We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mysterious & Intriguing”

Flames of the Forest
Book In Advance
More Info
US$150.25*
and up
Flames of the Forest Dining Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Flames of the Forest transports you into a world beyond your imagination so relaxing and uplifting you will never want to leave. A completely intimate, natural experience set within the candle lit rainforest under a black silk canopy highlighted by crystal and budlight chandeliers, Flames of the Forest will create an unforgettable memory at an extraordinary venue. Tuesday and Thursday nights feature two local Aboriginal brothers sharing their remarkable culture with you during the evening. The performance features a cultural background, story telling, didgeridoo playing and song. The rainforest is the natural, authentic backdrop for this spiritual and mystical culture, a performance unique to Flames of the Forest, where you will learn about their timeless oral traditions. Saturday night is for the romantic at heart in this magical place. This intimate evening features a six course tropical tasting menu and quality Australian wines whilst being serenaded by our solo acoustic guitarist. Perfect for honeymooners, small wedding receptions and those seeking a unique dining experience, Flames of the Forest is truly food for the soul.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The whole experience was very mysterious and intriguing right from the transfer drop off, to dinner in a luxurious setting amongst a forest clearning surrounded by twinkling fairy lights.. and the aboriginal cultural experience, to transfer pick up. We met interesting couples from rural NSW and the States; enjoyed red wine and contemporary Aussie tucker. An unforgettable dinner

Thank ilovereggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear ilovereggae,

Everyone loves fairy lights! They really do evoke that feeling of mystery into a night. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere and the Aboriginal performance - it certainly is very special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"story telling"
in 29 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 14 reviews
"fairy lights"
in 13 reviews
"magical night"
in 10 reviews
"pavlova"
in 8 reviews
"candle lit path"
in 4 reviews
"amazing dining experience"
in 4 reviews
"kangaroo loin"
in 4 reviews
"flowed freely"
in 4 reviews
"food was wonderful"
in 5 reviews
"tropical north"
in 4 reviews
"worth every cent"
in 8 reviews
"my partner"
in 10 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 5 reviews
"palm cove"
in 5 reviews
"fish"
in 11 reviews
"didgeridoo"
in 30 reviews
Filter

166 - 170 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Was excited about Flames of Forest when I found Out I'd be doing it during my trip to Port Douglas. Was with a small group of friends but all of the other tables we couples. The tables were rally spaced apart so seemed like everyone was having an intomate night. Except for us! The food was great, highlight was a crocodile pate. The ladies pouring the wine didn't stop (hic!) and the Scottish guy on the guitar managed to completely complement the atmosphere of being in the middle of a forest. Wasn't too far from town but felt like it was. Wouldn't have fancied driving home myself. Think I'd definitely do this again, am sure the food would be different next time. Not that I wouldn't enjoy the same menu again. Top night. Worth noting there's no mobile reception which is cool as you get to switch off although I would like to check-in on Facebook. First world problem!! A very memorable evening. Neal

1  Thank NealOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear NealOC,

Guessing you were a wedding guest for the gorgeous couple last Saturday! Thank you for writing such a lovely review - we heard on Monday the evening had been full of love and laughter from all the guests present, and Stu our guitarist told us he had played a special song for the bride on the night. Delighted you enjoyed it and we do pass on all our reviews to our staff who love hearing about the great time everyone has!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Ohmygosh, what a beautiful experience for our group!! Surreal!! Dining under the stars and with the amazing way it was set up, with candles and tree lights!! What a great venue!!!

Thank pjktd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear pjktd,

Thank you for your lovely review of Flames of the Forest. It is wonderful to hear your group had such a great time in our beautiful forest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our second visit to this attraction was just as amazing at the first. The food was excellent. The wine was plentiful. The staff were extra friendly. Eating in the middle of the rainforest at night was romantic and atmospheric. No other dining experience is like it. A must to visit if you're in this area of Queensland.

Thank MyrGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear MyrGor,

It is such an honour for us to have return visitors from so far away! Thank you for including us in your return journey to the region, it is wonderful you had such a great second experience with us. We hope to see you for a third!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What an incredible and unique experience. Amazing food, service and the atmosphere INCREDIBLE! Very difficult to describe what an amazing place this is to others. You need to experience it to understand.

Thank Jolee262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jolee262,

Thank you for your very lovely review! We are so pleased your night was so incredible and that you enjoyed the rainforest atmosphere - sometimes it is a bit hard to describe it, but you certainly felt it which is awesome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flames of the Forest also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Flames of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing