We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“306 beaches - superb apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaches Port Douglas
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“306 beaches - superb apartment”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at apartment 306 the beaches for 5 nights and loved every minute. The apartment was very clean, spacious and in an ideal location just on the beach. Even though we were on the ground floor, the lush foliage around the pool gave us privacy. At night it was very quiet and peaceful. The kitchen is fully equipped which was great to make the occasional meal or snack. We enjoyed the private balcony by day and the comfy couch when returning from dinner. I especially liked the walk in robe - there can never be enough space for a ladies clothes on holidays / ample room for 2 people. We would definitely come back and refer our friends and family. Book via http://www.beachaccommodationportdouglas.com.au - enjoy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    47
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
80
48
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK, London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned to Melbourne from a week in beautiful Port Douglas and stayed in apartment 306. This ground floor, 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom apartment is stunning and very spacious. It was ideal for our family of 4.

We were told about it through friends that stayed there in March and their recommendation was to stay in 306 because it was a superbly renovated apartment, had a great feel about it and was so close to everything. They were right.

We went to the website www.beachaccommodationportdouglas.com.au and got all the details directly from the owners. They gave us a good price and the booking procedure was easy.

Just a hint to all. As this apartment is not managed by the onsite managers at Beaches, book through the website. They call it "306 On The Beach" and it is a good description of the apartment. It is about 30 metres from the 4 mile beach. Haven't got any negatives to say about our stay at all.

By coincidence, we were there for what's called "Carnivale". Last Saturday, down at the Sugar Wharf (as it is called), they had a food and wine show happening. The sun was shining and we watched cooking demonstrations, live bands (the kids loved that) and my husband and I enjoyed a nice glass of wine. Sunday was the Seafood Extravaganza at The Marina and again it was a great day. The sun shone, the live entertainment was fantastic and the best thing of the day was the "Barra Burger". Wow. We have never tasted Barramundi like this before. Absolutely superb.

Another highlight was to buy freshly cooked prawns directly from the fisherman on his boat. We have never tasted such fresh prawns and they were fantastic. We strongly recommend "Carnivale" to everyone. It was a great weekend of activities for all ages. The kids loved it.

We highly rate apartment 306 and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StevieLUK_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked in to stay at Beaches for 9 nights, to arrive late at night, early morning, due to late flight on Thursday 18th April 2014
Arrived at beaches, reception closed, rang the after hours number, no answer, rang security, they had no details of my arrival. They also tried to contact the after hours manager to no avail.

To cut a long story short we walked the streets of Port Douglas until 9.00 am the following morning as we could not get into our booked & paid for accommodation, let me tell you, at 4.00 am in the morning in Port Douglas, nothing is open except for the 24hour Gym.

Finally found a Beaches employee, the maintenance manager, at approx. 9.00 the following morning who went to the managers residence to advise of our arrival.

The manager had no record of our booking and the only available apartment was with no air conditioner as it was broken. We were offered at a later date an air conditioned apartment, mind you that was all the manager offered, no real apology for our inconvenience, no offer of a refund for our 1st nights accommodation until I requested a refund.

The only good thing about Beach's is the location, apartments are clean but very tired, beach towels provided are old bathroom towels, forget making a tea or coffee on arrival, no milk or sugar, forget entering property via front pool gate, no code supplied.

The overall service from Beach's except for the maintenance manager was extremely poor, I would not rate the property anymore than 3 stars and the property manager less.

Room Tip: make sure they have your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rhonda479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Beaches is perfectly positioned between the beach and the Main Street. The two bedroom apartment we have is spacious and has everything you could need including a fully equipped kitchen and a laundry. The communal areas are well maintained and there is plenty of parking. We would happily stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andream0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay in port Douglas. Location is opposite Four Mile beach, and a couple of hundred metres from Macrossan Street. Also across the road is the surf Club, where dinner is a delight.Easy walk to get into the heart of the restaurant/shopping precinct, but nice and quiet for sleeping. We stayed in a 2 bedroom Ocean view unit. Fabulous! the apartment was large,clean and well presented and had all you needed for a comfortable stay. I would highly recommend this place for families in particuliar, as everything is easy. great to have a kitchen with everything you need to cook and washing machine and dryer for laundry. The staff were friendly, polite and incredibly helpful with advice and organising transfers, tours, etc. All good!

Room Tip: Ocean Views provide the most beautiful sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 wonderful days in the penthouse at Beaches - apartment 321. Best apartment and location in Port Douglas. Modern and spacious 3 bedroom apartment literally 50 metres from the beach. Great cafe downstairs and the surf club restaurant only 50 metres away. The 6 of us loved it and will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Portdouglasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in apartment 306 after finding it online. It was a breeze to book and the place was immaculate. Everything is new, and it felt really fancy for an apartment...we felt so spoilt, it was like staying in a hotel.

While staying on the ground floor doesn't provide direct ocean views, we didn't have to clamber down any stairs every time we went out, and we had the pool right outside our room – the access was really good. The beach was just across the road, so we walked over there quite a lot.

When we were at the apartment, we spent most of our time on the balcony. We bought food from the local supermarket, cooked dinner in the apartment and ate on the balcony – peaceful and intimate. Definitely a holiday I would like to book again!

It's worth noting that to book the apartments in Beaches, you need to go to the direct person/website to book the apartment you're after. For apartment 306, go to www.beachaccommodationportdouglas.com.au – there's photos of the apartment on there too. We found that not all of them are renovated or look the same, so it's worth looking into before booking!

Room Tip: Apartment 306 is newly renovated – beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rainbowbrite23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#36 of 42 in Port Douglas
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#20 of 42 in Port Douglas
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Reflections of Port Douglas
Reflections of Port Douglas
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 42 in Port Douglas
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Port Douglas

Property: Beaches Port Douglas
Address: 19 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beaches Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaches Port Douglas is the ideal holiday getaway for couples and families. Each self contained apartment provides large living areas and spacious bedrooms with stunning views out to the Coral Sea. Each apartment has its own laundry with washer & dryer and pool towels are provided in each apartment. The property offers a selection of two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies or terraces. The property is perfectly located on The Esplanade close to restaurants, cafes, boutique shopping and across from the famous Four Mile Beach. Beaches Port Douglas offers a complimentary barbeque area, large resort-style swimming pool, undercover car parking and tour desk services. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beaches Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing