We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful winter escape”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We thought the new look QT Resort was superb - we booked for 3 nights and next time would definitely like to stay longer. We travelled with another couple and our modern 2 x bedroom villa accommodation more than exceeded our expectations. Loved the fabulous pool & bar area and enjoyed the buffet breakfasts (athough did think some of the the cooked food could have been kept warmer). We had our own rental car which we found convenient with the location a little out of town. All in all excellent value and we look forward to staying again sometime soon.

Andrew L N.Z.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Andrew L,

Yay! Thanks so much for letting us know that you loved your stay, Isn't it wonderful when you get to Port Douglas and realise that winter has not touched it at all?

We would love to take care of you again, and we completely agree with your tip on the rental car. It's so awesome to be able to check out the areas around Port Douglas.

See you soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed at QT by myself for 4 nights and had the most amazing and relaxing time. All I wanted to do was get away and relax and QT was the perfect destination. The resort is nicely done, a bit cool and quirky but without being too much. The pool is amazing - as are the big day beds. I stayed in a 1 bed apartment garden room which was great and I enjoyed the quietness of not facing the pool. The staff are great -Kimberly the duty manager was delightful and I'd highly recommend a massage from Laura at the QT Spa. I'm keen to return with my husband and actually see the sites of the area! My only comment would be that they have a lot on offer - you can borrow bikes, they have boot camp, yoga classes etc - all of which I only found out about because I asked a lot of questions. Hidden gems waiting to be discovered

Room Tip: I stayed in a 1 bed garden room and liked the fact that it did't face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucyanneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dearest lucyanne Sydney,

Oh I love going on holidays and having a relax by myself. There's nothing quite like being able to get up when you like, eat when you like, and so whatever you feel like all day!

We hope that you come back with you hubby and share one of those big, beautiful day beds with him by the pool.

Many thanks,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We loved this place. Had a one bedroom and it was fabulous - cool/hip/modern design and furnishings, spacious and clean. We bought a pineapple just to use the pineapple corer in the room. Pool area was gorgeous and extensive with separate sections including one for the kids. Pool lounges were plentiful. There was even a separate saltwater lap pool next to the gym which I really enjoyed using. Beautifully landscaped outdoor areas. Breakfast at Bazaar was very good, dinner there was awesome (see my separate review for Bazaar restaurant). Staff were very nice, especially the cutie at the bar who whipped up milkshakes for my kids :)

Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poohpawsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Hey poohpawsAustralia,

That's one of the funniest profile names I have ever seen. I'm guessing that 'Pooh' is your dog?

Sounds like you had the perfect QT experience and loved it. How fun are the pineapple corers?

We would love to take care of yourselves and you brood next time you are in town.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed for 7 nights with our 10 month old baby, in a room with a separate living area (which included a small kitchen area with hot plate, sink, and microwave) which was perfect for our needs. A few small oversights and errors happened during our stay, but the staff were always very quick to either fix the problem or offer an alternative. Would recommend for families as the lawn area, lagoon, tennis courts, large fish ponds, and table tennis/pool table were all very entertaining and well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Fecp,

Congratulations on your little one! We are so happy that we had everything in place for you to have a wonderful holiday together with your new family.

Thank you for the notes on the staff being responsive to any hiccups you had. That is a wonderful testament to how awesome they are!

We would love to see you back with us again.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Loved this resort from the moment we arrived. Friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere, gorgeous hotel and surrounds, fabulous restaurant, funky bars...everything we were looking for.

Was lucky enough to visit the resort's new day spa. The massage was one of the best I've ever had. Could've stayed in their post-treatment relaxation room for hours!

We were only at QT for 3 days but could've easily stayed longer. Definitely on our wish list of places we would love to come back to...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Yvette L,

Yay! What a fantastic review. OMG - isn't spaQ phenomenal? It really feels like you step into a whole new world when you get a treatment. So relaxing.

Thank you for your lovely notes on your stay and we really appreciate you taking the time to let us and the TripAdvisor community know.

We would love to see you again.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for 3 nights and boy did we regret it. The hotel got our break off to a great start by forgetting to book the airport transfers we had requested and confirmed with them the day before. When we called them from Cairns airport to enquire what had happen they asked if we could jump on the next bus which was not due for 3 hours. We declined and the eventually they arranged a private car. The next day we ordered lunch by the pool. It took 45 minutes to come and by the time we got it it was stone cold despite it being a 10 metre walk from the restaurant to the pool. The following morning we paid $56.00 for the privilege of a very average buffet breakfast. Rooms are small and dirty with uncomfortable beds (two singles pushed together to make a double). If you are thinking of visiting Port Douglas check other places out before staying here.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank themeigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Hi themeigans,

Oh no! You didn't love your stay at all. Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion on your stay. We appreciate the time taken to voice your concerns. Luckily it seems to be a one off in terms of overall experience which is a big 'phew' for us.

This doesn't diminish how much we wish you had enjoyed your stay, and would love to take care of you again if you visit Port Douglas in the future. We really hope that in your next stay you would enjoy the true QT experience that you missed out on during your stay.

Thanks again.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

An amazingly cool funky hotel done up in the Miami style. The pool area is great with a pool table and table tennis. The bar area is very cool with great cocktails however it is closed when you come back after a night out which is a bit odd considering its a bit outside the centre of Port Douglas. Breakfast was amazing with omelettes made to order on the spot - couldn't get enough of it! The rooms are very cool with kitchenettes and a living area. The patio was pretty nice and I was even greeted by a peacock while out there in the morning! I would recommend this to everyone but mostly younger couples looking for a nice getaway spot. I travelled with a bunch of other people and everyone really liked it. The staff are great and very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear JWalker610,

Fun! Love an overseas reviewer. Awesome to get a good note on our breakfast as well. Bazaar is usually a real point of perfection and a couple of negative reviews on here about it had us scratching our heads!

Thanks so much for letting us know that you loved your stay. I bet you were great fun and really took in everything that the region had to offer. We would love to take care of you next time you are in town.

Go raibh maith agat.
Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.9 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
721 reviews
1.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £94 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing