and well featured. Cable TV, ceiling fans and AC in all rooms, fully featured kitchen, polishing floors, master bathroom with spa (although ours was not working at the time), laundry in the 2nd bathroom. 2nd TV in master bedroom, and separate dining area too. Very quiet rooms - we did not hear a thing from the next door neighbours at any time, nor any noise out on the street at all.

Enjoyed the pool and deck each day, and utilised the Wi-fi and bbq area on several occasions. Friendly staff too.

This is not a criticism but did notice that perhaps the rooms could be due for some work in the next few years - re decor, bathrooms and some of the trim around the rooms. Don't think anything has been done to them since they were built, which is a credit to them, because I think they are nearly 20 years old, but our bathrooms were looking just a little tired.

Still, if we come back to "Port", it will be hard to go past this place as an all-round package.

Room Tip: For convenience, you'd have to go for a ground floor unit (we did) - ask upon booking - especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJCJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We have been to Beaches for a number of years now and are very happy to find the place is still as good as the first time. We come as a family group and the pool offers many hours of enjoyment. The apartments are spacious and clean and the office staff are friendly and very helpful. The location is the best in town if you like to go for beach walks. Cannot get any closer.
Another big plus is the cafe on site which has excellent coffees and food and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

we arrived late at night and they had left the key out for us.it was very hot and humid.we walked in and all the lights were on all the air cons were onand all the fan s were running but they did not leave a cold stubby .the accommodation was excelent and the unit was very spacious and comfortable.the units are about half a kilometer from the village and the potected swimming was just across the road.if i go back i will be staying at beaches

Room Tip: i would stay on the ground floor all units overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gorbar34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lejre, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We spent two weeks there and it felt just like being home. Not that it resembled our home at all, not our house and not our climate, but still. We had a roomely, airy, and spotlessly clean apartment full of light and with all the facilities we could want. There was something about the decor that made it feel like home, light-coloured walls and tasteful "brik-a-brak" things, like an aquarium with sand and seashells that was made into a lamp. The place is 20m from 4-mile beach and has two tastefully designed pool areas, not to mention a multitude of barbecoue areas with modern gas grilles. From our balcony we enjoyed the parrots and kokaburras during daytime - and the fruitbats at dusk.The reception was fantastic, again with a homely feel, always ready to give us advice on where to go and when to do it as well as giving us phone numbers or make bookings for us. At the reception was free internet as well - 24hours!! We had two weeks in absolute paradise and would love to stay at Beaches again. Perfect place to reload batteries!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOLGA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Beaches is a great place for a holiday. The location is perfect, being across from the beach and its an easy walk to Macrossan Street. Our whole family enjoyed the pool and has a lovely outlook across to the beach. The rooms have everything you need and are nice and spacious. We prefer the ground floor rooms as you can just walk out to the pool. We have booked to go back next year we liked is so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KERRI R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reflections of Port Douglas
Reflections of Port Douglas
#27 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Port Douglas

Property: Beaches Port Douglas
Address: 19 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beaches Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaches Port Douglas is the ideal holiday getaway for couples and families. Each self contained apartment provides large living areas and spacious bedrooms with stunning views out to the Coral Sea. Each apartment has its own laundry with washer & dryer and pool towels are provided in each apartment. The property offers a selection of two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies or terraces. The property is perfectly located on The Esplanade close to restaurants, cafes, boutique shopping and across from the famous Four Mile Beach. Beaches Port Douglas offers a complimentary barbeque area, large resort-style swimming pool, undercover car parking and tour desk services. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Beaches Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing