We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed for 8 nights, 4 adults in a 2 room apartment. The place was clean, spacious and well appointed. Breakfasts on the (2) balconies was just perfect. The apartments are very close to the beach and just a few minutes walk to town. It was very quiet and relaxing. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

Family with 2 young teenagers and an eight year old - stayed for over a week in July in one of The White House apartments. The owner, Margaret, was more than accommodating with all of us, so helpful and so informative about the area with tips on where to go and what to do.
The apartment was very comfortable, extremely clean and a top location. Spacious balconies with perfect outlook across to the park and beach. We all enjoyed the very private positioning also on all the balconies, they're lovely and secluded - not looking into other hotels/apartments from any angle.
Location's perfect for kids - easy walk distance to Macrossan Street to explore or across to the beach, great for bike riding around too - everything within easy access.
None of us wanted to leave, we all had the best time :) and will definitely be back !!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangosx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed here in July 2010 for a week - two families with young children. The apartment was spacious and comfortable. The location was tremendous - very near the beach and a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. The manager, Margaret, gave us helpful advice on trips and things to do in the area. Very enjoyable and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinnymalinky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed at the White House in a 3-bedroom apartment (4 adults and 2 small kids, aged 5) and had plenty of space for all. So close to the beach, the surf club was 1 minute's walk and was very child-friendly with good food options, Macrossan Street really close and easily accessible if needed. Margaret could not have been more helpful in arranging our trips/tours and her advice was always spot on. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I have stayed in many apartments - The White House was fantastic. We have never been to Port Dougals before, I had booked for a week and paid a deposit for another apartment on the internet before we arrived. Once I saw the "booked apartment" was down the other end of 4 mile beach, I decided to forgo the deposit . Now I am not made of money however the "booked apartment" did not say where it was in reference to the Macrossan St (the major shopping/cafe/restaurant area) but 6 kms away was too far. Importantly the 15 and 16 year olds needed to be able to walk without grumbling. So once arrived we went looking and knocking. After the 7th apartment we found "The White House" and we found "Margaret". The White House was a magnificent set of 9 apartments, well appointed, plenty of room, several balconies. Margaret the Manager was extraordinarily helpful and went an extra mile to help us with points of interests, tour bookings, extra late checkout and essentally saved us our deposit. We saw many apartments, this was value for money and 1 minute to the beach (across the park and you were there). We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Definately recommend the Whitehouse. The location is perfect. Two minutes from the beach (the patrolled area with stinger net) and only 5 minutes walk to Macrossan Street but quiet. Also a very pretty location, opposite the park and with views of lush tropical plants and birds. Would recommend booking a room opposite the park and overlooking the pool. Margaret the receptionist is very friendly and helpful with booking tours etc. This is a good spot for people who want a relaxing, peaceful holiday. Also lovely apartment and seemed good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mertle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The location is close enough to the village to walk, but far enough to avoid the pounding beat of the shops. Four mile beach is a couple of minutes walking through the park. The apartment is comfortable and clean. Margaret, the manager, is relaxed, friendly, and professional. I've been staying nearly every year for 11 years, tried a few other places, but the White House is best.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thruthegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,064 reviews
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 57 in Port Douglas
313 reviews
7.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
0 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments at The White House Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments at The White House Port Douglas

Address: 19 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £82 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments at The White House Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, a delightful example of "Queenslander" architecture, nestles amid tropical gardens enhanced by myriads of colourful butterflies and birds, beautifully positioned opposite a park leading directly onto famous Four Mile Beach. Only 9 large, airy apartments – 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms, each with full kitchen & laundry & breezy balconies looking over the park onto the beach, around the corner from the main shopping and restaurant precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartments at The White House Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing