We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star disappointment”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a disappointment this hotel was ...My Husband and l stayed there 30th August using a Wotif secret hotel booking.When booking for this particular place it states you have to book it before you can see what place it is and seeing that it had 5 star rating on it thought it would be worth a try not realising that the 5 star rating was self rated and not through a wotif or other companies that rate hotels ..anyway asked for a room with a view and up high if possible not realising that our room would be four flights of stairs up and no elevator .After finally finding our way thru the maze of pathways to our top floor :( room what a disappointment it was to be dominated by a kingsize bed which we find out is two singles put together and a layer of foam over the top not quite getting rid of the ridge down the middle keeping us seperated anyway so should have just pulled them apart the room was very sparse no where to put your bag until your hunt thru storage unit which is the only way to describe the wardrobe and you find a luggage stand only big enough to hold a womans hand bag .... the room was clean altho there were black marks on the walls that stood out as the room was so sparse it was dominated by the bed and nothing else nowhere to sit or put anything on there was a connecting door that was open and we could see into the other room which looked ok but still definitely not 5 star we had stayed there before when it was the sabaya hotel and had a much nicer room ..I must say the staff were very friendly altho when at the bar area after dinner the DJ better get another job not that good either l grew up in the 80's and found that the decor looked more worn out than 80's and had a price on everything to buy it not cool food ok had better oh the view we had from the room was the back of the hotel and was crap we must have had the furtherest room away from anywhere....would not and will not recommend this hotel to any of my friends and we are local and l work in the tourist industry and will not recommend it to tourists either :(

Room Tip: ask for a bottom floor room especially if you have a lot of baggage (excuse the pun) and not in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deb h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at QT 2 weeks ago and had a fantastic time there! Cool, quirky and lovely staff all round! Headed straight to the lagoon pool and bar and we were just so overwhelmed of the smiley staff at the bar, the ozzy lad wayne came around and checked on us around the pool, bringing us out orders and making sure we were happy, we felt so special!! The main bar and restaurant was fantastic the whole time! And we loved that there was a resident bandicoot called 'crash' by the bar staff...what fun! Our holiday was made by all the staff, what a great asset to this resort they are.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy_tebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

First impressions on a very late check in were good - the reception area looks amazing and the gentleman that checked us in was very friendly. Unfortunately it was mostly downhill from there.

Our room looked pretty good as we first walked in although smaller than anticipated. The renovation has been done well but it appears to have been completed to a very tight budget. The 'luxurious QT King bed' was two single beds pushed together and were ridiculously soft and concave in shape. The other reviewer that compares it to a hammock is spot on although it isn't as comfortable as a hammock. The mini bar was not replaced at all and the food items QT styled packaging (lollies, etc) looked as though it had been reused several times.

The airconditioner was mouldy so we didn't use it after the first night. We were also woken up by someone talking business in the next room although he could have been at the bottom of the bed for how loud it was - I'm not sure if this was as a result of the connecting door between our rooms. I'm also think he would have been unhappy with our late arrival and champagne drinking. The mesh balcony chairs were already in poor condition and needed to be replaced.

The staff here are generally very friendly welcoming although a few of them really thought they were gods gift to hospitality - thankfully this arrogance was the exception rather than the rule. We had breakfast one morning and it was definitely one of the better hotel breakfast buffets we have experienced. The pool is as good as everyone says.

I'll be back to Port Douglas but I'll be staying somewhere else as there has to be better.

Room Tip: 3rd floor access is only by stairs. Ask for a room without a connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gryphon_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Loved this hotel, all very new and beautiful!

Having the moonlight cinema was a bonus too :)

One thing I was not happy about though was that we stayed a total of 8 nights and our sheets were not changed once.

Also the shampoos were never replaced

Still a great stay :)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed 4 nights, when we arrived we found our room smelt very damp/stuffy. We found if you opened the sliding door to let fresh air in mosquitos came in. There were no fly screens which seems odd for a tropical location. So the door had to be closed at night and we found then the air conditioner blew directly onto our heads in bed, when we put on the fan it was too cold? Please install FLYSCREENS

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After being left out in the cold by FNQ Apartments and not being able to find anything for 5 nights QT was recommended to us.
It was a first rate experience from the staff, settings room & decor.
A lot of thought has gone into the theme of the resort & it was quality, cheerful & fun. The food was good too - Now that is what a relaxing holiday is all about!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheersMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I just spent a few nights at QT port Douglas, I was very impressed. The reception area and staff uniforms are a little cheesy, however once you look past this, the rest of the resort is Excellent.
Initially I was a little put off with the location away from town, and the "railway" running next to it on the map. - I needn't have worried as the out of town location means its quiet, and the railway line next to it is a steam railway used on Saturdays and Sundays as a tourist attraction. - So no real noise or disturbance.
We ate at Bazaar, which was delicious, a nice way to finish the day. Pork belly was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murrelljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.9 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
721 reviews
1.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £95 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing