We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not 5 star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, but not 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here in May 2012 just after they changed to the QT brand. The room was very small and the bed was so high I felt that I would fall off and break something! The pool is fantastic, although they had floating ducks which was a little childish but still good fun, loved the lounges in the middle of the pool. The meals were very good, and great bistro. Just a little far out of town though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    363
    181
    89
    42
See reviews for
276
524
43
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We recently stayed at QT in a joined room with our two children. We had a great time and the kids enjoyed the pool. Service was good and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms we had were good, however, some minor wear and tear evident. The breakfast was amazing, especially when they made special pancakes for our daughter who has dairy and egg allergies. While we did have a great time there, it wasn't very child friendly regarding activities and pool area and would be much better with a free shuttle into town as it is a distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleangel4172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husabnd and I live in Cairns & sneak away from home on a reguar basis to stay here, We love the pool & swum up bar, the restaraunt is one of a kind in this region. Our favourite place to get awaybut without having to fly anywhere....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friday1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here one night expecting the same quality and beauty as QT Gold Coast where we stayed 3 nights last year. The hotel was really beautiful with the novel and creative decorations, everything was customized and so beautiful. I give 5 stars for their resort style pool+spa that we enjoyed so very much. It was one of the best pools. The estillo bartenders made a tropical juice which was so refreshing. Along with all these plus points I also noted some negatives which was disappointing.
I noticed the tea/coffee pantry cupboard+kettle was full of ants and so we phoned room service and asked for a new kettle and tea/coffee packs. It was OK about the ants as this was tropical Queensland, but what I cant understand is we never noticed any ants even when we were staying at more tropical rain forest areas. So the requested things arrived after about 15 minutes. Then once we started making tea, I found out that the tea cups they had were not washed properly with tea stains. I tried to wash them but then gave up because it was very unpleasant as the cups inside were really slime. The knifes they had were not washed as well with jam everywhere. No wonder why there were ants. and I cant believe why the room cleaners put all these utensils as new in the cupboard without washing??? It was now 9pm with all these issues, I requested 2 new empty cups, and the reception said she will try her best to send them. We waited till 10pm without sleeping and it didn't arrive, not even for the next day morning. It was completely ignored, not apologized which is very disappointing. Looks like they don't care about the basic requests of their guests.
Another we noted was some of their staff doesn't know to great when you see them in front, besides they completely turned their faces the other side pretending they didn't see you. I don't want to call this a complaint and I would like if the management can train their staff about this matter.
The last one; We are in the priority guest rewards program, and the reception mentioned nothing about any free welcome drink until we found out by our selves later. We used this against another drink where they deduct the entitled value for a free drink which was only $3 for both of us, which doesn't seems right, even though we didn't ask about it as it was a bit embarrassing.
Overall even though the hotel looks nice, I see no reason why someone should stay here for an higher price, when there are hundreds of 5 star hotels in Port Douglas offering high quality service for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDiaz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at QT for our first wedding anniversary at the weekend, we were greeted warmly at reception with easy instructions of how best get to our room. We had a lovely spacious villa with really quirky decorations and furnishings that we could buy if we wanted! In the room was a bottle of bubbly with a personal note congratulating us on our anniversary. A very nice touch. Our dinner experience was probably the best we have had for a long time! We both said that we would drive from Cairns just to have the dinner again! A banquet of seafood, pizza, curries, vegetables, rices, noodles, fish, steak, chicken dishes was in front of us for all we could eat. The waitress walked us around the display explaining what each dish was and how we ask the chef to make us what we wanted also. The chefs were very accommodating and really friendly and were really keen to please us. All the waitresses served us to make sure we were never waiting for anything. The cocktails were great and the evening was really lovely. In the morning we were looking forward to having the same style of breakfast, but it was quite busy - we should have got up earlier. Having said that it was still really good. We rated the hotel four out of five purely because of our busy brekkie experience. The rest of the stay was top notch!!

Room Tip: Villa was very handy, great size for a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendanLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was fortunate enough to secure a locals deal (even thought I live some 200 kms away from Port Douglas) which included a 1 bedroom apartment and breakfast for 2.

Finding this place was no problems at all as you enter into Port Douglas. The big metre plus silver QT sign will be sure to get your attention on your left side of the road as you are driving into Port Douglas.

Upon arrival, plenty of parking and it was free. Open air parking but lots of it and not one of these undercover jobs with pylons everywhere causing it to be a maze at times.

Quickly checked in and place does not take payment of the room upfront however takes a $1 from your card and you pay when you leave. There is surcharge on using a credit card and even higher charge when using a AMEX. So great you have the option of paying via cash or with eftpos.

First thing when you arrive at the resort is the funkiness of this place. Very trendy with vibrant bars and awesome music. Definitely makes you get into the swing of starting to enjoy yourself and get into the damn pool with a swim up bar. Its modern and with a ping pong table and just well designed and vibrant colours. Its too hard to explain without detailing everything.

Was given a run down of the location of my room and I was in room 4105. Located northern side of the resort and up one flight of stairs.

Entered the room and very clean. Trendy and just different. How so, well just the packaging of the food, how items are stored etc. Youll understand when you stay there.

The restaurant is awesome. Whilst I cant comment on how the food tastes as I ate in the centre of town, it looked devine. The food was layed out like art. Seriously, it was awesome.

Swim up pool bar was great. The Q Tingle for $12 was bloody magnificent.

As far as the location of the resort, I would have to say it is no way near walking distance to the main centre of town. Let me clarify. If you have time to spare and in your day gear with good shoes and have an hour to spend, sure walk away. Its not close to the centre of town. If you are in your good gear to go to a wedding or out for dinner, definitely TOO FAR to walk. A taxi is about $13.00.

Breakfast the next day was awesome. A variety of glass bottles containing smoothies, flavoured milk, fruit shots and all the different variety of eggs etc. Again, see it too believe it. You can also have omelettes made for you by request. Its great.

Overall, I recommend staying here.

POSITIVES - lots of young people.
- trendy place to stay
- Well priced
- clean, presentable
- dynamic and happy staff
- great swim up bar in the pool with great music
- visually impressive (dinner and breakfast as well as the actual hotel).

NEGATIVES - a bit out of town
- cant think of anything else at this stage too be honest.


Enjoy and thanks QT crew.

Benno

Room Tip: Try and pool room, more in the vibe of it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StubbyHolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at QT Resort in August 2013 and had the best time. Everybody was wonderfully friendly, helpful and most of all happy. It was a pleasure to stay there. The 2 bedroom apartment we had was lovely and clean, spacious and well appointed. Loved all the lovely decorator items around that made our rooms very homely. The gardens are lovely and the pool area very inviting. Will definately be coming back.

Room Tip: The garden apartments are just lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Property: QT Port Douglas
Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing