We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life With The Lions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Douglas Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Life With The Lions”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Relocted here following a rapid exit from poor accommodation a few metres further down the street. An excellent choice. Very helpful hosts and a perfect location for the beach and the shops/bars. Clean, modern and very well equipped. Would return in a flash.

Room Tip: All seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTBARGOED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hi Robert
Thanks for your review.
Hope you have your tickets booked for 2017 in New Zealand go Wallabies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
109
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just spent a night here with a friend from Melbourne , who has not been to Port Douglas before. Apartment very spacious & modern. Super comfy bed ( I'm very fussy , due to back problems!) Location just perfect for beach, shopping, restaurants. Free onsite parking is terrific also Downside, the constant traffic noise due to being on the corner of Davidson & Macrossan Streets. Not the place to go if you want quiet time by the pool or in your room. I really don't think I could stay here for an extended period because of that. Also, you need to be fit as the only way to the upper levels is by the stairs - not great when lugging suitcases etc. David was most helpful with carrying bags, however.
We had a wander through the shops after checkout and David very kindly allowed us to leave some things in the fridge. A nice touch, thank you:-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuppence61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review. During August, our peak month over high season, traffic on the roads increases more than other months. You were also here over the weekend, where Port Douglas hosts the iconic Sunday Markets, fine dining and all of the regular tours to the Reef and Rainforest, that bring many tourists and locals such as yourself into the village. The plus to being located on a corner gives guests views to the Daintree or Flagstaff Hill if you are on the upper floors, and the 4 units on the ground floor have the tropical garden setting. Which ever room you are in you are spared looking out into another resort or the back of shops and restaurants.

Dave & Karenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

An excellent location on the corner of Macrossan and Davidson streets. Rooms are well designed and very comfortable. Hosts were very pleasant and helpful.
The only downside is that our apartment faced on to Davidson Street which has a lot of traffic noise when on the balcony or with the door open. Also being charged for a third roll of toilet paper after 7 days was a bit petty.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gazza0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank for taking the time to review our property. We are a "self catering" holiday apartment business, and we supply guests a generous STARTER pack on arrival. You would have had to buy your toilet paper, among other necessities from somewhere - we appreciate you helping our business, and yes our location is excellent however; we are also on the corner at the quieter end of Macrossan St and consequently subject to some traffic noise during the day.

Dave & Karenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was recommended the Port Douglas Apartments by a friend who while she hadn't stayed there had had a look at them. I was very happy with my stay. Lovely one-bedroom apartment with bathroom, kitchen and living room (Wi-Fi, Foxtel and stereo) and private outdoor/balcony area - all very comfortable and nicely furnished with airconditioning and overhead fans. Great location with just a few minutes walk to the beach and literally seconds into town. The swimming pool isn't big but is great for cooling off (there's also a spa) and has tables and chairs and sun lounges. There's also a laundry for guests to use as well as a bbq area. It was handy having my own kitchen as I could also self-cater when I felt like it - small supermarket is close by and a larger Coles down the street. David and Karenne are lovely owner/managers and have a lovely property. I'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: As my room was facing the main road (Davidson Street) it could at times be a bit noisy in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you to your friend for recommending us. We are fortunate to have a great location, and we are pleased to hear that our property fulfilled all your needs.
kind regards
Karenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

If your really lucky when you contact these guys and they have the dates you want grab it! This is a lovely quiet, modern, comfortable place to stay! I always think a holiday is when you don't have to drive anywhere and you certainly don't need to here! Everything is with in walking distance, its a very easy holiday! Our hosts were fantastic, we couldn't speak more highly of the place! Thank you for having us!!

Room Tip: If your not so good with stairs, pick a ground floor room, but if you like morning and afternoon sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDouglasDavid, Manager at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for the great review, and it's fantastic to hear that your holiday was perfect.

Dave & Karenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My boyfriend James & I had the most delightful stay here for 6 nights in early July 2013. Great apartments with everything we could have wanted - awesome shower, big comfy bed and full kitchen so we could save some money by cooking up some local produce. Karenne & David are knowledgable, friendly, hard-working hosts! From arriving tired & hungry and worried about sold-out tours on the first day, we left thoroughly relaxed, well-fed and watered and energized thanks to their knowledge of Port Douglas and their recommendations for tours and activities! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Champagne_swing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi Guys
Thanks for your review it was fun having you guys here and Karenne and I where glad you had a good holiday hopefully one day we will see you both back here to discover a little bit more of our lovely little sea side village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just returned home from a wonderful relaxing holiday at Pt Douglas Apartments. We were within walking distance to everything. The beautiful four mile beach is 2 minutes one way, Zinc restaurant is straight across the road with many more restaurants on the 5 minute walk to the Marina. We loved being so close to everything without any of the hustle and bustle.
Our Apartment was lovely and had everything in it we needed and the managers David and Karenne were fantastic. They were very friendly and helpful and made our stay at Pt Douglas very enjoyable. Our apartment was modern, well equipped and very clean. We had free Wi Fi in our room and Foxtel on our TV. There is a lovely BBQ area which we used often and a free laundry. We also enjoyed relaxing on our balcony when we weren’t off enjoying all that Port Douglas has to offer.
We will definitely being going back to stay at Port Douglas Apartments and are already planning our next trip up with our friends.
Thanks David and Karenne for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maladel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thanks for you review.
We are glad you found our location to your liking and yes we are very spoilt with the options we have around us.
Karenne and I are still finding new things to see and do and we love passing on this information to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Apartments

Property: Port Douglas Apartments
Address: 63 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Douglas Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quite end of Macrossan st with only 100m to 4 mile beach and 50m to some of Port's best shopping and restaurants, there should be no need to hire a car.Our rooms are modern with a full size kitchen, separate bedroom and ensuite style bathroom, each apartment has it's own private balcony or patio with garden or Macrossan street views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Port Douglas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 16 Port Douglas Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing