We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Autumn delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Douglas B & B Four Mile Beach
Ranked #3 of 3 Port Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2011

As we drive through town and see the parking lots of the big resorts, our choice to stay at this lovely B&B is reinforced. It’s very peaceful here amongst the palms and bamboo. Every morning we sit by the pool and we are presented with a platter of exotic fruits, as well as eggs, avocado, brie, toast and good plunger coffee. Sometimes we are presented with extra treats, like this morning’s mango lassi. In the evenings we sit and read books from the shelves here and drink wine while the gecko’s skitter and chirp, the catbirds meow (it’s true) and candles burn throughout the courtyard. It is almost June, and the nights are warm, I type this review in a singlet.

Our hosts, Frieda & Colin, are what make this place more than a tourist destination. They are unobtrusive, thoughtful and kind. Last night Colin appeared, presented me with a coffee liqueur and a wry smile, then disappeared as quietly as he had come.

I am a wheelchair user, and this property has been ideal. Frieda & Colin have put a lot of thought into activities in the local region that would work for me, and I’ve been following their advice. My partner is a kite surfer, we are just metres from the south end of Four Mile Beach, one of the best kite surfing destinations in the world.

This review may sound too good to be true – feel free to read my other reviews, they don’t all glow like this one.

After a few days here we extended our stay. We intend to return next year and perhaps this will become a yearly event.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wheeliegirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2011

We arrived at this lovely B and B rather late in the evening but we were nevertheless warmly welcomed by our personable hosts Colin and Frieda. We were shown our accomodation and invited to shake off our travel tiredness with a wonderful dip in the saltwater pool. (So much nicer than a chlorine pool.) The service we experienced overall was excellent. Colin and Frieda it seems, are long term residents of the far north and were well able to point us in the right direction to experience the delights and activities that the area could offer. We found them both to be very helpful and accomodating but not intrusive.
The pool area and lush gardens did provide a really relaxing tropical environment and we had several nice chats with our hosts over a glass of wine or two.
We were provided with a large room and a good sized bed which we found to be quite comfortable, the room faced onto the pool/garden area. Itwas equipped with air con and ceiling fans and we also requested floor fans as we were not keen on air con. These were available. The room had its own shower facilities and coffee/tea making. We noted that Internet access was also available.
Breakfast was always provided at the time requested, including some very early departures! it was delicious tropical fare and substantial. The location was quiet and perfect for those wanting to be out of the hubbub of the main town, but not if you wanted to be amongst it.
We had a car and it was about a 5 min drive into Port Douglas' main street. The fabulous 4 mile beach was a short stroll through the beach vegetation and an excellent restaurant, the " beach shack", and a hotel/pub were a few minutes walk away.
Overall we were very impressed with the service, the room offered, the location (for us) and amenities provided. We will certainly return there when next in the tropical north.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Pros:
*Kind and well-meaning service from hosts
*Host treated my sunburn by cutting a piece off of her aloe plant and applying to my back
*Free use of beach towels
*Close to beach
*Away from touristy town center
*Big room

Cons:
*Not as secluded as depicted on the site
*Next door neighbor playing loud music
*Lack of privacy
*Uncomfortable bed
*No Internet access
*Breakfast didn't have meat/eggs/protein

I stayed two nights and had my own car, so driving up into the town was no problem. If I had to rely on the bus or taxi, I might have been frustrated.

The two best meals I had in Australia were at the restaurants that the hosts recommended. Very grateful for the inside info.

I relate to the previous reviewer who said she feels bad about complaining. Frieda and Colin are essentially hosting you in their home and do their best to make you feel welcome. If I were actually a guest in their home, and not paying a nightly rate, I wouldn't dream of bringing up the stuff I didn't like. But, we are here to review places to stay. It would behoove the hosts to adopt a more professional and detached posture, but my hope would be that it would not be at the expense of their friendliness.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RomoRomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friedaPortDouglas, Owner at Port Douglas B & B Four Mile Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

Thank you very much for your review, it's always helpful to see how one can improve one's services.
We are happy to tell you that we now have internet access.
Our neighbours are not noisy very often, sorry their music bothered you.
We have a vegetarian b&b, so the proteins are restricted to the yoghurt, eggs, cheese and milk.
But the main ingredients are fruits of the season.
Sorry about the bed, most of our guests tell us they find it very comfortable, but tastes vary.
Lack of privacy...
Don't quite know how to react to that. ....
With most of our guest we seem to get the balance right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at 4-Mile B&B for 3 nights at the end of a week's holiday in Queensland. We chose it on the basis of it being away from the intensity of Port Douglas centre, and due to the excellent reviews it had received on Tripadvisor.

We had a mixed experience...
The positives:
- beautiful garden and pool
- room was spacious (but see below)
- walking distance from beach (good beach to photograph, walk along, not so much for swimming)
- Colin was open, charming and lovely
- walking distance to just one restaurant, but it's a good one (The Beach Shack)
- a good breakfast

The not-so-positives
- the least comfortable nights' sleep either of us has had in a long time. The bottom sheet was old and far too small for the bed, so needed to get up countless times to attempt to tuck it back in. The pillows were solid, enormous lumps of unyielding sponge that would give any chiropractor nightmares. The first time I've ever heard my husband complain about his pillow! Very unsupportive mattress. Nasty odour of damp (but it's a humid area, so perhaps that's unavoidable?)
- there are ceiling fans, but neither are actually above the bed which is where you need them!. In the end we resorted to aircon, which I never use, but had no choice.
- cleanliness: the fridge in the room was dirty; the teaspoon for tea/coffee making was sticky, crawling in ants and had someone's hair hanging off it. Bits of previous guests' food was on the floor and table, again with ants crawling all over.

And I feel bad saying this, as she is a very well-meaning woman, but Frieda was a very unrelaxing hostess. The moment we arrived, hot, tired and dying to just get into the pool, she insisted on taking us through endless brochures, despite us saying repeatedly that we already knew the area well, and simply wanted to lie by the pool and do nothing. Our first morning she was sweeping outside our bedroom door at 5.50am! She very much likes things just so, and you need to comply! Her intentions are well-placed, but she was extremely intense and made us feel oddly ill at ease.

Overall - a pretty spot, but we wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HSMjaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friedaPortDouglas, Owner at Port Douglas B & B Four Mile Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

So sorry for your unpleasant experience.
It's a pity you didn't tell us anything, we could have easily have addressed most of the issues.
Sheets are easily changed if found to be unsatisfactory, ditto pillows (we have a wide variety).
We have pedestal fans available to reinforce the two ceiling fans and the air conditioning if required.
We are in the tropics an are aware of extreme caution regarding eating utensils in guests rooms.
We live in an uneasy truce with the ants and try to be as rigourous as possible but are occasionally outwitted!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I cannot recommend this B&B too highly. Excellence is about attention to detail and going the extra mile -the fresh milk in the fridge,the fresh coffee and cafetiere in the room, the pool (where Colin gave snorkelling lessons to my 9 year old grandson),the endless supply of beach towels and the clothes washing facilities are a few examples of the "extras" on offer.
The magnificent Four Mile Beach is a short walk through the trees opposite and the garden is a beautiful,peaceful haven - an excellent place to enjoy Frieda's healthy yet sumptuous breakfasts. The nearby Beach Shack restaurant serves high quality, good value evening meals - another reason to be based here.
Colin and Frieda are the best hosts you could wish for - friendly, courteous, knowlegeable and very good humoured. They know where to go, where to eat and even where the cheapest petrol is to be found!!!Anyone staying in Port Douglas should head for 59 Reef Street - you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Stayed for 6 nights in the run up to Christmas and had a fantastic time. Location is great, the B&B itself home away from home (except warmer!). Frieda and Colin welcomed us into their home and helped make our trip a memorable one. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Would definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emu19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

My fiance and I stayed with Colin and Frieda at the beginning of January for one night.
We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted warmly and shown to our room. The room (with en suite) was clean and comfortable with air conditioning and fan. The public areas of Colin and Frieda's home were equally welcoming.
We were given lots of advice as to the best places to visit locally and were invited to join them for an early evening glass of wine, over which we were able to learn something of their lives and they of ours. We were also able to firm up our plans of visiting Daintree and Cape Tribulation the following day with the benefit of local advice.
Although the beach is only yards away, Port Douglas town, along with shops and eateries, is not within walking distance which was the only small negative. On the positive there was a restaurant within walking distance which would allow you to leave the car behind.
On the whole, a very friendly B&B that we would happily revisit, and the breakfast was a favourite of our trip!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weirdpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.6 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas B & B Four Mile Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas B & B Four Mile Beach

Address: 59 Reef Street | Four Mile Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Douglas
Price Range: £219 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas B & B Four Mile Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and peaceful bed and breakfast,on the beach, 4 miles away from busy Port Douglas. One of only a few real b&b s in Port Douglas. A minute's walk to the beach, two minutes' walk to very nice restaurants, bistro and bus services. Every morning a lovely tropical breakfast is served, outside,in the court yard. It consists of the best tropical fruits in season, breads, honey and home made yoghurt, fruit juice and freshly brewed tea and coffee. This is truly open-air living! There is a large swimming pool to keep you cool. The b&b is in separate guestwing and gives you (and us) privacy and your own entrance. There are only only two rooms, each with their own bathroom, fridge, air conditioning and queen size bed. There are no cooking facilities, though you can make your own tea and coffee. The breezeway, the court yard and garden with lots trees, bamboo,bougainvillea,local plants, birds and butterflies are all your territory. We are glad to offer you local knowledge and are happy to help you find the tours and trips that suit you best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Port Douglas B & B Four Mile Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing