We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lagoon, onsite restaurant, facilities, and service. Ideal for families.”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lagoon, onsite restaurant, facilities, and service. Ideal for families.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed for 7 nights with our 10 month old baby, in a room with a separate living area (which included a small kitchen area with hot plate, sink, and microwave) which was perfect for our needs. A few small oversights and errors happened during our stay, but the staff were always very quick to either fix the problem or offer an alternative. Would recommend for families as the lawn area, lagoon, tennis courts, large fish ponds, and table tennis/pool table were all very entertaining and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Fecp,

Congratulations on your little one! We are so happy that we had everything in place for you to have a wonderful holiday together with your new family.

Thank you for the notes on the staff being responsive to any hiccups you had. That is a wonderful testament to how awesome they are!

We would love to see you back with us again.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    375
    192
    91
    43
See reviews for
285
543
43
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Loved this resort from the moment we arrived. Friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere, gorgeous hotel and surrounds, fabulous restaurant, funky bars...everything we were looking for.

Was lucky enough to visit the resort's new day spa. The massage was one of the best I've ever had. Could've stayed in their post-treatment relaxation room for hours!

We were only at QT for 3 days but could've easily stayed longer. Definitely on our wish list of places we would love to come back to...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Yvette L,

Yay! What a fantastic review. OMG - isn't spaQ phenomenal? It really feels like you step into a whole new world when you get a treatment. So relaxing.

Thank you for your lovely notes on your stay and we really appreciate you taking the time to let us and the TripAdvisor community know.

We would love to see you again.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here for 3 nights and boy did we regret it. The hotel got our break off to a great start by forgetting to book the airport transfers we had requested and confirmed with them the day before. When we called them from Cairns airport to enquire what had happen they asked if we could jump on the next bus which was not due for 3 hours. We declined and the eventually they arranged a private car. The next day we ordered lunch by the pool. It took 45 minutes to come and by the time we got it it was stone cold despite it being a 10 metre walk from the restaurant to the pool. The following morning we paid $56.00 for the privilege of a very average buffet breakfast. Rooms are small and dirty with uncomfortable beds (two singles pushed together to make a double). If you are thinking of visiting Port Douglas check other places out before staying here.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank themeigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Hi themeigans,

Oh no! You didn't love your stay at all. Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion on your stay. We appreciate the time taken to voice your concerns. Luckily it seems to be a one off in terms of overall experience which is a big 'phew' for us.

This doesn't diminish how much we wish you had enjoyed your stay, and would love to take care of you again if you visit Port Douglas in the future. We really hope that in your next stay you would enjoy the true QT experience that you missed out on during your stay.

Thanks again.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

An amazingly cool funky hotel done up in the Miami style. The pool area is great with a pool table and table tennis. The bar area is very cool with great cocktails however it is closed when you come back after a night out which is a bit odd considering its a bit outside the centre of Port Douglas. Breakfast was amazing with omelettes made to order on the spot - couldn't get enough of it! The rooms are very cool with kitchenettes and a living area. The patio was pretty nice and I was even greeted by a peacock while out there in the morning! I would recommend this to everyone but mostly younger couples looking for a nice getaway spot. I travelled with a bunch of other people and everyone really liked it. The staff are great and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear JWalker610,

Fun! Love an overseas reviewer. Awesome to get a good note on our breakfast as well. Bazaar is usually a real point of perfection and a couple of negative reviews on here about it had us scratching our heads!

Thanks so much for letting us know that you loved your stay. I bet you were great fun and really took in everything that the region had to offer. We would love to take care of you next time you are in town.

Go raibh maith agat.
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I've stayed at QT in surfers and sydney and had such high expectations of Port Douglas. The setting is amazing, very open and stylish. Lagoon pool was great, spent numerous hours in and next to the pool. Would have been great if the pool bar was open for longer though. 3 days there and I got 1 drink from there. Shame as I was so looking forward to it. I always thought a spa was hot too, I was wrong.
Breakfast is not worth it! Go somewhere else, stale food kept out too long, luke warm coffee and tiny smoothies. Would have been good if the blond concierge told us more about the hotel and not how wonderful he is and what he's gonna do. And don't worry mate, I'll carry both the bags you just strut along.
Room was nice but when you keep having a plumber come in and out for 2 days kinda kills the mood. Especially when you can see loads of free rooms available. Where's my bathrobe too?
Bar staff were great and so were the drinks. Could be a great place, just get the little things right!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Hi Jimmy W,

Oh what a shame! A plumber walking in and out during your stay - that is absolutely not on! I am wondering whether the whole resort was experiencing issues with plumbing at this time, or if yours was an isolated incidence. If so you definitely should have been room moved.

No bathrobe either, and the concierge sounds like he had his silly hat on rather than his helpful hat. They are super friendly folks who are usually extra helpful and feels like he was having a bad moment!

Thanks so much for being so even handed with your review. We really appreciate that you let us know that it wasn't a terrible stay and that the potential is there - we just need to be sharper with our service and making sure that everything is delivered on with the brand promise of QT. I absolutely promise you that this resort does sit alongside it's sister properties as being a gorgeous and smooth experience, but you have hit a slippery patch in our service.

Please contact us when you come back. Tell them Sas sent you and I will pimp your ride and make sure everything is the perfection we usually deliver!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Went for seafood buffet. Absolutely amazing! Staff were wonderful especially the chefs, who were happy to assist with anything. Great value for money! Fresh and delicious! Have recommended to 3 other Port Douglas travellers who also enjoyed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
HI CTKtravel,

Yay! You've become a Bazaar Marketplace fan. How fun is that place? I can't get over the fresh seafood in there. I'm a massive lover of fresh prawns so it is heaven to me.

Thanks so much for giving us such a lovely shout out, and we would love to see you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We didn't stay at QT but came for dinner and the food was amazing. It was so good that we came back again! We thought the food was delicious and staff were very friendly one of the chef's Brad went out of his way to make our experience a great one. We will be back and when we do we will not only dine here but will stay aswell.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hey cindy w,

Yay! ANother awesome shout out for the team at Bazaar Marketplace. They really do an awesome job and absolutely deserve the props they are getting on here. We love them (and, more importantly, their food!).

We hope to see you again soonest, and please do stay with us as well.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Property: QT Port Douglas
Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing